Longcils Boncza • Cake Mascara in Black • Mascara

rated 4.3(39 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 cremedeviolette on 9/30/2014 5:13:00 PM more reviews by cremedeviolette

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

More of a four and a half star product actually. This mascara is kind of like paint for your eyelashes, if you follow me. You dampen the little toothbrush-looking applicator and proceed to paint your eyelashes with it... Not the easiest application in the world, but it darkens lashes admirably and won't flake or smudge unless you really overdo it. Also pretty effective at curling the lashes. My only gripe is, I originally purchased this mascara because a lot of reviewers mentioned that it was suitable for sensitive eyes; however, as it is highly fragranced I have misgivings about applying it daily... If unscented I would rate it a full five.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xxxcarol on 8/20/2014 6:34:00 PM more reviews by xxxcarol

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This isn't for everyone, the application is so different than what you might be used to. I can't even remember why I took the leap to buy it, I guess I was just curious and looking for something different to treat myself. But---I'm sticking with it and now using it regularly. By making the mix a little thinner and the application a little lighter I can get the very natural-looking, my-lashes-but-better effect I want on most days. (I should mention that I dye my lashes regularly too.) What's nice is that this leaves the lashes still soft. For special occasions you can work it more and build coats to get a uniquely dramatic effect. I don't wear eyeshadow and rarely wear liner, so this is my one eye-enhancing product (besides brows) and I think that's why I'm willing to take the time with it. Even so I can never get it on without a smudge or two on my eyelid, but it comes off with a wet q-tip so I'm not bothered by it. Also,I agree with the reviewer who said the accompanying brush is the right one--I tried it with a spoolie and failed, you need all those straight close bristles to distribute the color. I'd say this product is for people who are more "advanced" makeup users, in that it does take more time and effort and a good coordination to get results.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Melzy323 on 8/5/2014 3:33:00 PM more reviews by Melzy323

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Holy grail for sure!

Pros: sanitary (no need to throw out), clump free, smudge free, flake free, lengthening, slightly thickening, a little water resistant, holds a curl well

Cons: difficult to learn to use, not a swipe and dash mascara

As others have noted in their reviews, this is an amazing mascara with a pretty steep learning curve. If you have the patience to keep practicing, I promise it will be worth your while!
A couple of tips for beginners or people struggling...
* keep using the mini toothbrush-like brush enclosed with it. Although using a spoolie mascara wand makes it seem easier at first, cake mascara is much better suited to the toothbrush style brush. My 2nd choice would be something like the MAC 205 mascara fan brush.
* remember you want the consistency to be paste-like - like mascara in a tube - not watery. If you add too much water it won't stick to your lashes properly. Resist the urge to blot the cake (that'll just add unwanted fibers to the mascara) and let it air dry for a few minutes.
* water might not be your best option for moistening the cake! Try visine, saline solution (NOT multi purpose solution!) or even rose water or jasmine water. I myself use jasmine water which my eyes aren't sensitive to and it smells amazing!
* practice when you're not in a rush to get out the door. This is not a quick swipe across your lashes and go mascara! Think more like a glamour girl at her dressing table. You will eventually get to the point when you can apply this almost as quickly as a wand mascara but it takes awhile to get there.

Hopefully you'll love this mascara as much as I do! PM me if you have any other questions.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 12catcrazy on 11/29/2011 5:44:00 PM more reviews by 12catcrazy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I'm old enough to remember when cake mascara was a cheap, drugstore staple. My first mascara was my mother's Maybelline cake mascara which came in a small, red plastic box circa 1971, so nostalgia, and very sensitive eyes compelled me to try this pricey French mascara.

First off, the packaging is beautiful, and very well made, although sort of a waste of space. The mascara cake itself is only about 1" diameter, so most of the compact is really made to fit the too-large brush.

There is a learning curve when using cake mascara. If you decide to try this, do yourself a favor and get yourself another brush. A clean mascara wand, a disposable "spoolie" or best yet, one of those little interdent teeth cleaners will work better than the included brush.

Moisten the brush of choice with just a bit of water - you don't want the mascara too wet - paste-like is what you're aiming for here. Then apply to your lashes. This stuff can go from very natural-looking to a little bit dramatic (for more drama, use a lash primer first). You have to play with it, and it isn't going to be as fast as using a tube mascara.

I need to curl my lashes before using any mascara, and I find the curl holds well with this mascara. My sensitive eyes like it (no burning like I get with so many tube mascaras), and I don't have problems with either flaking or smudging. This is also more waterproof than what you'd think, but it won't hold up to a rainstorm or a flood of tears (but then again, most regular mascaras won't either).

Is it worth the price? I think it is, as the cake will last a long time, and the packaging is beautiful. I've also tried La Femme cake mascara (which sells for under 10 bucks), and I like this one better as I get some eye stinging with the La Femme. If your eyes aren't as sensitive as mine, the La Femme would be worth a try.

I'm giving Loncils Bonzca an overall rating of 4 because I feel that a smaller, more user-friendly brush should be included. The compact is also on the large size to be lugging around in a purse. All in all, a nice product, which I will buy again.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rlbenitz on 11/26/2010 10:23:00 PM more reviews by rlbenitz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

So I actually accidentally ordered the GREEN color..., no refunds... and I LOVE IT! I have green/blue eyes and when I wear this with dark green shadow or a teal eyeliner, my eyes look amazing. The color is pretty dark so you don't look like a freak show, but its undeniably green.,

Like everyone says- its tricky to apply. Still working on it, but I am getting better. The cake sticks to the mirror in the case sometimes which is annoying. The brush has too many rows of bristles, and I get little green dots on my eyelids when I am not super careful.

Stays put all day, washes off easily with water. When I can save up again I'll order the black!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 middlemarch on 10/1/2010 12:00:00 PM more reviews by middlemarch

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've spent a laughing amount of time searching for the perfect mascara. My idea of a perfect mascara is one that's clump free, stays put and doesn't make my sensitive eyes hurt.

Now I'm happy to say that my mother was right when she said "If you want a clumpfree mascara there's only one way to go...buy a cake mascara".

Longcils Bonzca cake mascara is the one I found. I adore this product and I'll never go back to regular mascaras. I now have clumpfree, long, black lashes. Also, Longcils cake never crumbles! Don't be scared beacuse you have to add water, the brush is supereasy to use. I think you can buy Longcils cake refills, absolutely worth the price!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 diremaidenfair on 9/1/2010 1:33:00 PM more reviews by diremaidenfair

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Just got this in the mail about ten minutes ago, but I'm compelled to write a review before I've even gotten a few weeks practice in -
this stuff is wonderful! I applied with the brush (and though it's a bit thick and I can see why people would complain, it did its job... I'll have to try this out with some other brushes later) that came in the compact and sort of went about it like a total newbie. Well, after seven minutes of careful and thorough swiping I am already amazed at how natural it looks! So I applied my Diorshow on the other eye for comparison.
The difference is very noticeable.
a) I didn't have to curl with Longcils, and it looks better than the curled Diorshow
b) Not up close, all the lashes on the Diorshow look sort of "solid," like they're fundamentally clumped together. Longcils seriously separated and lengthened each lash to stand out on its own, ultimately making the whole of them look thicker.
c) Up close, Diorshow IS clumped together, and the ends of the lashes look weighed down with mascara. The Longcils are slickly separated and look like natural lashes.. but freaking better (long and black and silky). It just looks classy, and I can see how Marilyn Monroe wore something like this!

I am a bit disappointed in the ingredients (parfum and parabens and urea and God knows what else...) because I had read so many reviews claiming that this was more bare bones pigment, but until my eyes get irritated I won't complain. I can already feel the Diorshow making my eyelash roots "ache" from whatever crap is in there, but Longcils seems alright so far! I will update in a few weeks if I have fallen more deeply in love.

In my opinion, this is better than Chanel, Diorshow, Hypnose, Definicils, Revlon, Bourjois (an old favorite that started to irritate my eyes), Tarte (which won't irritate my eyes but isn't incredible), Clinique, Estee Lauder... I think that's it. Sorry I can't specify exactly which mascaras I used from those brands. I should probably just say that no tube mascara has done this for me before :)

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xxxspell on 3/24/2010 1:21:00 AM more reviews by xxxspell

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is an absolute miracle! It makes my lashes so great like no other expensive mascara could ever do. I can use this for an soft eyelash effect up to long spidery lashes effect. This is the only mascara that I can use for my lower lashes because it will not smudge during the day. It never clumps my lashes either. I have used organic and natural mascaras in the past that have irritated my eyes a bit at times but this cake mascara has never let me down. I am not buying conventional mascara ever again. Some bad points could only arise if someone does not have a good sturdy hand to apply it. Also I could do with it being made entirely off natural organic ingredients and free of parabens.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kinkylovebite on 11/30/2009 6:46:00 AM more reviews by kinkylovebite

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara takes a bit of getting used to but it's worth it. I'm very new to cake mascara, I bought my first (by La Femme) a couple of weeks ago.

Although I was happy with it I found that the brushes it came with (normal mascara tube brushes) a bit rubbish. They aren't really the right tools for a cake masacara. I then saw this mascara had a different type of brush and so decided to buy it.

Not only is the brush more suited to a cake, the formulation is also much better. It seems less waxy and lumpy. It also lasts longer and is more water resistant.

I was a bit worried when I first started applying it because the brush takes some getting used to and nothing seemed to happen to my lashes. I carried on applying it for much longer than I would normally spend on mascara and my lashes slowly started looking amazing. Really long and dramatic but not clumpy. I did get a lot of mascara on my upper lids during the process which I removed without diffuclty using cotton buds. I think it would be difficult to get a dramatic effect without a bit of mess for me becuase the brush is quite large and you do have to go for it a bit and brush your lashes in all different directions quite vigorously.

In summary, pretty case, good formula, long lasting, slightly unwieldly brush and takes a long time to apply but is without doubt worth it. I almost look like I'm wearing falsies. I also think it would be possible to get a really natural look with less application. It's also really satisfying to apply.

Fantastic.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 EagleRain on 11/14/2009 5:28:00 PM more reviews by EagleRain

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I had such high hopes for this mascara! After being drawn in by the claims of no clumps, smooth application, and adjustable effects (natural or dramatic) I shelled out the most money I've ever paid for a mascara.


I'm afraid that after using it a couple dozen times and experimenting with different brushes and water to cake ratios, I've found myself disappointed. The only things I like about this mascara are the novelty of playing with the consistency and the fact that the cake will last a long time and is very sanitary because the brushes get washed after each use. But the results I get don't look any different than when I use drugstore "tube" mascaras and, in fact, the drugstore mascaras outperform this cake. The cake mascara is heavier, I find, than tube mascaras, and weighs down my curled lashes. Length is just not impressive and, although I can use less water and more "paste" to achieve volume, it looks lumpy and thick like regular tube mascara, not smooth and fluttery like I expected.


It doesn't smudge with my oily skin, but even a hint of moisture will make this stuff run. If I sneeze hard enough the cake mascara will run away on me! Now, I had planned on buying a sealant to use in lieu of water if I really loved this mascara to make it more waterproof, but this just isn't special enough to make it worth the bother. I'm back to shopping in the drugstores, I'm afraid. :(

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Longcils Boncza products

More Mascara products