Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab The Red Queen

2.2

10 reviews

20% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/12/2014 10:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Again, cherries. While I feel like that artificial cherry scent could blend well and add an edge, I'm usually disappointed by blends with it. Red Queen's different. I like it, even if it's not for me.

Posted April 23, 2006 on BPAL.org
"Imp: STRONG Cherry Twizzlers, plain and simple.
Wet: It's a little deeper now, dirtier, dustier wooden furniture.
Dry: There are still Twizzlers, but the woods are deeper now and the dust just seems inevitable. Dry and fruity.

Category: Cherry/Dry woods
Rating: 3/5
Overall: This was very candy-like at first but did dry down to it's description. The velvety woods were definately covered in black-red cherries and currants. The mahogany was deep and the woods were very rich, but dry. Don't know if this is my kind of scent, but I do like it a bit. "



on 5/22/2012 10:47:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

The Red Queen (from the Alice in Wonderland line) - Deep mahogany and rich, velvety woods lacquered with sweet, black-red cherries and currant.


My first impression was red cinnamon heart candies. Then the woods come in, with sweet cherries. I get some tobacco-ish scent once & a while. It's still a little too candy-like for me, almost syrupy - not my style. Unusual though. I got a sample with order, and I gifted it in a swap to someone with a sweeter tooth than mine.


on 7/18/2011 4:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I actually kinda like this. In the bottle i smelled all cherry goodness but on my skin wet it smelled like plasticy cherry scent, like something from a baby doll. Luckily on the dry down the fake cherry smell turns into a nice mellowed cherry, not like the strong candy scent of Bloody Mary (which is one of my top 5 fav oils) though. Id buy a big bottle of this :)


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

mad tea party

notes: Deep mahogany and rich, velvety woods lacquered with sweet, black-red cherries and currant.

in the vial: oh, dammit, the notes sounded SO amazing, but this smells like cherry cough syrup.

wet on skin: still cherry cough syrup! the list of notes promised something so rich, deep and sticky-fruity that i was so excited to try this. i dont know if im just imagining the rest of the scent, but i actually smell menthol!

dry down: yeah, i think i really do smell menthol, but the mahogany finally starts to peek out, and it gets a bit cedar-y, or dry, or something along those lines. the wood notes never truly develop, and the mentholated cough syrup scent is too much for me to handle, unfortunately.

verdict: it takes a bit too long to turn from something pretty nasty into something thats interesting at best, and its not worth the ride to me. this scent was a sad lesson that i just cant tell whether a blend will work for me based on the notes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/13/2008 5:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

In Vial: Mmm. Almond oil and cherries

Wet:Strong almond oil at first and then the cherries get sweeter. This is really good.

Later: This gets kind of weird smelling. Now it is a type of berry scent that is more like plum but not in the usual Bpal way. I don't like the end result on this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Well, my first impression of this when opening the bottle was 'Wow, awesome!'! I loved the deep, rich cherry smell (I love cherries) and it is so hard to find a good 'cherry' perfume oil. However when I put it on, It almost immediately lost most of the cherry scent and morphed into what reminded me of rich, red cedarwood shavings... it smelled good, but too much like hamster bedding.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Yep...woodsy cherries. I'd swear there's some tonka floating around, too, but the notes tell a different story.

Not for me....


on 11/27/2004 1:20:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Ick. Sickeningly sweet cherry smell that never toned down.


on 11/21/2004 9:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I really wanted to like this one. The description sounds right up my alley.

Wet, out of the bottle it smells very RED cherry and a sharp smell like medicine that gets to the throat. Like lacquer!
My DH hated it and said it was very unappealing.

I liked it. As it dried down, it got worse, smelling on me like ant spray and a saccharin-powdery sweetness. I smell the wood under there, a nice wood like a wood fire and almost incensey.

Chemistry is a funny thing- too bad on this one.


on 11/6/2004 7:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Deep mahogany and rich, velvety woods lacquered with sweet, black-red cherries and currant



At first I thought, "Mmmmm...mahogany wood and cherries, beautiful!" I think it was the power of suggestion though, because within a few minutes I began to smell the distinct quease-inducing odor of paint thinner or maybe white-out. This scent gives me a headache worthy of a conversation with the Red Queen and a stomacheache to boot.


Popular Fragrances


Angel
Angel
1830 Reviews
No.5
No.5
949 Reviews
Hypnotic Poison
Hypnotic Poison
649 Reviews
Pure Seduction
Pure Seduction
262 Reviews
Candy EDP
Candy EDP
227 Reviews


Back to Top