Paul Mitchell • Super Skinny Serum • Styling Products

rated 4.4(675 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeagleLab on 4/14/2014 10:39:00 AM more reviews by BeagleLab

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I found this in the bottom or my product drawer, a miracle since there are so many unused products. :) This is the only serum that will help to straigthen my wavy bangs. I purchased the small size and will return to get the bigger one. I have a POB haircut and it also helps with the ends. I just wish it had a thermal protectant in it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Empyrean_Luminary on 4/12/2014 9:35:00 PM more reviews by Empyrean_Luminary

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Holy grail hair product! Worth the price, lives up to the hype! Use this for sleek, smooth, glistening, soft hair with a lovely fruity sweet (but not overpowering) scent. Can use wet or dry for equally awesome results and it lasts forever because you only need a pump or two.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MsLovelyC on 3/24/2014 11:40:00 AM more reviews by MsLovelyC

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Smells great and works best when applied to wet hair. Kind of gets and feels oily overnight though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 harrisonfjord on 3/11/2014 11:55:00 PM more reviews by harrisonfjord

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG styling product. I have long, wavy hair that tends to frizz. I live in a humid climate which definitely does not do my hair any favors. I have consistently used this product since I was 19 and I will continue to do so. It cuts my drying time in half, which is a feat in and of itself since I do not own a nice hairdryer and my hair holds tons of water. It also double duties and smoothes my hair and fixes my split ends. The scent is very fresh and clean. I like that the bottle also is clear and has a pump so it is easy to dispense and you can see how much product you have left. The only downside is that its not a travel friendly bottle, but that problem is easily solved using separate travel containers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SEJR16 on 3/2/2014 2:16:00 AM more reviews by SEJR16

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

My HG smoothing serum! Have used this product for years now. The smell of this is absolutely amazing. You can use this product on dry or wet hair, I use it on both. I put two pumps through my hair when it is wet after I get out of the shower, and if I am blow-drying will put one more pump throughout my hair to smooth out frizz once my hair is dry. Makes hair smell great, makes hair super shiny and very soft. A great product. It is a professional salon product, so it is on the pricier side. However, it is worth every penny and definitely splurge worthy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 klc1281 on 2/23/2014 7:54:00 PM more reviews by klc1281

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

So last year I was at my friends house and she was straightening my hair, and she used this, after straightening my hair, it was soooo soft, I remember going to school and people complementing me about how soft my hair was. So later on I got the product, and used it basically ever time I styled my hair, and it made my hair look shiny and soft, and I have really damaged dry hair! I love this product so much, it is about $18 where I buy it, I go to any salon near my house and they may cell it at cvs! It is amazing

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* outdoorsgal on 1/16/2014 1:16:00 AM more reviews by outdoorsgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

In my ongoing quest for sleek, smooth, shiny hair, I got the Super Skinny Serum after reading the reviews here and from the recommendation of the sales people at the hair care boutique where I buy my hair goodies.
The price tag is pretty hefty considering the amount of product but this is supposed to be justified because you only need a tiny bit of the serum. (my overall rating would be 4.5 lipsticks) With the Super Skinny Serum, this is true; I need just a tiny dollop for my long, layered hair. (my hair is about 3-4 inches past my shoulders and colour treated)
I don't use it as a heat protectant so I can't rate how well it performs in that area. It does leave my hair feeling smooth and silky and tames the flyaways after blow drying or flat ironing. (my main use for it)
A little goes a long way otherwise it can make your hair look greasy if you use too much.

The smell is a bit strong but not unpleasant and dissipates shortly. The texture is similar to other serums I've tried (Garnier Fructis and L'Oreal) but this one seems a bit lighter, for me anyways.

As always, I'm on the lookout for a cheaper alternative but in the meantime, this one is just perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gkimmy91 on 1/16/2014 1:03:00 AM more reviews by Gkimmy91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is some pretty good stuff. I've had the 4 oz bottle for about a year and half and it's barely halfway done. I use it every time I wash my hair, about 3-4 times a week, and sometimes when my hair gets a bit frizzy. There are cheaper serums on the market but I haven't been able to find a better one for a lesser price. I have long thick wavy hair and it works for me great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 1/15/2014 10:43:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this for a long long time until I found other ones that are far cheaper and work better for my hair personally. This is great stuff, but it isn't the best. I found the John Frieda one much better and personally I think this stuff is way overpriced. If it was in the Frieda range I would say 5 lippies, but no.

I expect more from something of this cost, nearly $20. I love Frieda's and Organix glass serums, they do the exact same thing but better IMO. Also cost 3 times less. I have very very thick, curly/wavy, coarse, and long hair. I need something that seriously works and this stuff just didn't hold up to the others. Save your money and go for the John Frieda one or the Organix Glass serums.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Customer123 on 1/15/2014 9:18:00 PM more reviews by Customer123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Honestly this RUINED my beautiful curly hair... All of my curls r GONE now and I just have PUFFY HAIR.. I recommend u DONTEVERBUY this product it SUCKS and it's not worth ur money and now. Y hair is ruined and I don't even know what to do about it :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paul Mitchell products

More Styling Products products