MAC • Brick-O-La • Lipstick

rated 4.4(57 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 nix19 on 1/2/2014 5:50:00 AM more reviews by nix19

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When I tried out Brick-o-La in the Mac store I really really loved it. But when I got it as a gift from my aunt, I dunno...I expected a berry shade and it's like a dull red to me. Not what I hoped for..was expecting a deep shade of berry mauve red

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissKris1101 on 12/7/2013 9:43:00 PM more reviews by MissKris1101

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm MAC lipstick obsessed and I love this color for fall and winter as it is bee wearable and not too harsh. It brightens up my face so much and is so comfortable to wear. I love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missbioniclegs on 11/14/2013 6:36:00 PM more reviews by missbioniclegs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This colour is beautiful, had it for ages now and thought it deserved a review.

You can do 1 layer and it's very very wearable, it's sort of like a dark berry red, I can see some brick and brown tones in there. You can also build it up into a darker look and the berry tones are stronger.

The texture is very nice and comfortable, not too drying.

Also if you're trying to experiment with darker lip colours but feel a bit nervous I would recommend this one, I have thin lips and was scared to try anything even a little bit dark, not saying this is really dark but it's darker than any other reds I try but it looks gorgeous. :)

It's just a beautiful colour, I don't think I've seen a red like it. Really love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Babel9 on 10/23/2013 2:41:00 AM more reviews by Babel9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Don't let the name scare you, MAC Brick o la is actually very wearable and not brick at all. It's quite the chameleon though, and never looks quite the same from person to person. A healthy mix of berry, red and brown, it always manage to look lovely on every skin tone.

It's also creamy and moisturizing, and a very good color for fall. As all amplifieds, it's very buildable and you can use it as a stain, just to get a slightly berry tint, or full on to great effect.

My second all time favorites by MAC.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 catmj on 8/19/2013 7:56:00 PM more reviews by catmj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love the neutral berry color, it's really pigmented, and just glides on your lips. There's a little sheen, but it's not super glossy gloss. For me, the formula is moisturizing. I think this color is universally flattering-- I am blonde and blue eyed, and I have pale black-hair friends and mocha skinned friends who have this shade and really rocked it. And let's be honest-- drugstore lipsticks are now nearly 10 bucks. Why not just spend another 5 to get MAC?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HeyKatj on 8/11/2013 12:13:00 PM more reviews by HeyKatj

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely amazing lipstick! This is one of those lipstick that works even when you have lighter skin or if you just got back from vacation and got tan. It is also very easy to work with. Like if you want just a wash of colour, you can just dab it to your lips. Or if you're feeling bold and feisty than you can go full on with this lipstick. Price wise, it is expensive, however it is Mac's and it is very wearable. Although I actually got it for $1.5! How crazy is that? I got it in Singapore's Airport for a transit, and since I was riding on Singapore Airlines they gave me a $20 (sing) voucher... so you can already guess what I used it for :D

I actually wrote a more thorough review (with swatches) about it in my blog:
http://heykatj.blogspot.com/2013/03/current-obsession-mac-lipstick.html

I hope that it helps :)
xx

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jbbendt on 7/31/2013 6:17:00 PM more reviews by jbbendt

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this from a swap, put it on once, and I'm already reviewing it because I think I just got my HG fall/winter lippie. It's the most absolutely gorgeous rich rose red with a small hint of berry pink and brown undertones. NC35-40 for reference. It compliments my skin so well, and I know I will be able to wear this every day and look glamorous and put together without having to go for the shocking bright reds (which I am not comfortable wearing out), and it's not too dark that it would not be office appropriate.

I have a feeling I'll be purchasing many of these from mac in the years to come.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aprilg23 on 7/10/2013 10:43:00 PM more reviews by aprilg23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Brick o la is one of my all time favourite lipsticks. The formula is Amplified, sometimes I find these very drying but Brick o la is super creamy and moisturising. The shade is a flattering, lovely wearable muted terracotta red, perfect for everyday. The pigmentation and quality is incredible. I think Brick o la would work well for a wide range of skintones. Definitely a must have colour from MAC.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* channingto on 5/14/2013 9:56:00 PM more reviews by channingto

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Black    

What a gorgeous shade! Not so much brick as others have mentioned, but it pulls more red than berry on me. It's like a medium red with a hint of berry. I never feel comfortable wearing dark lipsticks and this isn't SO dark but it is still out of my comfort zone. But with that, I love this lipstick! I'm not scared to wear it and I love the amplified finish. Goes on smoothly and opaque. So glad I picked this up! I think this is a good transition shade for girls like me that are weary of wearing red/darker lip colors.

NC30 yellow undertones, pigmented mauve lips

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pinkqt on 4/24/2013 8:35:00 PM more reviews by Pinkqt

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is the most beautiful one of Mac's best lipsticks IMO. It's quite the complies shade. On the lips, it's a very pigmented, rich rosy shade with hints of warm pink, red and a little brown. It's definitely a colour you could wear on an everyday basis if you at NC/W 30 or up. It's a really nice fall colour because its very rich and not light or summery. I can imagine it would show up more red on fairer people with cooler skin tones because its just one of those colours that looks different on different skin tones. It's an amplified cream finish which means its super opaque and glossy too. My favourite finish a long with satin! First two applications make it look satiny but then it becomes nice and creamy. The vanilla scent won't last which is my only complaint but it really doesn't matter. As long as it doesn't smell like old crayons like my mattes do... Anyway, currently my favourite lipstick and I definitely recommend this shade to everyone

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products