Neutrogena • sensitive skin sunblock spf 30 • Sunscreen

rated 2.9(100 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 HGL on 4/16/2014 2:56:00 PM more reviews by HGL

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this in small tube sample size from my derm, along with several other brands. Of the ones I got there, this one was the best. I normally use Trader Joe's "Refresh" spf 30 sunscreen but have been hoping to find something that did not contain chemical sunscreens and blocked a little more effectively. I have used this product a few times and was very pleased with its performance, surprisingly so.

Although it does lighten the complexion quite a bit, it does not look pasty or weird on me. It actually makes my skin look BETTER than with foundation. I am quite fair, but usually the physical blocks sunscreens look greasy and well, white. This didn't look white on me but did make my skin look lighter so cancelled out my self-tanner. However, it looks so good, I honestly didn't care. I think it blocks better than my normal SPF 30 as well.

Zero irritation. Did not feel greasy or nasty or thick.

Downside is that alumina is first ingredient or near first. I prefer to avoid that. I will continue trying other brands but this is a fallback possibility for me if I can't find anything better. Formula is quite nice. Rare in what I have tried so far. Most are quite thick and nasty texture wise.

I like that it caused ZERO redness or irritation. Even my usual standby causes slight pinkness on my face, so this is nice appearance wise. Also, zero odor and zero eye irritation. Some of the other Neutrogena sunscreens bothered my eyes.

I decided to buy this and found it has been discontinued. Much lower reviews on the product that replaces it (with a higher SPF). I saw many pleas on the Neutrogena website to bring it back. Hope they do!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 TonyLeClubKid on 8/6/2012 9:32:00 AM more reviews by TonyLeClubKid

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product is HORRIBLE. I'm currently suffering from a skin irritation issue that this product caused. I was using Neutrogena's oil free dry touch sunblock a while ago, but unfortunately ran out and decided to try out this product. Biggest mistake ever. The other day, after showering and cleansing my skin, I applied this on my face and immediately felt a burning sensation. It also left a white cast after the application. I then spent the whole day with this thing on and came home and the burning had died down. Once I got home, I played around with Neutrogena's Oil-Free make, which contains two ingredients that the sunblock contains, and my skin immediately flared up again. I washed everything off and now my skin is red, a bit dry on the cheeks and chin, and sensitive. I found that both products contain titanium dioxide (my previous sunblock didn't contain this) and phenoxyethanol. I'm definitely going back to my previous sunblock.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jles on 3/8/2012 8:14:00 PM more reviews by jles

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have very sensitive skin and rosacea. I have been doing research to find a sunblock to wear on my face every day. This particular one was recommended on several sites, as well as the book The Skin Type Solution written by Dr. L. Baumann, prominent dermatologist. Hey, a dermatologist suggested it for sensitive skin, so I thought it must be ok for me. Well, it's not. Shortly after applying it my skin started to tingle and turn red. Soon it was burning, hot, and quite red with the tell tale bumps of a rosacea "attack". I have tried it more than once just to be sure it was this product and not one of my other products, such as moisturizer, causing the irritation. Sadly, this sensitive skin product does not work for my sensitive skin. I do seem able to use it on my body, i.e. hands, arms, and neck. But that's not the purpose I had in mind for it. If you have rosacea, this may not be the product for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 starfishnet on 9/24/2011 6:51:00 AM more reviews by starfishnet

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm fragrance sensitive and prone to whiteheads. Because of its physical blockers (titanium dioxide and zinc oxide), expect a pasty residue on application. It will eventually subside after a few minutes. Not water or sweat proof. Which is okay, it's easily removed by normal cleansers. It will rub off on your phone etc. with your sweat. Because of that I use this sunblock on my body. I sometimes apply on my face when I feel the need for extra sunblock coverage at the pool or beach. l recommend this product as a daily sun care product because it did not irritate my skin or cause crazy breakouts. Use this as for your sun care when you go for errands or do indoor office work. Big don't when working-out outdoors. May not be the best sunscreen during the hot summers but still better sun care product, price wise, over the rest of the chemical based sunscreen sold in stores. Better sunscreen than the baby sunblocks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jet8848 on 8/26/2011 5:18:00 PM more reviews by jet8848

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I use this sunscreen everyday before putting foundation on. It doesn't irritate my sensitive skin. I can't use sunscreen with anything but titanium dioxide in it so this was perfect. I don't use a moisturizer during the day because this product is moisturizing enough for me. Only one problem, i can't seem to find it anymore????
Edit: Stopped using this because it was breaking out my face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 4711 on 8/26/2011 5:06:00 PM more reviews by 4711

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Great stuff. Yes, it's white, but if you're super fair this is not an issue. Leaves a nice, natural, clean matte finish - not a dewey, or shiny greasy one. Protects great, I don't even get a smidge of tan with this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eq2008 on 6/18/2011 11:56:00 PM more reviews by eq2008

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I like this sunscreen but it leaves a ridiculous white cast on my face. I finally end up returning it because It just looks ridiculous. But if you are going to the beach and don't have a good sunscreen for your face, try this for the time being. Nobody would notice how white your face looks at the beach because eventually you will get in the water.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* OhsnappitsEm on 1/15/2011 12:18:00 PM more reviews by OhsnappitsEm

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have the CVS dupe for this and its pretty good. I have tried out a few sunscreens and they tend to make me breakout of leave my face greasy. This is one of the better ones. After using my Azelex cream I wait about 10 mintues and then apply this, like most sunscreens it does leave a white cast on the face but it disapears as time goes on. Ive also noticed that some face powder does a good job of concealing this.I do not breakout from this and I havent noticed any added shine to my face while using this. So far its a two thumbs up for me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rayahb on 11/11/2010 8:38:00 AM more reviews by rayahb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

It does what it's supposed to do, but made my skin greasy and shiny, and gave it a greyish-tint (since I'm dark-skinned, this is extra noticeable). It's not at all sweatproof; if I even walk in a slight drizzle of rain, it starts diluting on my face, leaving white streaks. I would definitely not buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 miamigal on 8/29/2010 4:21:00 PM more reviews by miamigal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I moved to Miami recently, and the sun is much stronger here than in the Northeast. Whereas I only wore sunscreen when I was spending the day in the sun up north, I really need it every day here. So, I began my quest for the perfect daily sunscreen. Unfortunately, my skin is very sensitive to chemicals, so I need a physical blocker (and those tend to be heavy). I started my quest with this one. It has no odor, and applies easily. It does leave a bit of a whitish cast, but since I am medium toned, the slight lightening did not bother me. What did bother me was the oil slick that my face turned into every time I used it. At first, I tried to accept it as a "healthy glow", but after making my way through most of the bottle, I decided that it really is too heavy for daily facial use. It definitely did block the sun, which is a plus. I would continue to use this on my body, but not on my face. My skin is combo dry and oily, so finding something perfect for my face is challenging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Sunscreen products