Clinique Superdefense SPF 25 Age Defense Moisturizer

3.7

410 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

PPD: 5, Active Ingredients: Octisalate 5.00%, Oxybenzone 5.00%, Avobenzone 3.00% Ingredients: Water/Aqua/Eau, Dimethicone, Isopropyl PPG-2-Isodeceth-7,Carboxylate, Butyloctyl Salicylate, Polyester-8,Butylene Glycol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Silica, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Glycerin, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Coffea Robusta Seed Extract, Echinacea Pallida (Coneflower Extract), Rosemarinus Officianlis (Rosemary) Extract, Padina Pavonica (Thallis) Extract, Petrolatum, Sea Whip Extract, Jojoba Esters, Adenosine Phosphate, Disodium NADH, Rehalose, Creatine, Sodium RNA, Caffeine, Nordhydroguaiaretic Acid, Sodium DNA, Phytosphingosine, Linoleic Acid, Cholesterol, Ferulic Acid, Ascorbyl Tocopheryl Maleate, Lauroyl Lysine, Sodium Hyaluronate, Aminopropyl Ascorbyl Phosphate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sucrose, Micrococcus Lysate, Astrocaryum Murumuru Seed Butter, Cetearyl Glycoside, Laurdimonium Hydropropyl Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Dimethiconol, Lecithin, Algae Extract, Hexylene Glycol, Ethylhexyl Stearate, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Proplene Glycol Dicaprate, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria), Maltodextrin, C1-8 Alkyl Tetrahydroxycyclohexanoate,Caprylyl Glycol, Isohexadecane, Polyethylene, Ethylhexylglycerin, Zeolite, Behenyl Alcohol, Hydroxymethylcellulose, Polysorbate 80, Acrylamide/Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate Coploymer, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Tromethamine, Decarboxy Carnosine HCL, Xathan Gum, Sodium Chloride, Potassium Sulfate, Disodim EDTA, Phenoxyethanol [ILN34338]


on 1/30/2015 12:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Re: the version for Oily/Combination skin.

I purchased my first jar in March 2014 and loved it. Absorbed well, never broke me out, never had any issues with dryness, skin looked good. I suspect, however, that the formula has been changed - the cream from the second jar I purchased in December 2014 leaves a sticky feeling on my face and neck and does my oily face no favors. I will not be purchasing again.



on 1/6/2015 6:35:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was a bit worried about using this as it has "petrolatum"
in it but that hasn't seemed to bother my skin at all. This
is lightweight but moisturising and doesn't have a sunscreen
look or scent though it protects well. You could wear this under
makeup too. I would definitely re-purchase

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/15/2014 2:17:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have used this moisturizer for many years and loved it. However, when I purchased and used it this last time, my face was extremely oily and I broke out like a teen. I was spending a good part of the day using blotting sheets and loose powder. But my face still looked and felt horrible. I brought it back to the Clinique counter and the girl informed me that they recently reformulated the moisturizer. Even though I had used almost the entire jar, they returned my money. I do use everything Clinique for my facial care.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

As a person with eczema prone, sensitive skin, I was really hoping to be able to find a good SPF cream I can use on a daily basis. I was speaking to the Clinique sales woman and she was confident this would be great for my skin. I purchased the very dry to dry skin version of this cream, and upon trying it, it stung me so much I had to remove it from my skin. I thought to myself, it must be because I was having a flare up, so I kept it and was hoping to use it when my skin starts to calm down. A few months down the line, I have continously tried to use it again and again, but I have no other word than it is horrible. I have very dry skin but even this cream was too much for me, it felt like I had put suncream on my face instead of a moisturiser. I put it on again yesterday to give it one last chance and all it has done is stung my face. It was so bad, I was compelled to write a review on it, and this is coming from someone who never writes reviews.

Smell wise, it is a bit strong, and the smell lingers for a long time after applying it, but I can handle it, texture is way too oily for my liking. I noticed the product's texture was so thick and oily, it made my face look swollen. I haven't finished the cream yet but it's going in the bin. Clinique's products have never really agreed with me to be honest, I don't know why I thought it would be any different the last time I purchased something from them. It's definitely a product/range I won't be recommending to anyone, and I won't be purchasing it again. Not worth the price at all.


on 3/31/2014 8:08:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have been using this product for about a week and every morning I feel that my face is stinging.

Not sure if I am having an allergic reaction to this as this has never happened to me before. It's such a shame as it was not cheap! I liked the idea of the high SPF and it covering alot of areas like anti-aging and being a good moisturizer etc.

The texture was smooth and easily absorbed, and I couldn't really say the it smelled nice but that didn't bother me. Unfortunately I won't be buying this again as it didn't agree with me.


on 2/10/2014 8:22:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I'm reviewing the "combination oily to oily" version of this moisturizer.

Where to start? This product is a serious waste of money for people who have oily skin, in my opinion. Although Clinique indicates this moisturizer is for oily skin, this is just awful for that type of skin. This product had great reviews online and I honestly love Clinique, but I've never been more disappointed. I can't use it in the morning or I'll spend the whole day looking like I've just got out of a sauna. I can use it at night before going to sleep because I'm not going anywhere, but I will need to clean my face very well when I wake up for sure. However, I came to realize (even at night) it's not good for my skin as it helps creating more oil over time.

Another bad thing about it is its price. We all know Clinique is not exactly a cheap brand, but if the products are worth it, I don't mind the high price all that much. Not the case of this product: it is not worth the price.

The packaging is ok. It's a simple jar and easy to use. Nothing special.

As to those who have mature and extremely dry skin, I would maybe recommend you try a sample. I tried this moisturizer on my mom's skin and we both thought the result was good (not the best though). Her skin looked fresh and shiny (in a good way, not in that "sauna" way). However, we used other products before that (all by Clinique) such as a liquid facial soap (daily routine), a scrub (this should be done from one to three times a week, depending on your skin) and a toner (daily routine). Just using a moisturizer without a clean face won't do any good.

Overall, I don't like this product, I won't be buying it again and I don't recommend it (specially if you have oily skin).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/2/2014 4:48:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

YES! I have finally won my battle to find an spf moisturiser for my combination/oily skin. Based upon the decent reviews on MA I got this moisturiser 6 weeks ago.

***The good***
Hydrating, non-oily, leaves no film, doesn't smell, glides easily on the face, basically it more than delivers what it claims perfectly!


***The not so good***
The price!

I would buy this product again in a heartbeat despite it's price tag because I have finally found the one! This definitely is a keeper. Bear in mind that you will only be using one product to do both jobs so I guess that eases the pain of the high price.

One last thing, please don't let the jar packaging put you off. Dipping fingers in a jar should not be a problem because if you are into skin care then you should be aware of how hygienic you need to be before taking care of your skin! You should never start your skin care routine with dirty hands. As far as the jar itself and exposure to air I am sure a massive specialist company like Clinique have done exhaustive tests with regards to product freshness. Please don't buy into what the so called 'Beauty Cops' keep telling you in order to plug their own products. This high spf moisturiser is definitely a keeper.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It is a ice cream. I like to use it. But after 3 days I got some skin problems (red, itchi). After a week, some skin on my face starts to fall down.
Isn't the first cream that this happens, but I wasn't expecting it from Clinique!!! Speacially because I got a long very well with others.


on 8/5/2013 4:49:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have this product in the "very dry to dry" formula, which might explain some of my negative reaction to it. The two biggest problems I have with this product are as follows: it feels really greasy on my skin and doesn't absorb well and I don't like dipping my fingers into product. I'd much rather this came in a squeeze or pump bottle.

That said, I love that it has a decent SPF and might work better in the winter when my skin is more dry. I also kind of like the smell, unlike other reviewers. It's definitely a synthetic-type smell, although I don't find it obnoxious (and I'm pretty sensitive to smells)


on 7/24/2013 7:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a decent moisturizer, it feels light and doesn't make me oily. The downside is that the SPF won't last in this container, BUT you will get the icky SPF smell all the way through. I don't like the scent at all, it smells like generic body sunscreen. Anyway, I do like it as a moisturizer, but I don't like the fact that it says you're getting sun protection when you're not.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
Moisturizing Cream
1284 Reviews
Strobe Cream
Strobe Cream
441 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
Sweet Almond Oil
200 Reviews
Back to Top