No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Honey • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.4(602 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Steelermummeh on 12/9/2014 9:56:00 PM more reviews by Steelermummeh

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

At first, every time I made a mush mask (that's what we call it), my skin started to sting within about 20 seconds.

I did my research and discovered that a minor stinging sensation is actually to be expected and as long as you do this no more than three times per week it will dissipate over time.

I learned a few things though.

Doggies will not eat mushed bananas
Doggies will not eat honey
Doggies will not eat coconut oil

Doggies will, however, eat the mushed goop. When it's on your face

I'm giving this 5 lippies because raw honey has a gazillion benefits and it really does have some fantastic results.

Oh, and our doggie said "Mummeh I can haz honey burger plz". Bless her.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Shopah0lic21 on 12/7/2014 8:09:00 PM more reviews by Shopah0lic21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Natural honey has such great benefits along with healing, moisturizing, and antibacterial properties. I eat it with tea or by itself, I use it when my throat is soar, I use it in my diy hair mask weekly, and I use it on my skin as a spot treatment during that time of the month! It really is a super food and it's effective, and cheap. It always gives my hair and skin such great results! Honey is a must in my house<3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 acciohashi on 12/7/2014 9:11:00 AM more reviews by acciohashi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I love me some raw honey for the taste and health benefits.

Applied, topically, I use it as a mask. I usually mix it with other things like green tea, oatmeal, gingko extract, and egg white(so it adheres to skin better and stays there).

When my skin is freaking out and red, it really helps calms it down. I also use it when my acne is particularly painful. It has anti-inflammatory properties, and acne is an inflammatory disorder so this helps to tone it down. It also has antioxidant properties, so it shields my skin against things in my environment I have no control over.

I use this primarily at night since I don't want to worry about SPF.

I use this on days I wear no makeup, I have time to kill, and I don't care who sees me, since this can create a sticky mess of things. It's a great idea for a sleepover to make some homemade masks, and use them while we're doing each others hair. It is sticky so it'll stick to hair if you're not careful. Sometimes, I put tissue paper on top to help it stay put where I want it.

The more time you use it, the more effective it becomes.

If you leave a giant batch out in the open for more than a day, it'll lose it's effectiveness so less is more.

When I take it off, my skin looks less red and smoother and is softer to the touch.

By no means is it a miracle cure, but it works pretty well and it's cheap.

Dark honey is especially effective.

It's also great for lip balm(if you can resist licking) and especially good for cold sores. It helps in wound healing and my cold sores go away much quicker using some of this at night, of course in conjunction to some topical treatments.

If you're making your own line of skin care products, consider using some of this in the products, particularly lip balms or mixed with clay in masks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Clxer on 12/7/2014 8:17:00 AM more reviews by Clxer

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the 'base mask' that I add my honey to:

Oatmeal : two teaspoons (Any oatmeal is fine, be it instant or just the normal ones)
Yogurt : one and a half to two teaspoons

It is as simple as that. Although simple and basic as it is, this humble mask will instantly brighten, whiten and reduce redness on your skin. It soothes any irritation and leaves your skin feeling so smooth after.

How I customise my mask to cater to my skin's needs:

1. Honey

Great for : it's moisturising, anti-bacterial, anti-inflammatory and anti-oxidant abilities

Honey has a great moisturising ability and can significantly prolong the time the mask stays moist. The longer the mask stays moist on the skin, the more your skin absorbs.

It is also anti-inflammatory and anti-bacterial. Honey also has anti-oxidants in it. It is said that the darker the honey, the better the anti-bacterial and anti-oxidant properties of the honey. In my picture I used Manuka honey, but I found that the more affordable honey works just as well.

Directions: add half a teaspoon of honey to base mixture

To read on about how oatmeal, yogurt helps your skin, or how I customise my masks with tumeric, coffee or lemon read:
http://claudlyy.blogspot.com/2014/12/how-to-instantly-brighten-whiten-reduce.html

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Salszz on 11/4/2014 11:49:00 AM more reviews by Salszz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

omg.. I am in shock by how fast you see results. My skin is very dry and usually all clear, but i have been battling some hormonal acne recently and decided to leave this on for 30 minutes for a few days in a row. First day the breakouts around my chin was almost invisible, and old acne marks reduced. My skin just keeps getting better and better with this. I cant believe i havent tried this out sooner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dv_27 on 11/2/2014 9:48:00 AM more reviews by dv_27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Never again will I buy store bought masks ever again. Lush's banana mask messed up my skin like hell plus made my skin super dry. I have normal skin prone to breakouts/redness in the chin area. I have used natural honey, manuka honey and have yet to use raw honey. There so many ways to experiment with honey and here are my ways...
1. Apply plain honey on wet skin and let it dry and wash off.
2. Mix honey and sugar and use it as a scrub.
3. Mix honey and 2 tablespoons of milk and apply to clean skin.
4. Mix honey, yogurt, besan(chickpea flour available in Indian grocery stores) and very little turmeric and apply to cleansed skin like a mask and wash off after 20 mins for glowing skin. Besan acts as a thickening agent and as a scrub once the mask hardens. Hope this review helps and as always patch test to see if you are allergic to any ingredients.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JulieTaboulli on 10/26/2014 8:07:00 PM more reviews by JulieTaboulli

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is literally my go to fix for everything that goes wrong with my face. Ever.

I started using it in different DIY products, but found it was the product that was doing the most good, so I just use it by itself now (better than avocado, milk, egg yolk)..

My face is combination/dry - it gets very flaky around my chin and nostril area, depending upon the weather -- when I notice this happening, I always do a quick 10min mask of plain ol' honey, and it hydrates and clears that right up.

Additionally, I have LARGE sebaceous filaments on my nose that stick OUT of my nose, get very oily and shiny when I try to moisturize, but will flake and get irritated when I don't moisturize enough. The 10 min honey mask calms this down very well, leaves me skin feeling soft, and does not make it oily and shiny.

I also use honey as a spot treatment when I get pimples -- because it has antibacterial properties, it shrinks my large whiteheads and reduces redness (I'd say it typically shrinks them by a third - faster than anything else I've never used) -- and doesn't dry it out too badly.

Just as a quick afterthought - my lips are allergic to beeswax, so I typically avoid getting any on my lips. If I do, it feels a little funky, but I've never noticed any breakouts.

It's not too sticky when I use it (sticky things really bother me), but as long as I pin my hair back, it's good to go and easy to wash off. I actually sort of like it when my old honey starts to harden in the bottle - it exfoliates some, so I've found a use for my old honey!

This is definitely my go-to product for everything - which is funny, because the household product definitely works better than every expensive facial care item I own.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kmichael on 9/9/2014 10:34:00 PM more reviews by kmichael

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I've spent probably thousands of dollars on facial masks and I keep coming back to the cheap and effective mixtures of oatmeal + honey for irritated skin and honey + sugar or oatmeal + ACV for skin in need of gentle exfoliation. Or just honey by itself if I need to clear up a breakout or a dry patch and I'm feeling lazy. One of these days I'll learn to stop blowing money on mediocre products (coughFreshSugarFacePolishcough) and just stick to homemade honey masks.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LaurynCeleste on 9/7/2014 2:07:00 PM more reviews by LaurynCeleste

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Honey has been amazing! I am fifteen and have been experiencing acne. I have tried many cleansers for my acne prone oily skin. Nothing has really worked. They only dried my skin and caused more oil. I even tried the oil cleansing method which was a fail. When I came across the honey cleansing method I thought it was perfect for me because it was gentle and for all skin types. I was desperate for a new change. I tried it and after a week my skin has changed drastically. It does not work over night so it takes about a week. Within that week almost all pimples were gone and my skin was softer, moisturized and clearer. I do not use a moisturizer. I'm glad I tried this product and I will continue to use it. Leave it on for 10 minutes in the morning and before bed. I hope the best for all. :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RedLipstickPout on 9/4/2014 5:46:00 AM more reviews by RedLipstickPout

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love using Honey on my face. Its a natural product that has natural antibacterial properties and leaves skin feeling so soft. I don't bother buying expensive man made products containing Honey when I can just buy the natural product itself.

I like to put honey on my face, I get the squeezy bottles for less mess, and just put a thin layer all over my face, not too much or it will drip off. I leave it on for as long as I have time, sometimes 5 mins, sometimes 30 mins, depends how much time I have, sometimes I just spend 2 mins gently rubbing it into my face. Rinse off with water, it dissolves instantly on contact with water, and pat my face dry with a towel. Wow, skin feels so soft and smooth. I never get spots anymore. Cannot recommend using honey enough!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Treatments (Face) products