MAC • Sheertone Shimmer Blush in Plum Foolery • Blush

rated 4.4(138 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 PaintInkChick on 2/26/2014 11:53:00 PM more reviews by PaintInkChick

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is such a beautiful blush. And its actually my second fave Mac blush,sigh...yes I've hit pan on this one too. When the mua suggested it for me, I was kinda like " Plum?" But on brown skin its so pretty. It's not not much a plum like a dark berry,pinkish (go check it out & swatch). It's very buildable as well. I also luv the sheertone shimmer and the fact that their not too glittery or chunky & blend well. This is one of those colors I wear year round & is one of my go too's as it goes with all my lipglasses. I'm NC 45-50.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 georgiehigsons on 3/4/2013 10:57:00 AM more reviews by georgiehigsons

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product

I use it on a daily basis and even though it's quite a dark blush, it still looks good on a medium skin tone, like mine.

This is a very nice colour and it gives of a healthy shine.

I would reccomend it to people in summer and people who have medium skin tone
x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 surfinjan on 3/4/2013 3:36:00 AM more reviews by surfinjan

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I can't tell you how long ago I first purchased this blush. It's a mainstay. Why? Because it really pops on my skin.

It's a plummy blush with a touch of pink and a touch of shimmer. It appears a slight bit more shimmery in the pan than on my skin (NC40/42). I do think this color works best on tawny, olive and tan skin tones.

Plum Foolery can serve as an office or evening blush. It can do dual duty, and is feminine. However, fads change over the years, and plum/pink blushes do not appear as "in" this year as when I first purchased this. I use it with neutral eye makeup, with black or camel colored clothes, or around the holidays when wearing deeper berry tones with simple eye-makeup. It is probably too heavy to pair with a smoky eye look. The only issue with this blush is it's staying power. It only last about 3 hours before I need to reapply. But the color is wonderful.

Finish/texture: Plum-Foolery goes on the skin like a normal MAC blush. However, it is quite pigmented so begin with a light hand and build. It is slightly shimmery. The finish is more than a shine but still wearable in an office. It looks best at night.

Staying Power: I would say it begins fading after 6 hours of use (with primer).

Overall impression: Even as I begin to see signs of aging that include enlarged pores and dark spots, this blush works better than most on me. There will come a day when I will no longer be able to wear it as I tend to be getting paler over the years. But for now, I am enjoying it as much now as when I first purchased it ages ago.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 monroebrooklyn81 on 2/27/2013 12:42:00 AM more reviews by monroebrooklyn81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this color!!! I actually need a new one, it is a pretty plummy,pinky ish color with shimmer and I love shimmer!!! will buy again for sure:) Thanks MAC for making my favorite blushes ever!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IamJasmine on 1/9/2013 5:32:00 AM more reviews by IamJasmine

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am VERY pale, with just a little bit of freckles on my cheeks, blue eyes and dark brown hair. I wanted a blush for winter, and this is PERFECT. It doesn't not look purple or muddy at all on my skin. It is a beautiful wintery-pink when used with a light hand. It is very pigmented, so it is necessary to use a light hand and blend out if needed. I would definitely buy this over and over again, and I suggest it to anyone who is willing to try it!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 RoseJade on 11/24/2012 4:03:00 PM more reviews by RoseJade

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I somehow canít fully bring myself to coming on here and saying how bad this is since I did enjoy this for the most part for like 2+ years so I donít think Itíd be fair to say itís horrible but I can say Iíve found way better. I donít think the color exactly suits me and itís too powder for my liking. I like more of a natural looking blush and this is for a darker more dramatic look. My mother and grandma who have tried MAC blushes arenít happy with their purchase. They both think itís too powdery and overpriced for what it actually is. My mother loves her Chanel blush which I think is amazing..I know because (ssh) Iíve tried it and loved it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sunnydelite62901 on 9/11/2012 3:15:00 AM more reviews by Sunnydelite62901

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I would buy it again and have. I have Nars blushes, Cargo, many Mac blushes and Bobbi Brown and Iman I have hit the pan with this before. Now I am using more my Iman bronzer trio, as I have been into peaches lately but it's so pretty on tan skin, a nice flush. I am Mac Nc40-42 MUFE 140 or Bobbi Brown 4.5 for reference.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mikxoh on 7/16/2012 7:15:00 PM more reviews by mikxoh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This blush gives me more of a mature look. My usual everyday blush is springsheen but if I need to look a bit more formal/serious and want some color on my face this blush does the trick. I donít think Iíll ever run out of it since thereís so much product in the pan and itís pretty pigmented.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 2ksmom on 7/2/2012 10:18:00 AM more reviews by 2ksmom

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Iím afraid this color just didnít work for me. I normally love plum anything (reddish-plum, purplish-plum, brownish-plum, they all usually work for me as long as they donít lean too warm or cool either way). Unfortunately, this doesnít strike me as plum. In the pan and on my cheeks, this looks to be a warm reddish pink, with a coppery sheen. The color itself is okay, its just the coppery shimmer that looks very unnatural on me. As with all MAC blushes Iíve used, the pigmentation is very good, and I only need to lightly touch my brush to the pan to pick up enough color. The texture in the pan appears a bit Ďchunkyí yet it goes on easily and smoothly. It could just be from use, as I received in swap and did not purchase new. The staying power is good, lasting 8-10 hours with minimal fading. Iíve experimented with this with various color palettes in warm and neutral tones, but it just doesnít ever look right on me. I canít really fault the product itself just because the color is wrong for me. Iíd recommend this for warmer skin tones. Iíd suggest trying before buying if at all possible though, because pictures and shade descriptions didnít really give me an accurate representation of how this shade actually appeared.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 1/17/2012 9:39:00 AM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got Plum Foolery in the Hark the Heraldry LE packaging from Tartan Tales which included a beauty powder and Dame Blush. The packaging was clever and included a mirror (unlike MAC's standard blush packaging). The mirror was a nice touch and the packaging was both clever and at the same time, a bit tricky to use (hard to pick up just the one blush without my brush spilling over into the next pan).

Plum Foolery was the real hit in this trio. It's a sheertone shimmer, which is such a pretty finish in my opinion. And this is a great shade for me - a lovely crushed berry sort of plum (rather than purple-plum). It shows up beautifully, blends seamlessly and lasts all day without fading. I wouldn't hesitate to repurchase this on its own.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Blush products