MAC • Veluxe Pearl - Beautiful Iris • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(136 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 carlablack on 4/4/2014 4:25:00 AM more reviews by carlablack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I can see why this has some negative reviews as it has very little pigmentation. But if you have neutral undertones with warm tendencies and are looking for some soft cool lilac for daytime use, this is the one.

This is exactly what i was hoping to find. I'm not a fan of bright neon colors on the eye, they look very unnatural to me. Most of my eyeshadow stash consists of taupes, browns, beige and greys/blacks. I don't even like shimmer in eyeshadow, only matte. So you can guess how picky i was when searching for a lavender shade with shimmer in it.

I swatched ALL the lavenders and purples i could find (Make up for ever, Clinique, the "legendary" Chanel Amethyst, Estee lauder, Lancome...). Two finalists were Beautiful Iris and Stars and Rockets from MAC.

Both shades look very similar at first but there's a slight difference: Beautiful Iris is a cool lilac with warm pink shimmer, Stars and Rockets is a WARM lilac with COOL blue shimmer. I always go for cooler shades on my eyelid (because warm shades around eyelash area make me look tired) so i chose Beautiful Iris.

I thought the pink shimmer would be visible but it's not even noticable on the lid, which disappointed me a little...

I also bought Fig 1 shade to go with this; a dark, creamy matte purple that has a little bit more warmth compared to Beautiful Iris.

When i applied two shades together, i got a full-on purple eye look (thanks to Fig 1). I'd like the lavender hue to be less noticable so next time i'll try Beautiful Iris with Omega as mentioned in one of the reviews. Oh and i won't extend this color up to the crease & browbone because it looks too vivid that way.

Overall, this is like a breath of fresh cool air among all the browns i have and am glad i got it :)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mkil on 3/23/2014 8:36:00 PM more reviews by mkil

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

Beautiful Iris is gorgeous. It looks a little intimidating, as it is a very bright purple. I love using it with MAC Sketch and Satellite Dreams for a really pretty purple evening look. I find Beautiful Iris to be blendable, but not as pigmented as I thought it would be (which may be a good thing!).

I like this colour a lot, but I don't think I would buy it again as I find that it is a little too pastel for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahmarie86 on 10/22/2012 7:10:00 PM more reviews by sarahmarie86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Definitely not an eyeshadow I would recommend for ladies with warm undertones... This is just too cool for my NC25 skin. I am also more of a neutral girl and this just comes off too vibrant. It is also a bit too sheer to work well as a lid color. I did a look using Beautiful Iris, Satellite Dreams, and Nocturnelle on my blog if you'd like to check it out:

http://eyeshadowaa.blogspot.com/2013/01/eotd-bright-purple-eye-look.html

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 7/6/2012 8:58:00 AM more reviews by stls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Beautiful Iris is indeed a beautiful vivid lavender with blue/ pink duochrome. A bit too vivid for my liking to wear all over the lid but I adore layering it over taupe/ plummy eye shadows to add a lilac hue sometimes, mostly with satin taupe. Not overly pigmented or buttery smooth but instantly lightens up green eyes!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 6/1/2012 4:09:00 AM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I have been wearing this eyeshadow quite a bit over the last month and it's become my go to spring pastel eyeshadow. I really like this soft lavender shadow as the reflects of blue and pink add dimension and luminosity. It's truly a gorgeous and versatile shadow as it pairs well with purples, neutrals, taupes, and grays. Some of my favourite Spring looks so far:
- Beautiful Iris on the lid, Omega in the crease, and Gesso on the the brow bone
- Beautiful Iris on the lid, Soft Brown in the crease, and Blanc Type on the brow bone
- Beautiful Iris on the lid, Memorabilia in the crease, and Shroom on the brow bone
- Crystal Avalanche or Mylar on the lid, Beautiful Iris in the crease, and Brule on the brow bone
- Beautiful Iris on the lid, Copperplate in the crease, and Blanc Type on the brow bone



2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LollipopLoving26 on 5/25/2012 1:03:00 PM more reviews by LollipopLoving26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This shade is really different, it has a lilac base but flashes pink and pale blue in different lighting. Theres no glitter just a gorgeous pearly smooth finish. It's nice alone or blended with grays and cool browns.It also looks really pretty as a cheekbone highlight, the pink/lilac glow is so pretty.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hope1275 on 5/2/2012 10:11:00 PM more reviews by hope1275

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I gave three lippies because it really is a beautiful color, but to get that color it takes a lot of work! As others have said, it requires really kind of piling it on. Once you get there? Gorgeous! But it takes primer and a really good brush, applying three to four layers to get the same effect as one swipe of UD's Asphyxia. Since they are almost exact dupes for each other--but Asphyxia is WAY more pigmented and so much easier to work with--I won't be repurchasing this. I'll use it until it's gone, but it's really worth the few extra dollars to get UD's Asphyxia.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kiki005us on 4/26/2012 7:13:00 AM more reviews by kiki005us

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This has to be the prettiest purple eyeshadow that i have ever worn. Beautiful Iris, when you apply to the lid (i use about 3 coats so you can really see this) is purple but has a pearly/duochrome blueish effect to it-really pretty! I am new to Mac's eyeshadows, so I was very pleasantly surprised at the beauty in this eyeshadow. I use UDPP before I wear any eyeshadows, and with it, beautiful iris stays put all day. Definately a great color to wear on your lids for spring. You can use this color as part of a bright eye look, or, if you want a more neutral look, but a pop of color, you can swipe this on the lid and add a medium brown shade in the crease. There are numerous ways that you can wear this purple.
I have lots of eyeshadows and pretty much use them all (rotating), so it will probably take me quite a while to hit pan with this, but if I do, I will definatley repurchase. This a staple in my makeup collection.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rin13 on 3/17/2012 3:50:00 PM more reviews by Rin13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I don't know if I have the same one because mine doesn't look like those pictured... But I love this color. I think it's a bright fun color that's pretty unique. The product is very smooth and easy to blend. If you don't like bright (tropical or Nikki Minaj) type looks, you may not like this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kfunk on 2/28/2012 11:33:00 AM more reviews by Kfunk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Beautiful Iris is so bright and pigmented. I use Fig1 in the crease and Seedy Pearl under the brow, as suggested by a MAC Makeup Artist. Such a beautiful combination.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products