Burt's Bees Beeswax Lip Balm

3.7

3603 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Not tested on animals
Burt's Bees is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

beeswax, coconut oil, sunflower seed oil, peppermint oil, lanolin, tocopherol, rosemary leaf extract, soybean oil, canola oil.


on 6/29/2015 11:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

The scent is lovely. (I tried the Island scent.) It works relatively well, but still found that it couldn't handle my winter lips. I used it and EOS at the same time, and found myself reaching for EOS, when my lips got really dry because the Burt's Bees just couldn't handle it. The waxy feeling a little uncomfortable to me, and I feel like it sits weirdly on my lips for a while before ceasing to be useful. I really don't think it's worth the high price.



on 6/28/2015 12:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Other

I love the texture, it's silky smooth and non-sticky but stays put. As a lip balm, though, it just doesn't work for me. It feels great the first time, but soon becomes drying and irritating. There's way too much peppermint. My lips end up worse than they were to begin with.


on 6/28/2015 12:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I live FL now and I have no need for this.
But, I grew up in New England with cold, dry bitter winters and this product in the tin was a lifesaver. Not just for me, but for many I knew who used it. It's a barrier and it works to protect better than Chapstick, Blistex, Carmex, etc.


on 6/27/2015 9:56:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Thick waxy layer that sits on my lips and does nothing to make it softer or better. I won't buy it again. For all the hype, this was very disappointing.


on 6/21/2015 10:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Not an awful product- it does what it claims to, but I feel there are a lot better products out there for this price range.


on 5/17/2015 2:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've already REPURCHASED this several times. I have dry lips year round and it definitely lives up to Blistex lip balms. (NOTE that this beeswax balm, I found far more effective, hydrating and nourishing than other Burt's Bees balms.) It has a very refreshing mint scent and most importantly I can feel its moisturizing effect for a long time. I can't say that for most balms I've tried, even Carmex I've found to only be effective for about ten minutes...


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Grey

I am a huge Chapstick junkie, I have maybe 10 at any given time and this is consistently the one I can't live without and is always with me. The consistency is great, not thin and "watery" or sticky like some other chapsticks, goes on smooth and has a nice waxy feel and the peppermint tingle feels nice and helps to freshen up breath. Keeps my lips smooth and soft, especially when applied before bed and worn all night. The packaging is garbage though. The little screw thing (no idea what to even call that) that moves the Chapstick up ALWAYS stops functioning properly towards the end and it drives me mad.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Tried out this lip balm years ago after hearing so many great comments about it and was very disappointed. My lips are naturally quite dry, I've tried pretty much all the drugstore and department store lip balms (the ones costing $20-30 each and barely last a month). Nothing beats Carmex!


on 4/9/2015 10:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

i have been using this burt's bees lip balm for seven years. seven. years. no joke. i go through serious withdrawal symptoms when i can't find it in my handbag.

this product is really great because it does everything a lip balm should do, end of story: hydrates, soothes, softens, etc. etc. etc.

it applies really easily and it contains peppermint oil so it gives you this lovely menthol tingle after putting it on. when i get sick, i get really dry skin about my lips and around my nose from constantly blowing it, but i dab a tiny bit of burt's bees lip balm above my lips and below my nostrils and problem solved (though you will look like an idiot if you do it in public as i have recently discovered).

this product is fantastic, but i think that if you suffer from dry lips, you will find yourself reapplying a little too often and it might even be painful! a friend of mine with dry lips bought this lip balm and said it actually freaked her out because the menthol tingle was more like a burn. if you're worried about that, try one of the other less minty flavours, like the pomegranate one.

nonetheless, this is my absolute holy grail of all lip balms of all time and i will probably keep using it until i am a hundred years old.

pros:
- soothes, nourishes, hyrdrates, moisturises, just is VERY gOOD
- eco-friendly
- menthol tingle is cooling and super lovely (as long as you aren't prone to sensitive or dry lips)

cons:
- the cooling sensation could turn into a burning feeling, depending on your skin and lips
- could probably be a little more moisturising
- pretty expensive considering how much product you get! but i kind of think it's worth it

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/2/2015 6:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Lovely on the lips and keep them in tip top shape. Hydrating and repairs chapped lips quick! Definite repurchase.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1524 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
3603 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
178 Reviews

Top Rated Lip Treatments



Back to Top