LUSH • Skin's Shangri-la • Moisturizers

rated 4.0(77 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 YukiHime7 on 8/2/2014 3:49:00 AM more reviews by YukiHime7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i received a sample of this, and loved it! the sample lasted me for 2 months, because i reall tried to make it last. i have oily, acne-prone skin and the cream felt a bit heavy for me. however, it made my skin super soft and cleared up lots of my acne! absolutely love it!

on the downside, it doesn't smell so great, kind of like soy? it's also rather expensive, around $50AUD. i dont really like tubs, where you have to dip your fingers in over and over, i find it a bit unhygenic.

overall, i love this product, and would definitely splurge on it when i have the money. in general though, its a bit too expensive for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KaiteKins on 5/26/2014 11:34:00 PM more reviews by KaiteKins

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I received a free sample of this based upon recommendation from a SA at
Lush. It smells kinda nutty/vanilla and has a reasonably thick texture. My skin is dry and sensitive and this was described as a drink for my skin. It worked okay, but it was not anything super special. It appears to work for quite a bit of people on this board, however, I am personally not impressed to buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tempescape on 12/7/2013 12:04:00 AM more reviews by tempescape

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Go on, waste $50 of your hard earned money on an overpriced tiny pot of cream that 'maybe' contains all natural ingredients. If you have the money on the chance that this will work for you and not break you out, spend away!
If, on the other hand, you're like the average consumer who needs moisturized skin but doesn't want to spend half a weeks grocery money to get it try this instead: Go and buy some Cetaphil daily advanced lotion.
Want the product to be more natural? Browse Etsy or iherb or visit your nearest Muslim store, you know the ones that sells pure shea/cocoa butter, pure oils and an array of natural moisturizing products similar to this but at a fraction of the cost.
Or even how about going to your local Trader Joe's and purchasing a $6 bottle of their Vitamin E oil which will moisturize your skin just as well as this product?
There are so many cheaper options out there for you. I tried a free sample of this and it did absolutely nothing that the other products I mentioned and used before did. It fact despite me having dry skin it didn't moisturize at all. 2 days later I started developing a rash of small spots around my cheeks near my ears. I threw the rest of it out. I could understand if this costs $25 but $53 is telling me that what I'm actually paying for is the mass marketing, fancy ads and the fact that they need to make their money back from giving away all of these free samples. How else can they justify the price for such a TINY pot of product (the full size tub is only half filled up too) that ALSO contains lanolin, beeswax (watch out acne sufferers) and 5 other products that are questonable as coming from natural sources.
Here's another bit of advice. Check your soap. Maybe that's drying your skin out. Switch soaps to something milder, a glycerin soap maybe for a week and see if that makes a difference first. Spend that $50 on some fish oil supplements and add more natural oils into your diet. All these will help in moisturizing your skin from the inside out.

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Yasmin159 on 11/25/2013 11:43:00 PM more reviews by Yasmin159

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Lovely moisturiser. Hate the smell (like seaweed or lemongrass...or both!) but, and I don't know if it's a psychological thing or what but I like this cream for when I want a moisturiser with more 'good stuff' in it. It's supposed to have a ton of great ingredients (hence the price).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TaniaRides on 10/23/2013 1:44:00 PM more reviews by TaniaRides

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

LUSH's skincare always sounds so amazing when I read the descriptions, but my skin tends to hate their products in reality. I love the smell of Skin's Shangri-La (like a spicy, honeyed, vanilla-y oatmeal), but it doesn't do anything good for me.
The salespeople at LUSH always tell me that this cream will be great for my dry skin, but somehow it dries my skin out more and makes me break out along my chin, upper lip, and cheeks. Not good. I'm just giving up on most of their products at this point.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hailstar07 on 9/26/2013 11:59:00 PM more reviews by hailstar07

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I bought a tiny little sample pot of this for $3AUD last time I was in Lush, as my skin is sensitive and I didn't want to risk paying for a full size pot and have it wreck my face. However, upon looking at it, and since I'm having great results from using Celestial, I decided it's probably too heavy for my skin. I will continue to buy the tiny pot when I need it though, because as an eye cream, for me this is great! Moisturising, hasn't caused milia like many other eye creams do to me, and for $3 a pot, which will last forever, I think it's a winner. So as an eye cream I say give it a go, much better than paying $40 or more for an equivalent amount of something like Clinique's All About Eyes, which really did nothing for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nreid on 9/23/2013 4:35:00 PM more reviews by nreid

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A word of warning for people with sensitive skin, dry skin, or skin conditions such as rosacea - don't buy this product. Seriously, save your money and you skin and go with something less harsh and more nourishing for your skin.

After buying LUSH's Celestial cream and having that be a huge fail for my skin, I went back to the store and once again asked a sales associate for suggestions on a ultra-hydrating moisturizer. I was also starting to develop very mild rosacea symptoms, and wanted something that would help soothe the minor redness I was experiencing. I was pointed to this moisturizer, and despite the ridiculous price tag being a red flag for me, I bought it out of the assurance that this was one of LUSH's best offerings for dry skin. Keep in mind that I was explicit in explaining that I was battling roseacea, and the sales associate gave me the clear impression that she knew exactly what I needed.

Wrong, wrong, wrong. This moisturizer's primary ingredient is alcohol. Little did I think that a moisturizer loaded with what seemed beneficial oils would prove to be such a disaster for my face. But it was only after a few days of using it every night and having my cheeks turn a bright red and emit heat for hours after applying it that I began to think there might be something wrong with this moisturizer. I almost never have reactions to products. When I realized that the first ingredient in this moisturizer was straight up alcohol it was obvious that the alcohol was not only aggrivating my rosacea but drying out my skin. Who on earth would think that this would be good for someone with dry and sensitive skin, never mind someone with mature skin needing MORE moisture, not less?

In hindsight, I should have done research on this product before buying it given that Celestial didn't work for me. I didn't look at LUSH's website and I didn't ask more questions in the store. Now I know better.

Aside from it being a disasterous product for dry skin, it's actually not a bad mositurizer. Although I wasn't a fan of the scent, it's alright as far a moisturizers go. It's heavier and more suited to night time use. And it may well be more suited to oily skin than dry skin. But for heaven's sake - don't use this if you have mature skin! Vodka = alcohol = drier skin = more wrinkles!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gail2 on 8/22/2013 4:01:00 PM more reviews by Gail2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Blue    


Do wish I could remember what my introduction was to the estimable LUSH. I’m thinking it was a bar of their luscious soaps. Whatever it was I was mightily pleased and LUSH soon became one of my favorite go-tos for skin care. So, how do I love thee, LUSH, let me count the ways:
1. Freshness
2. Effectiveness
3. Value

I recently received a gift of a rather pricey night cream. Granted I’d been murmuring about wanting to try it and here it was. My first thought was what a wonderful surprise. Unfortunately not so. After opening it I could only conclude that it had been on a shelf for some time. With LUSH I’m always assured of freshness even to the “Use by” label on the container.

Ever wonder about the promises made by some skin care lines? Wrinkles disappearing in a week? Looking ten years younger in days? Never known LUSH to make such claims - only as in the case of Skin’s Shangri La - it nourishes skin with wheatgrass, seaweed and vanilla blend. How true. “Nourishes the skin” is the key phrase here, and it does.

When it comes to value - who isn’t price conscious these days? While leafing through a recent issue of Lush Times everything that caught my eye was certainly price accessible while a family of four could be fed for a week at the price of some other skin care creams.

Happy to say that just a small amount of Skin’s Shangri La does the trick for me. Love it at night and also in the a.m. as it works well with makeup. Find it at lushusa.com.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gardengrenade on 3/23/2013 11:15:00 PM more reviews by Gardengrenade

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Okay, so I got a little sample of this after trying LUSH's enzymion moisturizer (which I found too light for my skin). First of all, I have combination skin. I get oily on my forehead and my nose, and dry between my eyebrows and on the sides of my nose - weird, I know. I felt this stuff and it seemed pretty good. Thicker than the other one, maybe a bit thick for day use, but hey, I'm down for a night time moisturizer. So I spray my skin with tea tree water and put this on concentrating on my dry areas and I couldn't believe how nice it felt on my skin. And when mixing it in with the tea tree water I only had to use a tiny amount. I went to bed, hoping for the best and woke up pleasantly surprised! My dry patches make it impossible to put my makeup on without looking flaky, but this stuff fixed everything! I haven't found anything that will calm my problem areas down without making me look like I'm dripping in grease and this stuff did it! It didn't make my forehead gross, and it quenched my skin beautifully. They gave me a pretty generous sample and I've used it every night, and sometimes day time for the rough patches and I'm definitely planning on getting the full size. If anything, it's a great night time moisturizer and not to mention it feels so great and smells amazing. Love this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 harmonyl on 2/11/2013 12:58:00 AM more reviews by harmonyl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

ok this is really expensive but lovely moisteriser! i use it as a night cream as it is very heavy so is great for night but not really daytime. its texture is smooth and silky and it does spread lovely and soaks in nice.
the smell, well it smells like porridge but unless u dont like porridge it is a subtle nice scent. i noticed my skin looking more plump since using. overall loved it. :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Moisturizers products