MAC Blot Powder

4.2

1171 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Dimethicone, Silica, Kaolin, Water, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Methicone, Coconut Acid, Phenoxyethanol. May Contain: Mica, Iron Oxid lllol


on 8/17/2015 1:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Black

This stupid thing made my acne prone skin so much worse!! my face got filled with small bumps!!!!!



on 7/26/2015 3:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Oil control: 4 out of 5

It definitely works. Just make sure to blot the oils away first with a tissue (as I saw some girls applying the powder directly on a face full of oil - gross!) I'm super oily so for me this powder mattifies my skin for approximately 2 hours in the summer, 3 - 4 hours in the winter. This may not seem like much, but its definitely more than any other product I used ever did (and I tried them all).

Finish: definitely matte

Makes my skin lovely and matte, hiding any textural problems as light does not bounce off matte surfaces. It's not very finelly mielled, but I've found that all the more finely mielled powders keep me matte for only approx 30 minutes.

Longevity:

It stays matte for the first 1 hour, then turns into 'demi matte' for the next. As you may suspect the natural progression is then through 'natural finish' to oily again after a few hours.

Shade range: room for improvement

There is definitely room for imprtovement, but there are still more colour options than those offered by any other brand (I think there are 4). I'm closest to 'medium' which for the first 30 mins after application can give me a slightly ghostish cast. I would appreciate a more yellow toned option for those of us with yellow undertones as not everyone is 'neutral'.

Coverage: sheer

The purpose of this powder is to blot, so I appreciate that it does not add any more layers to my makeup. This is definitely a plus especially that I use it a few times a day and I'd not want to end up cakey.

Packaging: 3 out of 5

A tipical plastic MAC compact with a mirror, feels light in your purse. The only thing I regret about this compact is that it does not have a separate compartment for the puff, which would make it more 'user friendly'. The puff is very hard and I found that it's much better to get a softer one from a drugstore, which will not wipe your base makeup off when you apply this powder.

Would I buy it again: I've been repurchasing it all the time for 10 years now!

This blotting powder works better than any other blotting powder I have ever used (and I trieda lot of them: Bourjois, Loreal, Maybelline, Laura Mercier, Clarins, Benefit, setting spreays by Urban Decay and a few other products I can't even remember.) It keeps oil at bay for a good couple of hours while all of the above managed to do it only for up to a hour max. I would say that if you want to be less oily the most important thing is good skincare first, good foundation second, a powder third.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/28/2015 7:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have really oily skin like 10 minutes after I apply makeup my face is an oil slick. I've tried rimmel stay matte powder and Neutrogena shine control but this blot powder definitely beats both. Rimmel looks nice when first applied but 10 minutes and I'm already oily again plus it has those glitter specks in it. Neutrogena shine control is OK the finish of it is really weird though it's not a completely matte finish. Mac's blot powder is the only powder that has ever kept me matte for up to 2 hours until I have to reapply again. It will most definitely keep someone with skin not as oily as mine matte for longer but I'm just really oily. The compact is pretty cheap looking but I don't really care. I've had mine for 3 weeks and it hasn't broke? I take it with me everywhere too I've even tossed it into my locker at work and it's still perfect so I have no idea what everyone else is talking about.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/20/2015 5:30:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've tried this on my face, it has a smooth texture, I have an oily skin but it never smudge upon sweating... I loved it


on 5/25/2015 3:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love love love this product!! I have oily skin in places, usually just around my Tzone and I find that I can really notice a difference when I don't apply this powder! I also find that the applicator it comes with is the best way to put it on because you are really able to press the pigment into your skin. It gives you an overall matte finish and I love it. 100% repurchasing, worth the money.


on 5/17/2015 5:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This blot powder is for a very select few it would seem, and even then, it doesn't seem to hold up for a lot of people as actual oil control. Not to mention it breaks within a few days of use due to poor packing. If you have even the SLIGHTEST trace of dry skin this powder, no matter how dark you get it, will make your skin flake up and highlight the dry patches and make you look AWFUL! It doesn't matter how much you moisturize. This powder seems to be designed to highlight dry skin and really bring that to the attention of everyone around you. Terribly disappointed in this product, and would like to sincerely warn anyone who doesn't have buttery smooth overly-hydrated perfect skin to NOT use this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/16/2015 5:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have two of these because I was afraid of ever running out of the only powder that keeps my oils at bay! I had tried a lot of drugstore powders, including the rimmel stay matte powder, but it was no use - after 3/4 hours I had to go to the bathroom and blot. I do think that part of the problem for em is in wearing liquid foundation but anyhow, all the other powder failed. With this I put it on my face at 7am (with a roll and press motion using a sponge or my sephora #45 brush) and by 5:30pm my face looks a little 'dewy' but it does not look like it's oil - no blotting during the day! Although I do have it in Light and Medium I don't see any difference when I use one or the other, the colors seem very forgiving. My second one broke two days after I got it so I do think that the packing is not the absolute best but its sleek enough to go around in your bag. Price wise, yes, it's very expensive but when I tell myself that when I use this I save on primer and blotting sheets so... Yes, it's worth it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is the ONLY powder to EVER control the shine on my super oily face. Highly recommend to super oily folks.


on 5/14/2015 8:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I am really impressed with this! Usually after 4 hours of washing my face and applying foundation I'm an oily mess! After 6 hours, I noticed a bit of oil coming through, but it didn't look horrible, more like a dewy finish. Worth the price if you have oily skin.


on 4/24/2015 1:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Nope DO NOT BUY. That's all I gotta say about that!


Back to Top