Garnier Sleek and Shine Shampoo

3.2

210 reviews

49% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Aqua/Water/Eau, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Coco Betaine, Laureth 5 Carboxylic Acid, Cocamide MIPA, Amodimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Polyquaternium 10, Pyrus Malus (Apple) Fruit Extract, PPG 5 Ceteth 20, Sodium Benzoate, Parfum/Fragrance, Methylparaben, PEG 55 Propylene Glycol Oleate, Salicylic Acid, Propylene Glycol, Niacinamide, Pyridoxine HCI, Persea Gratissima Avocado Oil, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Citric Acid, Saccharum Officinarum (Sugar Cane) Extract, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Methylcocoate, Linalool, Sodium Cocoate, Citrus Limonium (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Extract, FD&C Yellow 6, CI 47005 (Yellow 10)


on 7/23/2015 11:55:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I give this shampoo and the matching hair conditioner the highest marks. Price is wonderful considering what I have paid to try and get the same results with high end products. Container is easy to open and get this: when you are in the shower and can't see a damn thing you can reach for the shampoo and know you got the shampoo because it sits on its bottom, while the conditioner sits on its top. A little thing but oh so useful.

The products themselves are perfect for my coarse, dry, wavy natural curly hair that tends to frizz and a very dry scalp that is easily irritated. I shampoo twice and rinse thoroughly before conditioning. My hair is smooth, shiny, clean and no dry, itchy, scalp!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 4/12/2015 4:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown


PROS:
- very nourishing for dry hair
- takes away my unwanted fizz

CONS:
- your hair will get greasy way faster


on 2/14/2015 5:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

My hair is thick, coarse, and dry. This shampoo works wonders for me!

PROS:
- makes my hair less coarse
- takes away unwanted volume
- makes my hair super sleek

CONS:
- absolutely none!


on 12/4/2014 11:38:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this while on vacation in a very hot and humid area and it worked okay, my hair was shiny and clean. But when I came back from vacation my scalp broke out from using this shampoo! And it is very drying and makes my hair all stiff, doesn't help with frizziness at all.


on 12/1/2014 11:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I felt like this was a very inexpensive, run-of-the-mill shampoo. It cleansed my hair well without drying it out, although I'm not sure about the sleek and shiny aspect. It didn't make it frizzy or dull, but generally I find conditioner is where I get those kinds of results from. I liked the way it smelled, and didn't find it overpowering. I would definitely repurchase!


on 2/4/2014 2:56:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Yes, it smooths, but only good for those with hair that rarely gets oily because my hair never feels clean after using it. Normally i can go 2-3 days without a wash, yet with this my hair is starting to get greasy on the beginning of the second day!


on 1/12/2014 1:02:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is actually quite a good shampoo - did what it said it would do, made my hair shiny, soft and full of body.

But the reason I would not buy it again is the horrible smell of rotting fruit. Rotting lemons and blackcurrants with an odd metallic undertone. The smell was bad enough to make washing my hair an unpleasant experience, and it lingered in the hair when I'd dried it. I was reduced to spraying my hair with perfume to get rid of it. The conditioner that goes with this product has the same smell of rotting fruit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/3/2013 4:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Avoid this product!! I have frizzy hair, and I thought that this shampoo might help bring it under control. Instead, after a few weeks of using it, my hair started falling out and my scalp became dry. At first I thought that I was just imagining things, but my hair apparently became so thin (I normally have pretty thick hair) that my mother noticed it when I came home after 2 months at college. Seriously, avoid this product! You will lose massive amounts of hair every time you shower or brush your hair, you will get dandruff more easily because your scalp will be dry, and the damage will take at least a year or two to reverse.


on 8/30/2013 12:22:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

First of all, let me get this straight. This shampoo is not a miracle worker and won't make your hair sleek all by itself with the conditioner. To be honest, I wasn't expecting that I wouldn't need to straighten my hair after using it. People can be really stupid and think that just because a bottle says it'll make your hair sleeker, that you don't have to use any other products in your hair. Plus, everyone has a different hair type, so this won't work for everybody.

HOWEVER, while I didn't get totally straight hair from this or anything, it did help my frizz. It smells great, and while the cap isn't something I like, I do like the design of the rest of the bottle. It lathers very well, but it's very watery and not that thick for a shampoo.

If you don't mind a little runny shampoo, then I recommend trying this out to see if it'll work for your hair.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Loved this product, AT FIRST! After a few uses my scalp has yellow coating all over it. Not impressed.


Back to Top