Laura Geller Balance-n-Brighten Baked Color Correcting Foundation (All Shades)

3.8

245 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Mica, Talc, Dimethicone, Isopropyl Palmitate, Polysorbate 20, Magnesium Aluminium Silicate, Phenoxyethanol, Lauroyl Lysine, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil (Jojoba), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E) (Vitamin E), Retinyl Acetate (Vitamin A), BHT, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Centella Asiatica (Gotu Kola) Extract, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Chromium Oxide Green (CI 77288), Manganese Violet (CI 77742)


on 1/14/2015 2:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is great for people who don't like foundation. This evens skin really nicely without the feeling of a foundation. It doesn't have as much coverage as I prefer, but it's worked nicely for people I know who do not like wearing makeup. Way better than bare minerals.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 12/30/2014 9:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I use this in a color darker than my face as bronzer and I have been obsessed with it literally for about 5 years. It is the only thing I use. Doesnt make me look orange or fake-tan. Lasts all day and never cakes. LOVE this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/26/2014 12:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is an awful product. I bought a cheaper type but seam idea and it was bril. So I thought because this cost more it would be better. Big mistake
I wear medium in Daniel Sandell and Bobbi Brown so of course I order medium, it was far to dark so I order fair because I don't like being too pale. Still a bit too dark but I thought I may be need to give it time. No I hate it my skin feels dry even though I wear the Sparkle primer on first.
I will order the mineral magic again it was soo much better


on 7/29/2014 8:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I got this in Fair and Medium (summer requires a darker shade) and it's just OK on its own. I find the staying powder is minimal even with primer. I use it as finishing powder over BB cream. Adds a hint of shimmer...not too much...I guess that's where the "brightening" part comes into play. I don't play on repurchasing, just finishing up what I have.


on 7/24/2014 1:10:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This foundation is just okay. It has an orangish hue which doesn't quite match my skin tone and I think it gets oranger throughout the day...it also doesn't noticeably brighten my skin, it seems to actually do the opposite. I like pur minerals foundation a lot better than this stuff. But like I said, it's not terrible. It's just expensive and kind of a let down.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2014 6:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

After having tried LG's Bronze & Brighten and several of the baked blushes (all of which I love!), I decided to give the Balance & Brighten a go. I couldn't really decide which color would best suit me from the photos online, so I purchased both the "Fair" and the "Medium" (a.k.a. "Regular"). I am SO very happy with this product! I am surprised at some of the negative feedback, but everyone's different. I have fair/medium skin and both colors work well, surprisingly...although "Fair" is a slightly more close color match for most of the year, while "Medium" is a better match during the warmer months. I have tried this both on its own, and over light foundation. It's good on its own and has nice coverage for a powder foundation, probably about medium coverage. I would compare the coverage to EM's matte formula, but I think the LG finish is much nicer. For higher coverage and a more perfected "airbrush" finish, it goes well over a light foundation, BB cream or tinted moisturizer. I have comination skin, erring on the oily side, and I have never experienced oxidation or "turning orange" with this product, either used alone or with foundation. The consistency is so buttery smooth and soft, and I find that it definitely corrects and balances the tone and covers any redness. It literally makes my pores disappear. Having said that, I DO have to touch up a time or two throughout the day if it's particularly warm out and I'm getting oily. But, keep in mind that this is a powder FOUNDATION and not a setting powder. So, the same rules would apply to this product as they would to a liquid or cream. I really don't mind though, as it looks fantastic. The price is definitely steep, but I can see this compact lasting quite a long time, even with daily use. It's so finely milled and just a little bit gets so much done. Between this, the Bronzer, and the baked blush - my face has never looked so nice! Definitely an LG convert. :)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2014 6:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I use this everyday! And I am a Laura Geller converted! This is such a good product as its not cakey or over the top. It blends really well. Am using the medium one. The only down side with this it makes my skin oily but probably its because of my skin texture. But over all i love this and would recommended to all my friends.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/9/2014 8:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Lots of mica, lots of talc
I really wanted to love this product. What could be easier - a magical foundation that you can carry in your purse and touch up on the go... But it's not to be. This makeup has too much glowy-shiny mica, and it just looked bad on me.


on 6/8/2014 5:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this on qvc and got this product in a makeup kit, I am glad I did. Because of quality and steep price! I have oily skin and old acne spots and this foundation provided sheer coverage with one application and your flaws still show through, you can build up the coverage for more of medium overall coverage which does help but you will use allot product at thirty-three dollars a pop! I notice that the foundation brush which came with the kit when I went to use in the balance n brighten foundation it made the baked powder turn to dust and most of product went up in that air! after hour or two foundation oxidized on my face and turned a shade darker then my skin tone. As, for my oily skin I even used the spackle primer and I had put makeup on at 0700 by 1200 my forehead was very greasy. I would not buy this product again unless I read reviews in future which say these issues have been address, I do not know if it is just me, but I expect quality especially when I pay for it. If your looking for a good foundation that is light to medium coverage and feels good on skin I recommend BB matte cream by dimtri james. it controls oil and minimizes pores.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Horrible coverage, felt tight and scratchy on my skin, and I hated the way it looks cakey. I immediately washed it off and later returned. I have no idea how this product is great for anyone.


Back to Top