Marc Jacobs • Eau De Parfum • Fragrances

rated 4.1(393 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 kayparisfilm on 2/17/2014 12:29:00 AM more reviews by kayparisfilm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I used to love this. Maybe my bottle has gone bad, because all I smell now is synthetic honeysuckle. I love the smell of real honeysuckle, but this is headache inducing now :( 2.5/5 not a bad perfume, just my least favorite of my collection and not one I really reach for. Will have to smell a freshly opened bottle next time I'm at sephora and see if my bottle is bad or if my taste in perfume has just changed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BrigitteBardot on 10/13/2013 9:39:00 PM more reviews by BrigitteBardot

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This smells pretty good, but it's not the best Marc J. perfume imo. I gravitate towards more girlie smells. It's kind of like Lollia Wish, but that has a much cuter bottle.

Also, on the EWG site, this rates a 10 as being hazardous. The site says data on the product is limited, but because 10 is the worst possible score, it's something to consider when deciding on a fragrance imo.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 10/2/2013 10:28:00 PM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

One of the most compositionally seamless scents I've experienced-- up there with Chanel No 5 and Shalimar (but having a vastly more modern and easygoing feel). It really does what it says: it captures the buttery-perfect freshness of a gardenia floating in water, with none of the cloying or indolic turns so many white florals take. It's breathtaking in its balance of green/aquatic notes with the almost nutty and suede-like scent of a deeply ripe blossom.

This is some damn sexy stuff if you ask me. But I am the kind of person who finds that clean = sexy. I have a visceral "yuck" response to fragrances with heavy, ponderous florals and spices. Perhaps it's that my chemistry can bring out funky, bathroom-y undertones in certain scents. Marc Jacobs is blessedly devoid of such detours. It's pure pleasure-- fresh
gardenia petals strewn across fine Italian suede in an immaculately appointed spa. (And that feels very sexy!) When I wear it, I feel complemented by it but never , overpowered. It fits the online: hypnotic yet discreet, intoxicating yet subtle. One of my all-time faves-- and even though I'm kind of hippie-dippie and not much into tailored clothes, I viscerally just love the square bottle with the black bow :)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 girlraven on 5/22/2013 7:12:00 AM more reviews by girlraven

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

It smells lovely at the start but then just does down to a typical soap standard perfume smell. I don't find any of marc Jacobs perfume very ' great'

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kysyona on 5/1/2013 11:56:00 AM more reviews by Kysyona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love the bottle, but the scent is non-existent on me. It starts with fireworks of synthetic florals and ends in an average soap smell - as if I have just been to the shower. Now for this I am not prepared to pay THAT price! I am pretty confident that my tricky chemistry has had a hand in the fiasco, and even the soap effect didn't see its second hour evaporating into some invisible perfume-sucking void while I was still in the store.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sarah4250 on 3/13/2013 7:18:00 PM more reviews by sarah4250

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is a somewhat aquatic floral to me, but I find it too synthetic smelling. It's pleasant but not worth purchasing in my opinion. I prefer Daisy to this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vickster524 on 3/11/2013 12:26:00 PM more reviews by vickster524

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is my go to perfume for everyday, I have others but I always come back to this....It's light, floral, clean, I love this. It makes me feel pretty when I wear it and I ALWAYS have someone ask me what I am wearing and that they love it..... If you like Strong Perfumes and Woodsy scents you won't like this, But if you like light floral notes and just clean scents you should give this a try...A little goes a long way and I can't say enough great things about it, been using it for 8 years now and when I run out I go re-purchase!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Samigfb on 10/25/2012 11:36:00 AM more reviews by Samigfb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This has been my go-to perfume for years. The top note is gardenia, which gives a beautiful floral scent. The dry-down contains notes of ginger, cedar and musk. I am very sensitive to smells and this perfume initially presents as very strong and headache-inducing, but I have never had a problem with it. It wears well and has a lasting scent. It is desribed as a "classic, feminine and elegant" and that is exactly how I would describe it.

I usually wear this for work and when going out in the evening, although in more recent years it has become more of a fall/winter scent for me as it is a bit strong and I perfer a lighter scent in the warmer months.

Two major PROs for this perfume: 1. Many people gravitate towards Marc Jacbos newer scents such as Daisy and overlook this original, classic making it somewhat of a unique scent. I do not know anyone who wears this. 2. Men looooooove this perfume.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deuxbisous on 9/25/2012 8:55:00 AM more reviews by deuxbisous

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I wear this one a lot in all seasons and all situations. It's not the only fragrance I own or wear, but it's definitely much loved. Full-on longevity is about 6-8 hours. The far dry-down is still there, and you can smell it faintly on fabric the day after, but for the whole shimmering impressionistic gardenia effect, a top-up is needed if you're going to go from day to evening with it, which is no bad thing in my book as I get to smell the amazing opening more often. After that 'ta-dah!' blast of gardenia, it quiets down within 30 minutes and wears as a more polite floral with a 1950s sort of vibe to it, for me at least. I don't know what it is, that stuff that smells sort of sparkling, like L'Air du Temps even though the actual smell is not the same - like air charged with electricity before a storm - more of a feeling than a smell. But as for the smell it's a little green, a little fresh, a little musky, I can sort of catch a glimpse of something like FM's Angeliques Sous La Pluie in it every so often... overall just very, very pretty. When I wear it with jeans, it feels like a casual beachy sort of scent, and when I'm making more of an effort in the clothing and make-up departments, it feels classy and tailored. I love it, and I hope they keep making it, and don't *expletive* with the formula! It feels like a future classic.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hikari001 on 9/11/2012 7:03:00 PM more reviews by hikari001

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

To start with, I like to use just one perfume for every occasion so it becomes my trademark, and my type would be a fresh smelling perfume because I can't stand sweet ones. I haven't been able to find the right one for years even tho I've tried hundreds, literally hundreds of perfumes. L'eau D'issey by Issey Miyake came close to becoming my favorite but the smell was too strong for my liking. One day after work, my co-worker told me about this Marc Jacobs perfume that she really like but couldn't get her hands on because it's kinda rare. When I tried it the first time, I knew it was 'the one' straightaway. The scent was just so fresh and elegant and it has that sharp floral smell that I love. It was just the right concentration so wasn't too strong or too light. After so many years, this perfume ends my search for my HG perfume.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Marc Jacobs products

More Fragrances products