MAC Russian Red

4.6

635 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/30/2015 11:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought Russian Red because I wanted a fancy red lipstick and this has stellar reviews. The first time I wore this, it was in the middle of the Canadian winter so my lips were constantly chapped. (Blistex medex is my saving grace.) I loved the colour but the matte formula became unbearable after a few hours so I tossed it in the abandoned lippie basket and forgot about it until last week. I wore it with Milani's true red lip liner underneath and applied little bit of Blistex with a lip brush to the center of my lips. I applied it around one and kept checking in the mirror throughout the day and it did not budge at all. I drank plenty of water and ate dinner and it was still perfect. I don't know what kind of magical combination the two are but I am in love. I came home at ten and used a cleansing oil to remove it. I'll definitely try to get a few more uses before winter time. For reference, I'm NC30 with brown eyes and black hair. Fair warning - this is a cool toned red that will garner a lot of attention! ;)



on 7/29/2015 6:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this red. It's that classic red lipstick that looks good on virtually everyone. My only (mild) complaint is that because it's a matte, it's very drying on my lips - but the MAC lipstick primer totally fixes that problem. I never use my Russian Red without it. I get compliments on this shade whenever I wear it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/26/2015 11:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

***Look for my picture wearing Russian Red lipstick.

I am Asian, with a skin tone ranging from nc25-nc30. I love this lipstick. It is matte but does not dry out my lips at all! It goes on opaque and smooth. I always apply on top of a lipliner and find that it does not bleed easily. It stays on for a long time, except if I eat, then I have to reapply. I need to wear this more often!


on 7/12/2015 9:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is my go to Matte Red, it is amazing. I went into MAC to get Ruby Woo because it looks so good but as soon as I swatched it on my hand I changed my mind, Even on my hand it was super dry and I don't think that would be comfortable on my lips, but enough of that. Russian Red Looks beautiful and makes your teeth look a lot whiter. It smells fantastic and goes onto the lips with ease. My only issue with it is that its not transfer proof. I doesn't move on my lips at all but for the first few hours I wear it, if I drink or eat you can see the stain it leaves on the cup etc. After a few hours it is a lot better. I find it removes easily but it also very long wearing. I will buy this again and again. I don't find this product drying at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/7/2015 6:09:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

One of my favourite red lipsticks and I have lots! In fact, this was the first ever 'proper red' I ever wore and years later it is still an essential in my make up bag. It is a lovely blue based red that looks polished yet very modern. It has a matte texture, but isn't too drying. It feels very comfortable on the lips and is long lasting. I do have to touch up between meals and drinking, as you would expect. Overall though, it lasts for hours with minimal fading. It never fails to liven up my face and I wear it during the day and also turn to it for evening make up too. It really is a very versatile red and will suit most skin tones.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

o my gaaaaaahhhhhhh!!!!! I finally found my holy grail red lipstick! no really...I'm in love. No exaggeration. It is the absolute perfect shade of red, It definitely stands out but in a good way. Most reds are either too bright on me to where they look obnoxious and cheap or too brown where they look more vampy. Russian red is the perfect in between yet true red shade. Definitely old hollywood glamour style. It's matte which I love and being so, the staying power is amazing! another thing I love is that despite it being matte it isn't as drying on your lips as most matte lipsticks are. Believe me I have tried oodles and oodles of red lipsticks but nothing compares to this gem. It will definitely compliment a vast array of skintones so if you're looking for that perfect shade of red look no further ladies!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/16/2015 3:20:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My favorite red lipstick ever!!! I luv it in my opinion its better then ruby woo not too drying either sadly mac keeps raises its prices will i we purchase again maybe i have found a dupe nyx matte in perfect red spot on too .....still luv u Russian red! !! Just becomeing a lil pricey

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is the best red lipstick! I've tried many different red lipsticks over the years from drugstore to high end and this is the best one! It's a true red that will go with many different skin tones. It looks great on me when I have fair/pale skin and when I have a tan. This is a matte lipstick so if you like shine or a little moisture just add a clear gloss or lip balm and problem solved. I find this lipstick looks great with and without a liner. I will definitely repurchase this lipstick!


on 5/21/2015 11:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Cannot go wrong with this!
Perfect bright red, I absolutely love it. Looks amazing with my fair complexion.
Stays on all day, barely needs to be reapplied. Been a fan of this one for years!

Only have 2 cons -
Hard to remove and smudges very easily!!! If you get any outside of the lip line it is ridiculous to get off, you end up with red smudges everywhere!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/22/2015 8:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is my first purchase from MAC and also my first red lipstick. I bought this after i try it and compare it to Ruby Woo. Both matte but Russian Red is not as drying as Ruby Woo. It's very true red, not turn orangish or pinkish like some people experience with other red lipsticks. Very pretty and you can wear it with simple eye make-up on many occasion. Long lasting, but still need reapply after eating, otherwise it will turn up blotchy. It's classic and bold, i think every woman should have one. Definitely one of my favourite lipstick all the time.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top