Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab • The Red Queen • Fragrances

rated 2.1(9 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.11%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* awesomeness2 on 5/22/2012 10:47:00 AM more reviews by awesomeness2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The Red Queen (from the Alice in Wonderland line) - Deep mahogany and rich, velvety woods lacquered with sweet, black-red cherries and currant.


My first impression was red cinnamon heart candies. Then the woods come in, with sweet cherries. I get some tobacco-ish scent once & a while. It's still a little too candy-like for me, almost syrupy - not my style. Unusual though. I got a sample with order, and I gifted it in a swap to someone with a sweeter tooth than mine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* desertwaya on 7/18/2011 4:41:00 PM more reviews by desertwaya

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I actually kinda like this. In the bottle i smelled all cherry goodness but on my skin wet it smelled like plasticy cherry scent, like something from a baby doll. Luckily on the dry down the fake cherry smell turns into a nice mellowed cherry, not like the strong candy scent of Bloody Mary (which is one of my top 5 fav oils) though. Id buy a big bottle of this :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* haloinrverse on 6/4/2009 5:17:00 PM more reviews by haloinrverse

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

mad tea party

notes: Deep mahogany and rich, velvety woods lacquered with sweet, black-red cherries and currant.

in the vial: oh, dammit, the notes sounded SO amazing, but this smells like cherry cough syrup.

wet on skin: still cherry cough syrup! the list of notes promised something so rich, deep and sticky-fruity that i was so excited to try this. i dont know if im just imagining the rest of the scent, but i actually smell menthol!

dry down: yeah, i think i really do smell menthol, but the mahogany finally starts to peek out, and it gets a bit cedar-y, or dry, or something along those lines. the wood notes never truly develop, and the mentholated cough syrup scent is too much for me to handle, unfortunately.

verdict: it takes a bit too long to turn from something pretty nasty into something thats interesting at best, and its not worth the ride to me. this scent was a sad lesson that i just cant tell whether a blend will work for me based on the notes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gchris on 4/13/2008 5:29:00 PM more reviews by gchris

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

In Vial: Mmm. Almond oil and cherries

Wet:Strong almond oil at first and then the cherries get sweeter. This is really good.

Later: This gets kind of weird smelling. Now it is a type of berry scent that is more like plum but not in the usual Bpal way. I don't like the end result on this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 backtotheearth213 on 7/10/2007 1:57:00 AM more reviews by backtotheearth213

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Well, my first impression of this when opening the bottle was 'Wow, awesome!'! I loved the deep, rich cherry smell (I love cherries) and it is so hard to find a good 'cherry' perfume oil. However when I put it on, It almost immediately lost most of the cherry scent and morphed into what reminded me of rich, red cedarwood shavings... it smelled good, but too much like hamster bedding.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nancybridget02091979 on 4/5/2006 7:19:00 PM more reviews by nancybridget02091979

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Yep...woodsy cherries. I'd swear there's some tonka floating around, too, but the notes tell a different story.

Not for me....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Northwynd on 11/27/2004 1:20:00 AM more reviews by Northwynd

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Ick. Sickeningly sweet cherry smell that never toned down.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleGnome on 11/21/2004 9:30:00 PM more reviews by LittleGnome

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really wanted to like this one. The description sounds right up my alley.

Wet, out of the bottle it smells very RED cherry and a sharp smell like medicine that gets to the throat. Like lacquer!
My DH hated it and said it was very unappealing.

I liked it. As it dried down, it got worse, smelling on me like ant spray and a saccharin-powdery sweetness. I smell the wood under there, a nice wood like a wood fire and almost incensey.

Chemistry is a funny thing- too bad on this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dreamstorm on 11/6/2004 7:34:00 PM more reviews by dreamstorm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Deep mahogany and rich, velvety woods lacquered with sweet, black-red cherries and currant



At first I thought, "Mmmmm...mahogany wood and cherries, beautiful!" I think it was the power of suggestion though, because within a few minutes I began to smell the distinct quease-inducing odor of paint thinner or maybe white-out. This scent gives me a headache worthy of a conversation with the Red Queen and a stomacheache to boot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab products

More Fragrances products