Nina Ricci • L'Air du Temps • Fragrances

rated 3.6(134 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 LadyOttawa on 1/19/2014 5:13:00 PM more reviews by LadyOttawa

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

L'Air du Temps
I always return to this one. A lovely fresh, light oriental/floral fragrance. A true classic that is still relevant in today's world.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kysyona on 4/30/2013 4:57:00 PM more reviews by Kysyona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Sadly, very few so-called timeless classics ever work on me - I seem to be cursed (or blessed?) with the kind of skin, that works mostly with zeitgeist and the perfumes of "now and possibly tomorrow". Particularly badly my chemistry interacts with powdery scents. My skin kills completely the following perfumes, so much loved by many: Anais Anais, Fidji, Rive Gauche ( it takes some time, but there's always very little left of what it's supposed to be ) and L'air du temps is, sadly, no exception. At first there's powder, something yellow and a little green, and 5 minutes later - NOTHING. Just powder , if I shamelessly drench the whole arm with the tester at a drugstore in a fruitless attempt to experience the glorified beauty of this classic. Who knows - it is only the hype? Or is it my chemistry? Is it the new reformulation that is to blame? The end result is - I can simply spray air on my wrist, the effect will be exactly the same. If I come across a vintage bottle - will give it a go and get back with an update.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BigEars on 2/1/2013 10:40:00 PM more reviews by BigEars

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Get the edp if you can as the staying power is brilliant. What can I say, a classic, clovey carnation. Beautiful, feminine, unmistakable - wonderful, just wonderful

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissBehaviour on 1/11/2013 11:07:00 AM more reviews by MissBehaviour

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was one of my grandmother's favourite fragrances, so I will always have a bottle in my collection for this reason alone. I also like the history and inspiration behind it, and the fact that it has been worn loyally by so many women since its inception.

I understand that this fragrance lost something of its essence due to modern reformulation requirements, and I currently only have a modern EDT version to hand. Its current incarnation smells like powdery citrus to me, quite sheer, perfectly pleasant, great for warm weather and pretty much any occasion. I can't see this offending anyone's fragrance sensibilities and I also do not think that this smells like something reserved for the mature set.

The reason I haven't awarded full points is that this fragrance only has very average lasting power on my skin and seems to go pretty much unnoticed by everyone. Once my bottle is finished I will seek out the parfum version in the hopes of a bit more oomph.

This classic is definitely worth a try, and probably a real winner for citrus and powder lovers who do not want an overwhelming scent, but simply a low-key, affable one.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 coolfreshair on 10/22/2012 7:36:00 PM more reviews by coolfreshair

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ancient, sweet and creamy.

Definitely not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Fleurine on 1/28/2012 9:18:00 PM more reviews by Fleurine

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Top notes: carnation, peach, neroli, bergamot, rose and Brazilian rosewood
Middle notes:rosemary, carnation, gardenia, violet, orchid, cloves, orris root, jasmine, ylang-ylang and rose
Base notes: spices, iris, amber, sandalwood, amber, musk, benzoin, oak moss, vetiver and cedar
I disliked this fragrance for so long, despite wanting to like it, and repeatedly testing it, I thought it smelled shrill and headachy and then I tried the vintage.
Let me just say, that whatever yellow water they are churning out these days is not the same L'Air du Temps, the original fragrance by Nina Ricci.
What L'Air du Temps should be is a thick, rich peppery carnation scent with
a healthy dose of gardenia, and not really all that "airy" despite the name.
I also find the Lalique dove/ splash Parfum bottle a little "much", clumsy and awkward to open.
What I did come across online (and am very pleased with,) is a vintage Parfum spray tester.

that provides a big spray of the classic vintage scent without all the packaging. That
has been my experince with L'Air, If you can wrestle the original fragrance from all the subsequent branding and reformulations, it is sheer deliciousness.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 waddlecakes on 12/14/2011 7:27:00 AM more reviews by waddlecakes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I think perfume is one of the most subject things, but really, I just don't understand this one's popularity.

I suspect that this fragrance has succeeded based on its reputation for being a ''classic''. Women will buy it, because they figure it's such a classic you can't go wrong with it - it's safe, like buying Chanel no 5. If this was released on the market today, I'm pretty sure it would fail.

There's no complexity or interest to the scent. It smells like a nursing mother wearing a lot of deodorant. It's so floral, it's slightly nauseating. Imagine a mix of milk, baby powder, and acid. It's light and smooth enough to be a 'young' scent, but in reality I've smelled it on a lot of 40 year-old Mums, so perhaps that's where my prejudice comes from.

This perfume manages to be a total paradox. It's boring whilst being aggressive, should be young but smells old, essentially, it's synthetic baby milk. And pretty bloody over-powering baby milk, by the way. I sprayed l'air du temps on the back of my hand, and Chanel no 19 on my wrist...the Chanel was completely eradicated by l'air du temps - it vanished.

If you want the smoothness and prettiness of this scent without the nausea, try Dahlia Noir.

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* awesomeness2 on 10/27/2011 9:57:00 PM more reviews by awesomeness2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

L'Air du Temps is a soapy floral like hundreds of others out there, such as Je Reviens. The only thing that makes this any bit interesting is the carnation, which I enjoy but comes off as old-fashioned. If L'Air du Temps was powdery rather than soapy, dark rather than bright, it would be outstanding. But as it is, it's just L'Air du Temps. Meh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oxymora on 8/25/2011 6:58:00 PM more reviews by oxymora

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I first stumbled upon L'Air du Temps in shower gel form, and decided to try the fragrance. A really soft, beautiful scent, soapy and comforting. A timeless classic.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pinkmakeupgirl on 6/29/2011 10:32:00 PM more reviews by pinkmakeupgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I am still looking for a staple fragrance for spring/summer, this may be it. It can be too heavy, but I am pleased that is last- a very long time.
Like all fragrances using the lotion helps, and very little of the actual cologne is necessary.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Nina Ricci products

More Fragrances products