Dr. Bronner's • Almond Castille Soap • Gels/Soaps

rated 4.4(67 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Whimsicalnotes on 4/21/2014 1:30:00 PM more reviews by Whimsicalnotes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is the saviour of my skin which was battling painful cystic acne. I read reviews on acne.org and most of them felt stupid for not picking this up sooner to clear their acne. Well, I felt pretty dumb too. I had no new breakouts for one whole month when I usually had AT LEAST one every day on my cheeks. I only had two recently due to my period and they were the small ones which would clear up soon. I have read Lisa Bronner's dilution cheat sheet. She used 3 drops on her face. I do that sometimes but I usually dilute 1 part soap to 3 parts water in a foam dispenser which is vital if you like the feel of foam (that's why I did not follow Lisa Bronner's recipe). I use the diluted mix for my face and body. 3 pumps for my face and 6 pumps for my body. I also use a few pumps to wash my lingerie as I usually hand wash them. I do not use this as a shampoo because it sucked. I had wanted this to work for me but it caused build up in my hair even after I had rinsed and rubbed my hair for 5 minutes. Seeing the white gunk on the bristles of my brush really put me off. I have the unscented baby one too but I still like this better. I never knew how good almond scented soaps smell until I started using this. I will definitely be repurchasing this over and over again. Almost forgot to mention the best thing I love about this product. There are lots of products that claim to be natural and organic with complicated names of chemicals you can't even pronounce listed as ingredients. However, I could pronounce and knew exactly what was in this bottle of magic soap. This soap is perfection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mariahhxo on 4/16/2014 3:41:00 PM more reviews by Mariahhxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been on the hunt for a good brush shampoo, and none that i've tried really do as well as I'd like them too. Either they make my brushes feel dry and scratchy, or leave residue on the bristles. The worst is when they're covered in oil when you're done washing.
I tried out the Dr. Bronners soap with the almond scent for the first time yersterday and I'm floored with how well it did. All my brushes are incredibly soft, and best off CLEAN. Also good to note that the smell has faded and none of my brushes smell like the cleanser so this would be good for anyone sensitive to fragrance in their soaps. And maybe the best part is that it cut my washing time in half. It cleansed the brush so quickly, and it took a very little amount of time to rinse them clean.
My only complaint about the product is how quickly it pours out. It's so concentrated you only need a few drops, but if you're not careful you end on smothering your brush in this stuff. Maybe the bar would be good thing to try too.
But if you're looking for a great inexpensive brush shampoo please try this one out. You'll love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SamaelsMom on 3/22/2014 1:14:00 PM more reviews by SamaelsMom

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I love this soap. It smells so lovely. and clean like all dr. bronners soaps. They lather amazing, rinse clean, and take dirt off nearly anything. Skin, counters, floors! I love the rantings on the bottle, great toilet read. I wouldnt use this as shampoo or face wash, but body wash and house cleaner-yes!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roseroach on 12/26/2013 10:39:00 AM more reviews by roseroach

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Let me say that i have done a review for the Dr.Bronner's Liquid soap. I use it to clean my makeup brushes. I love using this stuff to clean them. It leaves them super clean, the bristles soft and love the smell to them afterwards. I've been wanting to try the bar soap for the same purpose. I was at H.E.B (local foodstore) purchased the Almond Bar Soap. I wasnt to sure that i was gonna like it. I purchase the Almond, for reason that I loved how it smelled. And the other reason I was already running out of the liquid soap. As soon as I got home,busted out my makeup brushes to get them cleaned. Let me just say that, I was not disappointed. I tired by putting the soap in my hand ,but it was to soapy. So I tired putting in a soap holder, and it worked perfectly. I wet the makeup brush and swipe-ed it a couple of time on the bar soap. Wet it a little bit more and with the palm of my hand lather it up to clean it. Redo the process if you think if it did not cleaned well. I just love it and its half the coast of the liquid soap. I will be repurchasing them in the the different scent and the Almond Bar Soap(my favorite).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rabiahmo on 11/19/2013 2:40:00 PM more reviews by rabiahmo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I like this soap because its completely organic and that's probably the main reason why i would re-purchase. It cleans your skin very well, leaving it squeaky clean- literally. However i HAVE'NT found it to be drying.

I do quite like the scent, its sweet (and strong!) but don't worry if your not a fan of scents, (you wont smell of almonds after you wash it off), smooth texture and lathers up really well. An overall brilliant body and face cleanser but a terrible shampoo! :( it leaves your scalp dry creating dandruff and it also gets greasy REALLY easily, i was rather disappointed. its also a terrible toothpaste, taste disgusting but i expected that x).

The shampoo con is the reason i gave it 4 stars but if your looking for a body or face cleanser, buy it, and you don't need a lot, a little bit goes a long way, really long way :D. And if you ever get bored in the shower, just read the packaging. Should keep you busy.

i do have acne prone skin, however i cant tell if this helps acne because i have a separate treatment for that.

BTW- Ive noticed that the prices on amazon and ebay are quite expensive. I got mine for £5.00 (8 oz) from bath and unwind, good service and arrived safe. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 clarissa90 on 10/25/2013 11:29:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this after viewing one of DRBrookyn's videos on You Tube. She says that she uses this and as a shave gel.It's a great addition to my routine. I'm not too fond of the scent, but I don't smell after I get out of the shower. I will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* baldymonster on 9/14/2013 11:49:00 PM more reviews by baldymonster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I meant to buy the unscented version (in fact, the whole reason I wanted this in the first place was because I'm trying to stop using products with fragrance on my face) but it's a known fact that I cannot resist almond scented anything, and I'm so happy that's the case because this stuff is the bomb!

I don't think I can remember the last time my skin felt literally squeaky clean like this. And yet, it's not too drying. Pop some lotion on yourself after patting dry and you're perfect. The scent is addicting and it is my most beloved morning pick-me-up. I just wish it lasted past the shower. This product is great for shaving and turning your normal shampoo into purifying shampoo, in addition to working as a cleanser. (It's also wonderful at reminding me that I need glasses, via the teeny-tiny ravings about Spaceship Earth on the label.) Just remember to dilute! Dilute, dilute, dilute. This soap is so concentrated, it will absolutely strip your skin if you don't water it down. The plus-side of diluting so much is that you get a metric @#$&-ton of soap out of this product -- it's probably the cheapest stuff on the market when it's handled properly. I do miss the thick lather of my previous soaps, but I know they only behaved that way because they were full of detergents, so I can't really complain about the thinnish texture of Dr Bronner's. Overall, this stuff is absolutely wonderful.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmherman on 12/8/2012 11:40:00 PM more reviews by mmherman

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This product was very drying on my skin. I liked the smell and I think this is a good product, but for myself I think it is not for me.


I found a liquid black soap alternative that contains shea that works much better for my skin and also allows me to use it to shave.


I would use Dr. Bonners in the future, but probably as a cleaning product and not a personal toiletry item.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cathiequamme on 12/8/2012 11:33:00 PM more reviews by cathiequamme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use this as a shampoo, and my hair has never been healthier. I use maybe a couple teaspoons diluted with lots of water, and just pour it on my head, and then scrub. I have fine and thin hair that I almost never use heat on, and this cleans my hair well without leaving residue or weighing my hair down. Would definitely recommend for similar hair types.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Designkelly on 9/17/2012 10:27:00 AM more reviews by Designkelly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this product. My husband and I both use it as a body wash and it works perfectly for that purpose ( I swear it also helped reduce body acne as well).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dr. Bronner's products

More Gels/Soaps products