Bare Escentuals Bare Minerals Original Mineral Veil

3.7

1074 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

NEW INGREDIENTS>>> Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Corn Starch Modified, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Stearate. (+/-): Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499). OLD INGREDIENTS>>>Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Magnesium Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Methyparaben, Propylparaben.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Not sure why this product is rated so highly. I really didn't like this stuff. It didn't take my oiliness away. It didn't add anything, in fact i felt like it really dulled my look and make me look deadish. Not the look i'm going for.



on 3/30/2015 9:06:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

seems kind of drying on my already dry skin, but it's powder, so what was i expecting?


on 3/11/2015 6:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Before I started using bareminerals original foundation for my everyday makeup I used bareminerals bareskin foundation which is extremely hard to set. I purchased MAC'S Prep+Prime Transparent powder, which did the trick but it broke me out terribly. So I purchased this!

Packaging- I love the packaging of the mineral veil, its easy to use, and with the twist design its easy to travel with. I am not scared to drop this on the floor either, I am very clumsy so this happens often with makeup stuff, just imagine what my floor looks like!

Formula- The powder for all of BareMinerals powder stuff from eyeshadow to foundation is lightweight, velvet like and feels very smooth to the touch. The Mineral veil is cream/off white/ beige in colour. The purpose of the mineral veil is to set your makeup without adding any extra colour/coverage to your face. This makes it ideal for setting eye makeup, including eyeliner! With all of bareminerals makeup products a little goes a long way so which ever size you buy it will last you a long time.

Wear/Look/Feel- I put on my usual makeup, BareMinerals Original foundation, blusher, warmth/contour, highlighter, eyeshadow and liner then I apply the mineral veil. The mineral veil does a really good job at making all the products bind together nicely, making your face look naturally flawless.It makes sure that your makeup stays in place, rather like a top coat of nail varnish but your face. It didnt feel heavy on my skin, in fact it feel likes I am wearing nothing at all. I do think that the mineral veil prolongs the life of your makeup and generally just helps the overall look of your makeup. There are also several different versions of the mineral veil, I believe they are.. Original, Illuminating and tinted. I am going to stick with the original, seen as the original foundation already gives me a glow. I haven't yet used this to set liquid foundation. I am not sure how it would do setting the Bareskin. In my opinion I think it may be too light and not heavy duty enough, though the bareskin is stupidly hard to set.

Price- Depending on where you buy it, its usually around 20. Which i am totally happy to pay for.

Overall- I prefer this over MAC's Transparent powder, its much better for my skin. It doesnt break me out, its the same brand as my foundation and we all know that brand products are generally designed to work together. I would test this with the BareSkin foundation, but I am too in love with my original foundation to revert back. If I do decide to wear it again i will set it with this and let you know what happens!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/5/2015 12:18:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

When I first used this I didn't like it, because I was use to the heavy look of other loose powder. However, now I like the light transparent look it gives as it sets my foundation. It sort of gives you a glow. Excellent product.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

sets my foundation and concealer but doesn't add any extra coverage


on 2/17/2015 5:47:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

Ive just repurchased.

It gives a silky look to your skin. It is light and does not cake. It is also not obvious you are wearing powder and does not cling to dry patches.

Note: if you have oily skin, this will only matte it very slightly so I wouldnt recommend to you(with oily skin).

It is gentle and I have not reacted or broken out because of it (which happens to me A LOT)

Packaging? Bit hard to open the first time but once you get it pen it is perfect.

Price? Worth it.


on 2/11/2015 1:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not entirely sure what went wrong with this product, but I don't feel like it ever absorbed any excess oils on my face. Compared to other finishing powders, I found that I had to continually touch up with this stuff throughout the day because I could feel my foundation still sliding on my face. I hate having to do so many touchups during the day, especially since my face flakes pretty easily and this is a higher end product which, of course, is not cheap. Maybe this product works better along side the BareMinerals foundation and powders. I used a Mac powder as well as a Kat Von D Foundation under this mineral veil and found the results were the same. My makeup would still slide off my face around the 2 hour mark even with this product on. I would suggest maybe using this product along with the BareMinerals foundations/powder and see for yourself if the combination of the two work. As for this, I will be returning.


on 2/11/2015 7:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Oh, Mineral Veil. I've tried to replace you so many times, because paying 20 for an ounce of glorified cornstarch is pretty painful, but nothing is quite as good. Yes, I have tried putting cornstarch on my ultra-oily face as setting powder, no it did not work! :)

Does exactly what it says it will--sets your foundation beautifully, blurs imperfections and generally makes your face look 100x better. Back when my skin was perfect on the magic-beauty-pill that nearly killed me (Yasmin) I used this alone over moisturizer with a little blush on top and my skin looked stunning.

Now I use it either over Dr. Jart Black Label Detox BB Cream (not loving that product as it is hard to source and quite greasy but it matches well and doesn't break me out) or Estee Lauder DoubleWear and it makes both look a zillion times better. Recommend but jaysus, if it were a little cheaper I'd be thrilled.

If you haven't used it since the Bare Minerals craze in the aughts, they've improved the packaging significantly, there are only 4 holes and you can seal them off (kind of like a salt shaker) so you can travel with it and better control the amount of product that comes out, no more having half the product in the lid at all times!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/24/2015 12:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Had such high hopes for this product. This powder comes off a little orange on me in the natural light. Also makes skin look really cakey. Definitely wouldn't buy this again as not the cheapest product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/28/2014 5:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Am I missing something here??? I find this product makes my foundation look dry and cakey. Im using the original one with SPF, applying as instructed and it does feel nice, but make smy foundation look flaky like its separating. I've tried with 2 different foundations so far, one that is very oily, same result. Pretty disappointed. Ill try it again after exfoliating tomorrow but so far my favorite is by far Revlon Aqua (discontinued)


Recommended for Normal Skin



Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Eye Brow powder

113 reviews
image

Fruit Cocktail

57 reviews
image

Vanilla Sugar

61 reviews
image

Mineral blush

58 reviews
Back to Top