Nina Ricci • L'Air du Temps • Fragrances

rated 3.6(137 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 littlesparrows on 11/11/2014 3:32:00 PM more reviews by littlesparrows

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

L'Air du Temps was introduced in 1948, after World War II ended, to be a sort of representation or a symbol of "something in the air" after the war years. It brings to mind the idea that ladies wanted to feel pretty again, to dress up, to wear nylon stockings and red lipstick and to celebrate after all of the years of hard times that the war brought. It is a nice fragrance, no doubt reformulated from its original depth, but still a good representaion. I don't see this as a light springtime fragrance, though, as I imagined it would smell. It has an air of coolness to it, the feeling that comes in the days just before spring, when winter is not quite yet ready to give up. It has a strong carnation note along with woods and some spice notes. The carnation in this is a bit heavy for my chemistry, so I cannot really wear this well; it has some light floral notes, and there is a powdery dry down. The bottle is beautiful-- two doves intertwined to represent peace make the cap on a lovely swirled glass bottle. I wore this fragrance only a few times, it is just not for me, but I do love the bottle and I have kept this one out just because it is so pretty. I had the lotion and the body wash also in a set I got on Amazon, cost was about $48, and the set was made in France. The lotion and wash were a pretty close match to the fragrance.

The fragrance Wind Song by Prince Matchabelli is supposed to be the dupe for this. I believe it was introduced in 1953. I find Wind Song to be much stronger and much spicer, with a soapiness to it. But the packaging on Wind Song is so gorgeous- a blue-green box covered with little song birds and flowers. I wish it smelled as good on me as the box looks.
For a very good in-depth desciption of both of these fragrances there is a youtube video that is very detailed. You can Google "Youtube Wind Song fragrance review", and I think the reviewer's name is Rebecca. The comparison between the two along with all of their notes is very well presented.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Nlopez87 on 11/9/2014 5:31:00 PM more reviews by Nlopez87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

hey guys, have a 30 ml bottle of it.. Used just twice. If u wanna exchange it, lemme know.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 naturalbeaut on 5/20/2014 3:34:00 PM more reviews by naturalbeaut

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My grandmother always wore L'air du Temps, and when we were kids, my sisters and I were on a waiting list to get the emptied bottles :) Doing a little research on eBay, I realized, based on the bottles I remembered, that she used both the parfum and the toilette. I've been feeling pretty nostalgic lately, and wanted to buy a bottle for myself, but many of the internet reviews I've read discouraged me and made me think the classic smell had been changed. A few reviews said that the toilette smelled the same as the vintage scent, but that the parfum was completely different. I went out today (Dillards and Macy's both carry it, btw) and tested them both, and right away the parfum brought back my grandmother's signature scent. The toilette, however, was very light, not entirely recognizable, and did not last on my skin more than ten minutes or so. Now, I was an 80's kid, so the scent I remember was vintage early 80's and not any older. But the parfum I bought today still smells exactly like I remember from childhood. The parfum was slightly more expensive at $70 than the toilette at $62. Completely worth the extra few bucks for a scent that lasts so well. Hopefully this review will encourage ladies with a wave of nostalgia to not dismiss L'Air du Temps without at least going and testing it for yourself. I am very happy with my purchase, and wow, this scent brings back so many happy memories!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LadyOttawa on 1/19/2014 5:13:00 PM more reviews by LadyOttawa

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

L'Air du Temps
I always return to this one. A lovely fresh, light oriental/floral fragrance. A true classic that is still relevant in today's world.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kysyona on 4/30/2013 4:57:00 PM more reviews by Kysyona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Sadly, very few so-called timeless classics ever work on me - I seem to be cursed (or blessed?) with the kind of skin, that works mostly with zeitgeist and the perfumes of "now and possibly tomorrow". Particularly badly my chemistry interacts with powdery scents. My skin kills completely the following perfumes, so much loved by many: Anais Anais, Fidji, Rive Gauche ( it takes some time, but there's always very little left of what it's supposed to be ) and L'air du temps is, sadly, no exception. At first there's powder, something yellow and a little green, and 5 minutes later - NOTHING. Just powder , if I shamelessly drench the whole arm with the tester at a drugstore in a fruitless attempt to experience the glorified beauty of this classic. Who knows - it is only the hype? Or is it my chemistry? Is it the new reformulation that is to blame? The end result is - I can simply spray air on my wrist, the effect will be exactly the same. If I come across a vintage bottle - will give it a go and get back with an update.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BigEars on 2/1/2013 10:40:00 PM more reviews by BigEars

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Get the edp if you can as the staying power is brilliant. What can I say, a classic, clovey carnation. Beautiful, feminine, unmistakable - wonderful, just wonderful

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissBehaviour on 1/11/2013 11:07:00 AM more reviews by MissBehaviour

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was one of my grandmother's favourite fragrances, so I will always have a bottle in my collection for this reason alone. I also like the history and inspiration behind it, and the fact that it has been worn loyally by so many women since its inception.

I understand that this fragrance lost something of its essence due to modern reformulation requirements, and I currently only have a modern EDT version to hand. Its current incarnation smells like powdery citrus to me, quite sheer, perfectly pleasant, great for warm weather and pretty much any occasion. I can't see this offending anyone's fragrance sensibilities and I also do not think that this smells like something reserved for the mature set.

The reason I haven't awarded full points is that this fragrance only has very average lasting power on my skin and seems to go pretty much unnoticed by everyone. Once my bottle is finished I will seek out the parfum version in the hopes of a bit more oomph.

This classic is definitely worth a try, and probably a real winner for citrus and powder lovers who do not want an overwhelming scent, but simply a low-key, affable one.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 coolfreshair on 10/22/2012 7:36:00 PM more reviews by coolfreshair

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ancient, sweet and creamy.

Definitely not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Fleurine on 1/28/2012 9:18:00 PM more reviews by Fleurine

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Top notes: carnation, peach, neroli, bergamot, rose and Brazilian rosewood
Middle notes:rosemary, carnation, gardenia, violet, orchid, cloves, orris root, jasmine, ylang-ylang and rose
Base notes: spices, iris, amber, sandalwood, amber, musk, benzoin, oak moss, vetiver and cedar
I disliked this fragrance for so long, despite wanting to like it, and repeatedly testing it, I thought it smelled shrill and headachy and then I tried the vintage.
Let me just say, that whatever yellow water they are churning out these days is not the same L'Air du Temps, the original fragrance by Nina Ricci.
What L'Air du Temps should be is a thick, rich peppery carnation scent with
a healthy dose of gardenia, and not really all that "airy" despite the name.
I also find the Lalique dove/ splash Parfum bottle a little "much", clumsy and awkward to open.
What I did come across online (and am very pleased with,) is a vintage Parfum spray tester.

that provides a big spray of the classic vintage scent without all the packaging. That
has been my experince with L'Air, If you can wrestle the original fragrance from all the subsequent branding and reformulations, it is sheer deliciousness.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 waddlecakes on 12/14/2011 7:27:00 AM more reviews by waddlecakes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I think perfume is one of the most subject things, but really, I just don't understand this one's popularity.

I suspect that this fragrance has succeeded based on its reputation for being a ''classic''. Women will buy it, because they figure it's such a classic you can't go wrong with it - it's safe, like buying Chanel no 5. If this was released on the market today, I'm pretty sure it would fail.

There's no complexity or interest to the scent. It smells like a nursing mother wearing a lot of deodorant. It's so floral, it's slightly nauseating. Imagine a mix of milk, baby powder, and acid. It's light and smooth enough to be a 'young' scent, but in reality I've smelled it on a lot of 40 year-old Mums, so perhaps that's where my prejudice comes from.

This perfume manages to be a total paradox. It's boring whilst being aggressive, should be young but smells old, essentially, it's synthetic baby milk. And pretty bloody over-powering baby milk, by the way. I sprayed l'air du temps on the back of my hand, and Chanel no 19 on my wrist...the Chanel was completely eradicated by l'air du temps - it vanished.

If you want the smoothness and prettiness of this scent without the nausea, try Dahlia Noir.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Nina Ricci products

More Fragrances products