Paula's Choice • RESIST Clearly Remarkable Skin Lightening Gel • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.2(39 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 frippery on 8/12/2014 5:07:00 AM more reviews by frippery

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

my skin didn't like this.

i tried to use this nightly for a few weeks. after the second day, i started getting a crop of tiny red pimples in my t-zone (forehead and chin). i tried stopping for a day or two, then applying it to just my forehead. every time i would start up again i would experience the same irritated red little bumps. i have combo oily/dry skin but i don't have issues with acne pimples normally. i've had the same strange reaction to other products as well (usually sunscreens). i have used bha in the past without issue, so i figure it must be one or more other ingredients that causes me to break out.

it also dried out my skin under my eyes where i am already prone to dryness, though that is typical with other bha product so not a huge surprise.

it's very strong smelling, though there is no added fragrance.

the packaging design is horrible- i poked a tiny pinhole in the foil as was suggested by another reviewer, and still way too much product would come gushing out.

overall i found it unpleasant to use and not worth sticking with, as the results seemed mixed at best (if these reviews are any indication). with all the breakouts and breaks in between, i didn't use it long enough or consistently enough to notice any lightening effect on hyper-pigmented areas.

they issued a refund, though it did take some back and forth.

active ingredient: Hydroquinone 2% (melanin inhibitor)
also includes: Salicylic Acid (2%) (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant),

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Eire1 on 7/25/2014 9:09:00 AM more reviews by Eire1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I HAD SEVERAL SAMPLES.
I'LL BE REVIEWING THE RESIST TRIPLE ACTION DARK SPOT ERASOR 2% BHA GEL:
This is a leave on product that can help unclog pores due to the betahydroxy acids(BHA) wich are here in 2% and the pH. Since this is a leave on product the BHA will have enough time to work.
This also includes hydroquinone. Scientific evidence shows that hydroquinone only works on existing age spots. Hydroquinone will not work on lightening skin with little damage or redness from post acne. Despite this some people will see a reduction in redness associated with acne ( including yours truly.) Since hydroquinone has the ability to be irritating I advise only using it as part of an anti aging routine. I am not sure if it should be used for acne but if it irritates your skin then discontinue its use. If you have redness and acne try anti redness products but if you use this and find that it helps just be careful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jake54 on 6/12/2013 11:34:00 AM more reviews by Jake54

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Great product. I've been using Paula's BHA gel for years and never purchased her skin lighteners. I have had dark spots from old acne for years and some acne that would just not go away (they were slightly under the skin). This cleared them up! I bought this when she had the tubes on sale, but I'd like to say the tube is really much bigger than I expected and I only use a small amount each night and morning. It has lightened up all the spots I had and the BHA has done a great job healing and disinfecting my skin. Highly recommend.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 historian12 on 1/27/2013 3:08:00 PM more reviews by historian12

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This product just didn't work for me. My red marks just didn't fade, even after going through an entire tube of it. It also didn't seem to exfoliate that well--I was still breaking out on my chin. I was disappointed, because I've liked a lot of Paula's products and the price was very reasonable. I've had much better success with MUAC Skin Bleaching Gel, but it's much more expensive.

The packaging is also very bad. The product is extremely thin and runny. Luckily I followed the advice I had seen posted in some of the reviews on Paula's site. The reviewers suggested leaving the seal on the tube and just poking a small hole in it with a needle--this way you can actually control how much comes out. If you do use this product, I highly recommend following this procedure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 maneater on 4/24/2012 5:58:00 AM more reviews by maneater

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Disappointed with this product, I had high hopes for this ! Did nothing for my skin at all. Even after following the paula's choice regime for 2 months !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LizWords on 11/5/2011 4:01:00 PM more reviews by LizWords

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was using the alpha hydroxy version of this for a couple months when I switched to this bha version. I'm also using retin-a and I'm transitioning to a higher concentration and the aha version was just making me way too peely, I needed a milder exfoliater, and my skin has been primed for bha anyway (I feel this is important, as when i started using 1% bha i had to go slow or would experience irritation and/or a small increase in breakouts til my skin was used to it).


I think this works great, it was exactly what I wanted. I do have a few gripes about the formula in terms of consistency and how it looks on my skin. This is a gel and it's somewhat thin so it does run out of bottle too easy, it really should be in a pump bottle. Also, I wish it was a lotion formula like the aha version as I could wear that under my makeup during the day and use my retin-a at night, the bha version is not as good at blending into my skin. But I do still use it during the day a couple times a week when I don't have any client appointments or on the weekend.


In terms of ingredients this product is great, it has antioxidants, anti-irritants, and the hydroquinone and exfoliater that you're looking for. Hydroquinone is clinically proven to help lighten skin for MANY people, not all people. If you don't get the results you're looking for, you can try the 4% solution, All Day Chemist offers it very cheap and you don't have to go to a doctor for an expensive prescription if you order from there.


One other thing to note, DO NOT USE THIS IN CONJUNCTION WITH BENZOYL PEROXIDE PRODUCTS. Using hydroquinone with BP can cause skin browning, which is temporary but still unsightly. I honestly don't understand why there aren't warnings on ALL hydroquinone products, it's extremely irresponsible not to let people know, ESPECIALLY with this product as it's meant for acne prone skin and many people with acne prone skin use some form of BP. I do still use BP, I just make sure not to put it on my skin within a day of using hydroquinone. You can supposedly wash your face and then apply it but I honestly don't want to take the risk. Since I only use this product a couple times a week and I use BP probably half a dozen times a month, it isn't really an issue for me. But for someone no a regular BP regimen, this could cause problems.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Mariam123 on 11/5/2011 2:46:00 PM more reviews by Mariam123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product does work, but i hate how the gel never really absorbs into the skin. I would repurchase if it had a gel-cream texture like the Resist hydrator.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bobsy on 8/21/2011 9:17:00 PM more reviews by bobsy

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Broke me out incredibly badly after just a few days I had to stop using it. Not sure which ingredient was the culprit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* emmgill on 3/20/2011 6:27:00 PM more reviews by emmgill

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really really like this product. This seems to work better on my skin than the 2% BHA liquid for breakouts. This also has reduced some small/light freckles that I has around my eye. You can barely see them now. I use this most nights and then put a different treatment over the top- either 10% AHA or a moisturizer of some sort. I really really like this product. I still will try the PCA Pigment Gel with HQ after I finish this tube and compare the two.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Arenal on 11/15/2010 12:55:00 AM more reviews by Arenal

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Did. Not. Work. And I used it religiously morning and evening for several months. It worked a bit on my hands, but was not worth the time or money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Treatments (Face) products