LUSH Catastrophe Cosmetic

3.9

213 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

(Calamine Powder is Zinc Oxide 'with a dash of Iron Oxide'-LUSH website) Ingredients: Calamine Powder, Talc, Irish Moss Gel (Chondrus crispus), Fresh Blueberries (Vaccinium myrtillus), Glycerine, Almond Oil (Prunus dulcis), Rose Absolute (Rosa damascena), Chamomile Oil (Anthemis nobilis), Sweet Orange Oil (Citrus Aurantium dulcis), *Limonene, Perfume, Colour 18050 * Occurs naturally in Essential Oils


on 4/17/2015 9:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I really like this product, but it isn't the perfect mask for me. Its ingredients are fantastic and smell great, and it reminds me a lot of a blueberry smoothie. The calamine and blueberries are a great combination for problematic skin. It's very soothing, especially after it's been chilled in the fridge.

I love the effects of Catastrophe Cosmetic: it makes my skin amazingly soft after rinsing and significantly tightens my pores. However, the product is incredibly drying, and leaves an unpleasant calaminey residue behind. I typically need double my usual amount of moisturizer to offset this dryness. I once made the mistake of forgetting to moisturize after using this mask, and my skin really didn't appreciate it.

This product could be absolutely transformative for someone with very oily skin, serious acne, and many other kinds of skin inflammation or irritation. I could even see it being great for a peeling sunburn! However, this isn't what I'm looking for in a twice-weekly mask. Thankfully Lush carries a variety of masks for a variety of skin types. I might try Brazened Honey or Mask of Magnaminty next.



on 3/18/2015 3:03:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I absolutely LOVE this mask! I have oily/combination/acne prone skin with a lot of acne scars and this mask did wonders. I lightened my scars and left my skin glowing every time. My face felt incredibly soft and clean after using this, and the best part is that is doesn't have any nasty ingredients in it! I also really loved the smell of it; it's made with chamomile and the smell is heavenly. I would re-purchase this a million times! :)


on 3/12/2015 2:52:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I always forget how good this product is so when I use it after a long time I'm surprised. This mask is perfect for nearly all skin types. I have normal/oily skin and this mask brightens & calms it down. It does dry on a little faster than Lush's other masks but is SO much easier when washing off - unlike love lettuce and cupcake that just make a mess. Whenever my skin is breaking out or just needs to calm down this is the mask I pick up and I definitely recommend it. it's always better to use a moisturizer after these masks but definitely use it after this one.


on 3/4/2015 6:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

It calmed and brightned my skin but didn't do anything for my acne.


on 3/3/2015 12:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I really enjoy this mask from Lush and I truly feel that it is my new favorite. I previously have used Cupcake, Ayesha, Mask of Magnaminty, Cosmetic Warrior, and Love Lettuce. To me, this one beats them all.

First off, if you have severe acne or dry skin I would not recommend this mask to you. I have oily skin with some slight redness, which is why I think this mask works so well for me. The calamine in it really makes redness fade and just leaves me with great skin afterwards. You do need to wash it off with a cleanser because it will leave a residue on your skin if you don't. Blueberries have antioxidants which promote great skin as well, and contributes to my liking of this mask. Also, I use my Ocean Salt scrub from Lush before applying this mask, and my skin afterwards is glorious.

I got this one for free because I returned five black pots to Lush, and that is usually how I get face masks from them. I rarely purchase them, but this would be one that I would purchase asap when I'm out.


on 2/23/2015 10:24:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I'll have two parts to this review. How I initially felt when I used it for the first time and then when I finish the entire tub.

Part 1: I used this mask last night and have to say I am quite pleased with it. I've been really disappointed with Lush masks in the past, but this was awesome! It's a really thick mask that is a little hard to spread onto the face. I left it on for about 10 minutes and didn't let it dry completely, then washed it off. It left my skin feeling smooth and toned. I think this helped detoxify my skin too. The only complaint I have is that it left my skin super dry. To the point where it was flaky. Also, it did burn my skin, however I have super sensitive skin where almost every product I use does and there was no real reaction other than some redness, so I'm mostly okay with this. I give this a 4 star upon first reaction and will come back when I finish the jar.

Part 2: I finished the jar and I love this mask even more. My skin seems to have gotten used to it so there is less drying. It still burns, but I'm okay with that. It just leaves your face so bright and fresh, helping reduce pores and decongest the skin. I don't have any real problems on my face and my skin is dry so I can't comment on it's acne/discoloration/oil fighting abilities, but I have faith. I do have to say that the smell is extremely strong, to the point I'll smell it on the towels I patted my face dry with. But all in all it's one of my top masks and I bump my rating up to a 5.


on 2/22/2015 1:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I've used this two times, and will finish up the tub. However, this mask has made the redness on my cheeks worse and ive had pimples pop up. My skin: combo, soft, semi sensitive. But whenever my skin does get irritated, the pimples or cheek redness will go away within a day or two. My face bounces back pretty quickly. Anyone else experience issues w/this mask? Its my first one btw, used a MoM sample on my nose which went fine.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My second favorite Lush mask!

Catastrophe Cosmetic is a creamy blue mask with a faint calamine-blueberry scent. It hardens similar to a clay mask and it does not exfoliate.

For days where I just want to be gentle on my skin I will use this mask. The results are beautiful. My skin comes out soft and radiant, with smaller pores and a matte finish. This mask can be described as gentle and very calming to the skin. The calamine removes any redness which I get on my cheeks. It's A okay in my book!

If you're looking for a mask that brightens and scrubs your face go with Brazened honey.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/3/2015 5:59:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Traditional clay mask. Store in refrigerator.


on 1/14/2015 10:59:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Deep Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried this mask for the first time last night and I love the way it made my skin feel and look. My face was and still is very soft and my pores had the appearance of being smaller (I can't say for sure they are smaller, but it looks like they were definitely tighter). I am hesitant to try new things on my face because I have sensitive skin, but this particular mask did not cause me any adverse effects at all. My skin seemed to have a more radiant appearance after all was said and done, also.

There was a film on my face after I rinsed the mask off that was kind of stubborn to remove, but I just used a bit of my normal face cleanser (yes to carrots) and the rest came right off.

When I woke up this morning, my skin was still extremely smooth and looked more bright than it normally does in the morning. I will definitely keep using this to see how much my skin improves.


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
4201 Reviews
Aspirin Mask
2234 Reviews
Back to Top