Paula's Choice • RESIST Clearly Remarkable Skin Lightening Gel • Treatments

rated 3.2(37 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Jake54 on 6/12/2013 11:34:00 AM more reviews by Jake54

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Great product. I've been using Paula's BHA gel for years and never purchased her skin lighteners. I have had dark spots from old acne for years and some acne that would just not go away (they were slightly under the skin). This cleared them up! I bought this when she had the tubes on sale, but I'd like to say the tube is really much bigger than I expected and I only use a small amount each night and morning. It has lightened up all the spots I had and the BHA has done a great job healing and disinfecting my skin. Highly recommend.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 historian12 on 1/27/2013 3:08:00 PM more reviews by historian12

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This product just didn't work for me. My red marks just didn't fade, even after going through an entire tube of it. It also didn't seem to exfoliate that well--I was still breaking out on my chin. I was disappointed, because I've liked a lot of Paula's products and the price was very reasonable. I've had much better success with MUAC Skin Bleaching Gel, but it's much more expensive.

The packaging is also very bad. The product is extremely thin and runny. Luckily I followed the advice I had seen posted in some of the reviews on Paula's site. The reviewers suggested leaving the seal on the tube and just poking a small hole in it with a needle--this way you can actually control how much comes out. If you do use this product, I highly recommend following this procedure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 maneater on 4/24/2012 5:58:00 AM more reviews by maneater

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Disappointed with this product, I had high hopes for this ! Did nothing for my skin at all. Even after following the paula's choice regime for 2 months !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LizWords on 11/5/2011 4:01:00 PM more reviews by LizWords

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I was using the alpha hydroxy version of this for a couple months when I switched to this bha version. I'm also using retin-a and I'm transitioning to a higher concentration and the aha version was just making me way too peely, I needed a milder exfoliater, and my skin has been primed for bha anyway (I feel this is important, as when i started using 1% bha i had to go slow or would experience irritation and/or a small increase in breakouts til my skin was used to it).


I think this works great, it was exactly what I wanted. I do have a few gripes about the formula in terms of consistency and how it looks on my skin. This is a gel and it's somewhat thin so it does run out of bottle too easy, it really should be in a pump bottle. Also, I wish it was a lotion formula like the aha version as I could wear that under my makeup during the day and use my retin-a at night, the bha version is not as good at blending into my skin. But I do still use it during the day a couple times a week when I don't have any client appointments or on the weekend.


In terms of ingredients this product is great, it has antioxidants, anti-irritants, and the hydroquinone and exfoliater that you're looking for. Hydroquinone is clinically proven to help lighten skin for MANY people, not all people. If you don't get the results you're looking for, you can try the 4% solution, All Day Chemist offers it very cheap and you don't have to go to a doctor for an expensive prescription if you order from there.


One other thing to note, DO NOT USE THIS IN CONJUNCTION WITH BENZOYL PEROXIDE PRODUCTS. Using hydroquinone with BP can cause skin browning, which is temporary but still unsightly. I honestly don't understand why there aren't warnings on ALL hydroquinone products, it's extremely irresponsible not to let people know, ESPECIALLY with this product as it's meant for acne prone skin and many people with acne prone skin use some form of BP. I do still use BP, I just make sure not to put it on my skin within a day of using hydroquinone. You can supposedly wash your face and then apply it but I honestly don't want to take the risk. Since I only use this product a couple times a week and I use BP probably half a dozen times a month, it isn't really an issue for me. But for someone no a regular BP regimen, this could cause problems.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Mariam123 on 11/5/2011 2:46:00 PM more reviews by Mariam123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product does work, but i hate how the gel never really absorbs into the skin. I would repurchase if it had a gel-cream texture like the Resist hydrator.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bobsy on 8/21/2011 9:17:00 PM more reviews by bobsy

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Broke me out incredibly badly after just a few days I had to stop using it. Not sure which ingredient was the culprit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* emmgill on 3/20/2011 6:27:00 PM more reviews by emmgill

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really really like this product. This seems to work better on my skin than the 2% BHA liquid for breakouts. This also has reduced some small/light freckles that I has around my eye. You can barely see them now. I use this most nights and then put a different treatment over the top- either 10% AHA or a moisturizer of some sort. I really really like this product. I still will try the PCA Pigment Gel with HQ after I finish this tube and compare the two.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Arenal on 11/15/2010 12:55:00 AM more reviews by Arenal

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Did. Not. Work. And I used it religiously morning and evening for several months. It worked a bit on my hands, but was not worth the time or money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 justcallmed on 9/19/2010 12:33:00 PM more reviews by justcallmed

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My biggest complaint with this product is the packaging and how the product itself will run out and you end up using more than you wanted. However, if that's the biggest complaint I have then I'll stick with it and talk about the pros of it.

No, it's not an over night fix, but it's not claimed to be either. It does an amazing job of making my skin soft, smooth, and oil and slick free thanks to the BHA in it. I usually use it at night and have very slowly (after about using it for close to a month, maybe 2 or 3 times a week) started to notice my skin looking more even and some of the sun damage begin to fade. I still have dark spots from years of sun tanning and tanning bed abuse but this is slowly starting to even all of that out and provide my skin with its excellent array of antioxidants.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LaceyH on 9/1/2010 2:30:00 PM more reviews by LaceyH

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

so, i only got this product today and have used it just once, so this is an initial review that will be updated continuously.

price was a bit high (18.95 USD), compared to something i could get at a drugstore with 2% Hydroquinone and Salicylic acid.

smell: not bothersome at all
consistency: good! feels kind of thin goin on, so its easy to spread around, and dries quickly. doesnt leave my skin feelin sticky, unless i apply too much.

will update after a couple weeks, although i know usually a month or so is needed to see results.

UPDATE: after a total of 2 weeks, i can definitely see an inprovement in the lightening of my freckles. yay! also, no new acne now, so the Salicylic acid must be doin its job!

will update again in another couple weeks or so =)

UPDATE 11/5/11: wayyyyy late update, i know! i ended up using this for 2.5 months, and had seen great results! then i switched to PaulasChoice 2% BHA liquid, without the HQ. love that one as well! apparently my skin LOVES her BHA! my friend was interestedin trying it, so i gave her what was left of my tube, probably around 35-40% after the 2.5 months of using it twice daily. that was a while ago, and i loved this stuff so much that i just recently re-bought it :) this time theyve reformulated it, so we'll see how well it works. so far, so good. i notice that it's thicker, so it doesnt come rushing out of the tube as quickly as it did before-- which is a good thing! so far my skin's still loving it :)

UPDATE 2/20/12: still loving this, even with the reformulation. i find that since it's a bit thicker than the previous version, i end up using more, since it doesnt spread as easily. dont get me wrong though, this isnt difficult to spread at all! since this is the only BHA product i've come across that has HQ too, i'll continue to re-buy.

just a PSA: for anyone wanting a higher % of HQ, Nadinola has 3%-- and is only $5-ish at walmart. i've been using it for a wek so far and am loving it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Treatments products