Clairol • Psssssst Instant Spray Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 4.0(94 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LeMinx on 5/29/2014 3:15:00 AM more reviews by LeMinx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I initially got Psssssst! a few years ago after I got a keratin treatment for the very first time. Since I'm a cheap skate, I really tried to stretch that treatment out by not washing my hair as frequently. Even though I have dry, frizzy hair that can't be washed too often anyway, I still have to wash my hair at least once a week. My hair is very porous and soaks in every bad smell so I bought this hoping to "refresh" my hair without washing it. This dry shampoo works well to get rid of food smells and even cigarette smoke but, for whatever reason, I simply stopped using it.

A few weeks ago, I got a Brazilian blowout which I love way more than the keratin treatments. Again, I don't want to wash my hair too much so I dug this out of my closet and used it yesterday. The day before, I was working with some odorous chemicals that stuck to my skin and hair. Even after a shower, I could still smell one chemical in particular that seemed to cling to my hair. I used Psssssst! and the smell was immediately gone. It also made my hair look clean and soaked up the excess oil on my scalp. The smell of the shampoo is decent enough. To me, this smells rather neutral and inoffensive. It doesn't smell great but it doesn't linger enough for you to notice.

While this dry shampoo is better than any other I've tried, it does have a few drawbacks. I have dark hair (well, dark on top with highlights throughout) and this done "stain" dark hair with white powder depending on how much you spray on. I sprayed on quite a bit so my hair had a bit of a white cast even after I brushed it out. This can be avoided by not spraying on half the bottle. I also noticed that this tends to flake. Even if a small amount is used, I still found that I had what looks like dandruff. This only lasts for a short time but it is rather annoying.

I've tried a few other dry shampoos and most are overly perfumed and really don't remove smells or oils. Psssssst! does which is why I still have my can. For the price, this can't be beat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kyoki on 4/7/2014 2:49:00 PM more reviews by kyoki

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have dark wavy, color processed hair, and this dry shampoo was just okay for me. The only other one Iíve tried is Suave Professionals, and that worked a bit better, but the smell was HORRID. Generally, Iím not sensitive to floral/fruity scents and actually like them, but the Suave one lingered extremely strongly and gave me headaches throughout the day. In comes Pssssst!, which Iíve heard so much about. This doesnít work as well as I hoped. It does combat the oily roots for a little bit, then then after a few hours its back to oily. I might change up the way I apply this, i.e. leave it on for longer before brushing it. I might try Batiste next, which Iíve heard great things about.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 irmarox on 3/1/2014 6:55:00 PM more reviews by irmarox

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite dry shampoo. I can't say that I've tried all those expensive types out there, because I just don't believe in paying that much! But I have tried many drugstore brands that are highly recommended and have always hated them. I saw someone review this product on YouTube and she specifically talked about having fine, thin hair like mine. So, I decided to seek it out and give it a whirl.

This is the best dry shampoo I have found for thin, fine, and oily hair! Yes, I have all those problems. It's totally awesome, right? I've been trying to decrease my number of shampoos a week to help with the oily part. I haven't been able to go a day without shampooing my hair for as long as I can remember. Even when I've tried using other dry shapoos my hair would get chunky and so gross feeling I would give up and shampoo before the day was over. This is the first one I've tried that actually made my hair AND scalp feel clean!

Because of this product I have successfully gone three months with only shampooing every other day. Love, love, love this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chrissyislame on 12/19/2013 2:21:00 AM more reviews by chrissyislame

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

The hype of dry shampoo got to me and I really wanted to try it out so I thought this was the best place to start. It was pretty cheap, I think around 2$ or 3$? Anyways, I do like it I guess. Haha. I don't really know how to review this because this is the only one I've tried. I liked the smell of it and how it made my hair feel and look afterwards. The only problem I had was that sometimes when I sprayed it, it would make my hair look gray/white? I was probably doing it wrong because I'm not into the dry shampoo thing. Haha. Anyways, I don't think I would buy this again or any other dry shampoo product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 b82 on 12/5/2013 3:11:00 PM more reviews by b82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I've tried a few drugstore dry shampoos and although this is not the worse, I don't think this is the best. I would have probably appreciated this one more if I had not tried Batiste Dry Shampoo first. Fyi - TREsemme Dry Shampoo was the worse for me. This one is ok, it's better than nothing for people with oily roots but I find there are better out there and will not buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 11/18/2013 4:57:00 PM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of the worst dry shampoos I've ever used, and I've tried a lot. I had high hopes for this since many people seem to love it, but I had so many issues with this stuff.
I'll start with the few positives I have...I did like the scent, it smelled a little coconutty and the scent wasn't super strong like it can be with other dry shampoos. Also, I never had issues with the nozzle clogging or with the can leaking, which I have had happen with other products.
But those are really the only things I liked about this. I hated how this came out so wet feeling. Some dry shampoos come out a little more wet than others, but this one just felt so wet and heavy when first sprayed (and I used as little as possible). I would have to spray this first, then do my makeup (takes about 20+ minutes), and then finally I could rub this into my roots. What's funny is this goes from being super wet to super powdery. Like, powdery to the point where if I so much as lightly touch my hair throughout the day, I get powder fallout all over my face and shoulders that looks like severe dandruff. When I used this I had to be so careful not to get caught in the wind or put my hair up/down during the day so I wouldn't get that fallout everywhere. And again, it's not like I was using way too much of this in my hair. To make matters worse, this didn't even last a full day without wearing off. I feel like it controlled the oil for a few hours, but after that my hair looked as oily as it did in the morning.
Basically, I hated this stuff. I've used much better dry shampoos, even some that are cheaper than this, so I'd never repurchase. If you're looking for a good dry shampoo in this price range, I'd suggest Batiste, Got2Be, Not Your Mothers, or even the Garnier one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 enigmaze on 9/26/2013 12:44:00 AM more reviews by enigmaze

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I originally purchased this in a travel sized can several months ago to take on a trip (it was still the old design). When I ran out of Lush's dry shampoo, I bought a full sized can of this because of the price (New Look can). I don't know if they suddenly changed the formula but that's the only thing I can think of to account for how much worse this one is. It only makes my hair a little less greasy and makes my sensitive scalp very itchy (this doesn't happen with Batiste or Lush). I also looked at the ingredients today and the first two are butane and propane, which really freaked me out. Not only would I not repurchase, I am going to throw away this can and survive without dry shampoo until I can buy a new bottle of Lush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beautygirl23 on 9/19/2013 8:00:00 PM more reviews by beautygirl23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I think this is the only dry shampoo that's ever worked for me, the rest didn't. I just used this now like I'm on my third day of no washing and has absorbed the greasiness so much better than others. And its only $3.50! With a performance like this it should've been more expensive but I'm surprised

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ducky8989 on 2/16/2013 2:57:00 PM more reviews by Ducky8989

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

BEST THING THAT HAS EVER HAPPENED TO MY HAIR!

I cannot survive without this. I don't like to wash my hair more than 3 times a week and this makes my hair look clean and voluminous on my in-between wash days. It's to the point where I actually prefer the look of my hair a day or two after washing because this product gives me so much beautiful volume.

I can't believe I went so long with a greasy scalp (it was never THAT bad but now I don't ever have an even mildly greasy day)!! I don't know if it works for all hair types; my hair is fine to medium-thickness, dry at the ends and slightly oily at the roots.

I find the product works best if I apply it liberally to the roots (be sure to get it in between strands, don't just coat the outer layer of your hair or it won't work). I then use my fingers to spread it around my scalp and brush out with a boar bristle brush and the effect is amazing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mkcmkcmkc on 1/2/2013 1:51:00 PM more reviews by mkcmkcmkc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this dry shampoo. It refreshes my second or third day hair without making it all powder-y and greasy feeling - which is KEY as I don't like washing my hair more than twice a week. It's not as volumizing as the Tresemme dry shampoo, but I'd personally rather have a clean-feeling scalp. ALSO, I've never had this product clog up - both Dove and Tresemme bottles clogged halfway through using them - what a waste of money (I now only buy the travel-size Tresemme one due to this reason). Some reviewers say this product sprays white for them, but mine sprays pretty dang clear and invisible (I have black hair). Since there is barely any residue, I use it to PREVENT oily hair as well - I spray this into my roots after I've freshly washed and styled my hair, wait a minute, and then massage it gently into my scalp. That way, my hair looks just as clean the next day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clairol products

More Shampoo products