Garnier • Sleek and Shine • Shampoo

rated 3.2(207 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.49%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Orionpkmyz on 12/4/2014 11:38:00 AM more reviews by Orionpkmyz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this while on vacation in a very hot and humid area and it worked okay, my hair was shiny and clean. But when I came back from vacation my scalp broke out from using this shampoo! And it is very drying and makes my hair all stiff, doesn't help with frizziness at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HollyWould123 on 12/1/2014 11:28:00 AM more reviews by HollyWould123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I felt like this was a very inexpensive, run-of-the-mill shampoo. It cleansed my hair well without drying it out, although I'm not sure about the sleek and shiny aspect. It didn't make it frizzy or dull, but generally I find conditioner is where I get those kinds of results from. I liked the way it smelled, and didn't find it overpowering. I would definitely repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 britbratg on 2/4/2014 2:56:00 PM more reviews by britbratg

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Yes, it smooths, but only good for those with hair that rarely gets oily because my hair never feels clean after using it. Normally i can go 2-3 days without a wash, yet with this my hair is starting to get greasy on the beginning of the second day!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Scenta on 1/12/2014 1:02:00 PM more reviews by Scenta

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is actually quite a good shampoo - did what it said it would do, made my hair shiny, soft and full of body.

But the reason I would not buy it again is the horrible smell of rotting fruit. Rotting lemons and blackcurrants with an odd metallic undertone. The smell was bad enough to make washing my hair an unpleasant experience, and it lingered in the hair when I'd dried it. I was reduced to spraying my hair with perfume to get rid of it. The conditioner that goes with this product has the same smell of rotting fruit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pirinja on 12/3/2013 4:19:00 PM more reviews by pirinja

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Avoid this product!! I have frizzy hair, and I thought that this shampoo might help bring it under control. Instead, after a few weeks of using it, my hair started falling out and my scalp became dry. At first I thought that I was just imagining things, but my hair apparently became so thin (I normally have pretty thick hair) that my mother noticed it when I came home after 2 months at college. Seriously, avoid this product! You will lose massive amounts of hair every time you shower or brush your hair, you will get dandruff more easily because your scalp will be dry, and the damage will take at least a year or two to reverse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TheLastOfUs on 8/30/2013 12:22:00 AM more reviews by TheLastOfUs

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, let me get this straight. This shampoo is not a miracle worker and won't make your hair sleek all by itself with the conditioner. To be honest, I wasn't expecting that I wouldn't need to straighten my hair after using it. People can be really stupid and think that just because a bottle says it'll make your hair sleeker, that you don't have to use any other products in your hair. Plus, everyone has a different hair type, so this won't work for everybody.

HOWEVER, while I didn't get totally straight hair from this or anything, it did help my frizz. It smells great, and while the cap isn't something I like, I do like the design of the rest of the bottle. It lathers very well, but it's very watery and not that thick for a shampoo.

If you don't mind a little runny shampoo, then I recommend trying this out to see if it'll work for your hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 onebeautifullife2013 on 8/26/2013 4:50:00 PM more reviews by onebeautifullife2013

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Loved this product, AT FIRST! After a few uses my scalp has yellow coating all over it. Not impressed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Siringo on 8/23/2013 3:01:00 AM more reviews by Siringo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My hair looks great! I'm glad I bought this. It smells good, and my roots look just as nourished AND clean as the rest of my hair. That is something that is difficult to accomplish as a hair product (for me, anyway).

I left off a lippy because it takes a LOT of product to get any lather. The conditioner is better. I'll also have to clarify every now and then, but that's no biggie.

I live in a very dry climate, and without any product, my hair is so dry and unhealthy looking from root to end. The shampoo, conditioner, and anti frizz serum have done wonders for me.

Edit: I've decided to buy a different shampoo after this bottle. I'm still happy with the end results, but the lack of lather bothers me. I'm still going to purchase the matching conditioner and serum though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hyperblue11 on 8/21/2013 3:58:00 AM more reviews by hyperblue11

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this shampoo for a while now and I love it! I have really thick straight hair but it would get horribly frizzy so I'd straighten my hair. I changed to this shampoo and it has a good amount of stuff to make my hair shiny and non frizzy and really straight!
The shampoo is pretty cheap and sometimes when you're in the shower and you try to open the bottle with wet hands it makes it very difficult. Sometimes if its upside down, the cap can built up with water but nothing wrong when you stand it the right way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VegetaFanGirl on 8/10/2013 6:47:00 PM more reviews by VegetaFanGirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't like this shampoo all that much. It smelled nice, it looked nice, and it was cheap- sort of, like drugstore cheap. It didn't make my frizzy, wavy hair sleek or shiny, and I noticed no difference than with anything else I use. Also, this crap made my hair fall out way more than anything else I've used. Wouldn't recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Garnier products

More Shampoo products