DHC Alpha-Arbutin White Mask

3.4

14 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

water, butylene glycol, glycerin, pentylene glycol, sodium PCA, phenoxyethanol, morus alba root extract, alpha-arbutin, sodium citrate, sodium hyaluronate, 1-methylhydantoin-2-imide, serine, citric acid, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, acetyl tyrosine, paeonia suffruticosa root extract, pueraria lobata root extract 6/8/09


on 3/17/2013 1:43:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The mask is relatively dry compares to CoQ10 mask, which is very hydrating. I would rather spend a few more dollars to get CoQ10 masks than this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/19/2010 12:33:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I will never be without these. This mask does more to hydrate my extremely dry skin than any gel or cream mask I've tried, and after one use my skin is not only hydrated, but it's noticeably lighter and brighter. It's like putting a wet cloth on your face -- the masks are nice and moist and do not dry out even after 30 minutes. The product feels like water and it's extremely gentle and non-irritating.

Since they're paper, you have to lay down, but that's not a bad thing since it forces you to relax like you would if you were having a professional treatment -- and relaxing is a beauty treatment of its own. I use these while taking a bath and reading a magazine, and I usually keep it on for 30 minutes. They are also great for travel -- just throw a packet in your bag to help undo the damage from flying and the stress of time changes.

When I have time, I like to use this right after a home microdermabrasion treatment. (I use Clinician's Complex Microdermabrasion Cream and a Clarisonic brush.) A lot of products would irritate my skin after microdermabrasion, but these masks are super gentle. After 20 - 30 minutes, I wipe my face, neck, and chest w/ the still-wet mask, put on DHC's Water Base moisturizer, which I use as a serum for added hydration, and then I pat on some olive oil, and my skin is soft and smooth and bright, and there's no reaction or sensitivity.


on 7/1/2008 2:12:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Size of the mask is too big and doesn't fit well. It dries up rather quickly. Did not see any brightening effect after use, unlike the effect I see whenever I use SKII whitening mask,but then there are great differences in price between these two products. I probably won't buy this again. Would rather try out other paper mask.


on 6/30/2008 3:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this product. Made my skin look lovely and even in 20 minutes.... can't complain about that can I!?


on 5/23/2008 7:17:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i like this sheet mask as it doesn't come drooping wet and it is also really easy to put on the face. it also has only a very mild fragrance which is not overpowering and doesn't make my eyes water. however, i think i will have to use more sheets before i can see results though.


on 9/28/2007 7:46:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have to wonder whose faces the product designers of these product-soaked paper masks had in mind when they created the template! If you stretch it out flat, it looks like it would best fit some sort of alien humanoid. Needless to say, it doesn't really fit my face - it won't like flat on my upper nose and doesn't cover the sides of my forehead or temples at all (where, unfortunately, much of my uneven pigmentation is), and I have to lie down while I have it on or it simply falls off. I haven't noticed much of a difference using this mask regularly, but even if I did, the fact that alpha-arbutin is derived from hydroquinone is enough to give me pause. Most of the backlash against hydroquinone is simply hysterical and Chicken Little-esque, but I'd like to see more research getting a bit more specific about how much is "too much" before getting serious about skin lightening with hydroquinone or arbutin products.


on 2/10/2007 6:40:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't think this did anything for me. But you can't beat the price, and it feels nice.


on 1/4/2007 7:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Pretty disappointing. I really wanted to try the DHC Alpha Arbutin line because I'd tried the famous White sunscreen before - although it broke me out due to the silicone, it really whitened my skin and made it almost luminous - just using the sunscreen alone. I figured it might be the alpha arbutin that was making the difference but guess I figured wrong. Before this I tried the Olay whitening mask but due to the MAP in it, my skin got irritated. Since the Vit C in this was further down along the ingredients list, I thought it might be ok. It didn't irritate me as much as the Olay, but it still did a little. It hydrated and moisturized pretty ok, but the major disappointment was that there was practically no visible whitening effect. I'm quite surprised because in general, Asian sheet masks, even the normal non-whitening masks, always have a temporary whitening/brightening effect, but this is the exception. At least it wasn't too expensive.


on 12/20/2006 4:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Everytime I re-order from DHC I restock these. They work great!!!! Im so addicted to these paper masks. I usually use them when my face feels extra dry...or Im stressed out which is often! lol..but I will say Im very pleased with the moisture and the after glow you get when you use these. One night my boyfriend was laughing at me when I had it on my face but then when I came out of the bathroom he said hey your face looks like its glowing..seriously! He's not the type of guy that would just say something so now once a week I put one on him! You have to buy these I recommend them highly. Also if you have freckles they will be lightened by this product!


on 12/12/2006 10:29:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use an Alpha-Arbutin Mask once a week and I like them! The paper is soft, not scratchy, though you do have to sit still or it will fall off. It would be nice if the paper was thicker. My face is definitely brighter since using the Alpha-Arbutin line, and the mask is a nice booster.


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
4215 Reviews
Back to Top