Stila • Diamond 'Lil • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(108 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 NikkiDagger on 7/14/2012 12:50:00 AM more reviews by NikkiDagger

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

I have both Diamond 'Lil and MAC's Smoke & Diamonds. I had S&D 1st, so as soon as I got DL, I compared the 2. I applied each to an eye & they looked 100% identical. There are differences in wear & pigmentation, though. I had to apply 2 layers of DL to get the same payoff as S&D, without a base. And, DL creased sooner on my oily lids, without primer. The differences don't really bother me, because you get more for your money with DL, I don't mind using a base & I always wear primer when I go out. I love S&D, so I'm very happy that there is something out there that I can use when mine runs out. Needless to say, I will definitely repurchase Diamond 'Lil.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rickisyed on 3/18/2012 6:18:00 PM more reviews by rickisyed

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

What an intriguing color!! Its looks greenish silver grey in the pan, but turns into taupy golden mint on the lids. This is a great neutral to throw on before leaving the house. I really love this color, and the wearability is so so, so it will definitely will need primer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* minimad on 3/14/2012 11:22:00 AM more reviews by minimad

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Diamond 'Lil is a muddy disaster. Usually my shadows don't budge with UDPP, but this stuff smeared. The color is gross and shiny, and the product itself is poorly textured. I can't believe this is HE makeup. Really disappointed!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 10/10/2011 9:13:00 AM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Yes, I would purchase this again but you get so much product (2.9 grams, I think) that I probably won't need to any time soon.

I'd read that Diamond Lil was a dupe for MAC's Smoke&Diamonds, which I do have so I took it along with me to compare. In the pan, Diamond Lil looks a fair bit more green-tinged but swatched, they looked awfully similar though by this time, I'd made up my mind that I wanted it anyway (I'd been craving it for a few weeks, after getting La Douce, which was my first Stila purchase). While I always wear an eyeshadow primer (mostly to prevent creasing), I bought Diamond Lil after I'd been at the gym and my face was scrubbed clean and makeup free but I put this on as soon as I got home, without even bothering with primer, just to try it out and, to my amazement, even without primer, it lasted all afternoon and into the evening without any creasing that I could see (though it did seem to fade). While I wouldn't wear it without some sort of primer under it, I was rather impressed that it didn't crease. The colour has been described many times in this listing so I won't try to elaborate except to say that it's one of those shades that seems to do a bit of colour-shifting, depending on what you wear under it (a coloured base can change or intensify the end result) or what you pair it with. But this is a great dark neutral with a pretty sheen, no fall out (or none that I've experienced), great texture and blendability and is good value for the money. For sure, a "repurchase worthy" product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tiddleywinks on 10/7/2011 3:04:00 PM more reviews by tiddleywinks

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I never even swatched this before reading the reviews here; from the name, I assumed that it had sparkles. But it's a nice, pearly, medium neutral taupe and I like it. I like it - I don't love it. In reading the reviews, I noticed that someone mentioned a slight greenish cast to this. In the store lights, it was not evident, but it's true. When I wear it, there is a very, very subtle green undertone. I expect that this would be extremely pretty for a green or hazel-eyed individual. It also makes a pretty triadic harmony when used with peach and purple shades to create a look. It definitely has the traditional Stila quality, with buttery texture, easy blendability, and it literally lasts all day without creasing. It just doesn't have the same wow factor for my brown eyes that NARS Ashes to Ashes and MAC Coco do. Taupes are an interesting shade and they behave so differently on different skin and eye colors. I would probably recommend this to a friend but would not personally purchase it again. In this case, the quality is there but the color is just not my best choice. I feel a bit unfair to judge a product apart from the quality and just on my personal preferences; I love Stila and this is a great shadow, just not for me.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SleepingBag on 9/25/2011 10:17:00 PM more reviews by SleepingBag

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This Stila eyeshadow has an incredibly soft texture, great application and is very pigmented. It is truly a beautiful multidimensional color, certainly in my top 10 favorite shadows of all time.


Of course, it is expensive and I got mine when Stila made you buy the pots individually... Now, I mentioned soft texture earlier and the downside to that is the likelyhood of cracking or shattering the e/s. My Diamond 'Lil is all crumbled up. It's a bummer, making my kit dirty and dusty. Consequently, I don't use it as much.
- I also purchased the Diamond 'Lil since MAC's LE Smoke and Diamonds was unavailable.


EDIT (12/7/2012) : Two things; First, I now have MAC's Smoke & Diamonds and they are close but not identical, especially regarding how the light reflects on the finish. Both are incredibly beautiful; I'll be doing a separate review soon for the S & D. Second, from my other three Stila shadows, another one has shattered also. Realizing this is not really an occasional production issue but a product formulation one, I've decided to bring the rating down to 4 lippies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 soclutch on 5/14/2011 2:52:00 PM more reviews by soclutch

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this product solely because I broke my MAC Smoke & Diamonds e/s when it fell on the floor. Since S&D was LE I started looking for dupes and thanks to google, I found Diamond Lil. I bought this product not expecting it to be better, but it honestly is. I wish I knew about this before S&D because I would have bought this instead. The pan is bigger and the formula is creamier and smoother than MAC's. The color payoff is phenomenal as well. It's a really beautiful shades and is pretty unique color. Also, it is part of the permanent line so just in case i break another e/s (which I probably will) it is nice to know that this e/s will always be available.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nubletta on 5/1/2011 1:51:00 PM more reviews by nubletta

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this eyeshadow! I got this shadow especially because I wasn't able to get my hands on Smoke & Diamonds from MAC. This is just like the powder version of Benefit's Skinny Jeans e/s. Love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bamf on 4/8/2011 2:41:00 PM more reviews by bamf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

My first Stila purchase and I'm pleased. Dramatic, shimmery, smoky color with decent staying power. High quality shadow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 allsmiles123 on 2/15/2011 9:44:00 PM more reviews by allsmiles123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I just hit pan on my second Diamond Lil! It's my go-to, everyday eyeshadow. I use it as a light wash on my eyelid and crease and use a cheap bone eyeshadow as a highlight. I use a gel eyeliner on the outer half of my upper eyelid. I've gotten several compliments on this simple eye look. A lady told me "that eyeshadow was made for you." Several ladies have asked what eyeshadow it is and where they can get it. I would say that one has lasted me about a year and a half and use it about 5-6 days per week. I have already purchased my backup.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Eye Shadow products