Calvin Klein • Contradiction • Fragrances

rated 3.5(73 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kysyona on 10/18/2012 2:56:00 AM more reviews by Kysyona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok, I've GOT to revisit this one and see what the fuss is all about! I had it once, in a deodorant spray version, which is not supposed to linger on the skin, but I swear I sprayed half of the bottle in one go trying to figure out what this actually smells like - on me, in a deo cap, on hair..A big plus is that "ice" note in it, fused with something metallic - this effect is a little similar to the effect of RL POLO SPORT, and for a warm weather it is so great, or just when one wants to feel refreshed, renewed, upbeat. I do not catch any vanilla in there , nothing of the kind, rather a plum, a scent of a fresh plum just cut open: this is the 1 full-bodied note I detect in the background. Apart from that - unmistakeable citrus, but not acid, rather softened by the plum. This fragrance is very ascetic, stripped down to the bone, and imho it is ideal for someone, who wants to start again - after a breakup, after losing family, or just after being on a bad streak of luck for a while. This is a scent of leaving a lot behind and taking only the bare minimum into a new life, turning a new page, daring to explore foreign grounds. It is literally a blast of cold air into a window flung open, that says . there's nothing left for you here, so go, live it, dare. If I were to start a challenging job somewhere where having guts to take risks were a must - that would be the bottle ( a very nice design to my eye) I would reach for. The actual CONTRADICTION of it is that according to a number of reviews men find this irresistible, while there's absolutely nothing obviously feminine in it! I will use my hubby as a guinea-pig (again) and try it out: he comments only when he really likes something, and he's a bigger nose ( literally as well as metaphorically :)) than me, and then will revisit the forum and update with the final verdict. Would strongly recommend trying on skin, like any other perfume: no idea who invented that nonsense of spraying on paper...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ceen on 5/3/2012 8:00:00 PM more reviews by ceen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The contradiction is this. CK shook up the fragrance market when it launched the likes of this product. Back then it was received as edgy and pioneering. But now, judged against more modern launches, it just seems so dated and old hat. Ah well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 2000wattsmile on 10/22/2011 12:11:00 PM more reviews by 2000wattsmile

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Confident is a word that has frequently been used to describe this fragrance. It is an interesting scent that does require confidence on the part of the wearer. Spicy and soapy. I don't really get anything sweet or vanilla from it. Closely hugs the line between feminine and masculine. I've had the same bottle for the past few years, and I use it sparingly in cold weather months. I always enjoy it intensely when I wear it. Too bad it's discontinued--it's a great scent. While it may have been created for the masses, it clearly did not appeal to most.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cerulfox on 10/18/2011 3:24:00 PM more reviews by cerulfox

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I wore this extensively throughout high school, and remembered it as being soft and warm with a kick of spice. When I found a mini at my local perfume shop, I quickly snatched it up and applied to wrist immediately upon getting home.


*sigh* Either my memory of this scent is off, or this mini is off, as the eucalyptus dominates all the way through the long dry down. It's medicinal, sharp, and not to my liking. I get hints of the scent I remembered in the background, but the eucalyptus kicks it backstage, not wanting it to steal its spotlight.


I suppose the usage of sharp and sweet might've been the point of Contradiction, and as high school was over 10 years ago my skin chemistry is more than likely just different. I'm glad to have a mini for the nostalgia but I have no need to get a full bottle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* neveranaddict on 8/22/2010 12:02:00 PM more reviews by neveranaddict

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I give this perfume the maximum grade because it's one of those great successes (imo) of the perfume industry when the story they are trying to sell us actually translates through the fragrance. This is a perfume that is in truth intriguing, more of an office perfume, evocating a strong career woman who's not afraid to challenge the men's position in the world while still avoiding all conflict. I don't think this is a perfume that any man would mind you buying, since it's bitter, intriguing but still discrete.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* highrise on 6/28/2010 7:11:00 PM more reviews by highrise

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This is indeed a generic perfume, as most of Calvin Klein's are (when they're not clubbing you over the head [obsession]). However, there are a few interesting notes in there--eucalyptus, aluminum--that give it a unisex feel and probably why it bombed when it came out.
I like it because it is an 'office perfume' that actually smells like an empty office, all new carpet and metal light fixtures.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kayelle on 5/12/2010 11:13:00 PM more reviews by Kayelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of those fragrances that I find incredibly generic and boring. To me, Contradiction just smells like perfume--no part of it stands out or is especially pleasant. I have the lotion and perfume, but never really use either. Not awful or cloying, but I'd rather go without a scent than wear this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* signemarie on 5/12/2010 6:11:00 AM more reviews by signemarie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am so sad this is discontinued, it was my signature scent for many years until I discovered Alien by Thierry Mugler, but I still love this.

The good thing about this one is that it smells different on everyone, and it smells great on me ;-) It has great staying power and great, great depth in the scent, that develops over the hours, which is a definite plus for me, since I get bored easily with 'flat' smelling fragrances.

On me it starts out rosy-jasmine-like and develops into a more vanilla dominated scent. I really like this and have gotten a lot of compliments when wearing it. I would by again if I could find a trusted seller.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bronz on 2/13/2010 12:45:00 AM more reviews by Bronz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite scent of all time! I have been wearing it for many years.
It's discontinued now- so i am sure there are plenty of fakes out there, which may explain why some people are finding it to smell strange?
I love the smell of vanilla that lingers when i wear contradiction, the staying power is not that great though, you definitely have to re-apply. This is a huge memory smell and takes me back to care-free summer holidays everytime i wear it. Wish they would bring it back!!!!!!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CecileCecile on 8/1/2009 5:24:00 PM more reviews by CecileCecile

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Add me to the list of people who can't properly wear Contradiction. I misted some on today and it resembled one of those really super-cheap butterscotch hard candies for about ten minutes. It then morphed into the scent of a fresh warm photocopy. Not exactly my worst scent disaster but a definite Fail. No Sale.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Calvin Klein products

More Fragrances products