MAC • Russian Red • Lipstick

rated 4.6(585 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 heyloelitahey on 8/11/2014 10:23:00 PM more reviews by heyloelitahey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

When I first bought this, I didn't really like it but it definitely had grown on me. The color is highly pigmented and intense, as well as extremely long-wearing. On my fair, cool-toned skin it shows up as a bright, vintage incarnadine tone. The matte finish isn't too drying if you wear it over a balm (I use EOS). TIP: wear this with Rimmel's Red Diva lipliner, it's a perfect shade match and the retractable packaging makes it better than MAC's Cherry pencil for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 annaa7 on 8/5/2014 5:17:00 PM more reviews by annaa7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a great lipstick, and I find this to suit me even though my complexion is warm. Maybe I'm a neutral, I don't know! But this will last hours, but put lip balm on before applying this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ASH1337 on 7/31/2014 6:48:00 PM more reviews by ASH1337

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Russian Red... I have a few friends who swear by this shade and rock it so well, that I thought it'd be universally wearable. Wellllll not so much for my warm complexion. It is not so flattering on me in some lights. It's a bit too blue for my complexion, but I will say that it lasts ALL day and night. I found this particular matte lipstick to be very drying, compared to the other ones in this finish. It could just be my tube though. If you have a pale, cool complexion, then I fully recommend it. However, for the warm girls, I discovered that Lady Danger is a terrific alternative that we can rock confidently. I gave my Russian Red to my mom and it suits her way better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shibee on 7/25/2014 4:33:00 AM more reviews by shibee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love the shade of this lipstick, but I was a little disappointed on how long it lasted. If I paid for a MAC lipstick, I want it to last. If I'm sipping on a drink on a night out, it's gone within a few hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kira1999 on 7/13/2014 3:35:00 PM more reviews by kira1999

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this lipstick! So red, it lasts a long time. Since the undertone is bluish, it makes my teeth look whiter too! The only reason I didn't give it a five is because it is a matte finish which really dried out my lips unfortunately. Overall, great lipstick :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Makeuplover95 on 7/11/2014 8:44:00 AM more reviews by Makeuplover95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This lipstick is excellent! The colour is lovely, and it is easier to apply than ruby woo and there is more moisture on your lips! Lovely mate finish, I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sammarshmallow on 7/9/2014 8:16:00 PM more reviews by sammarshmallow

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

My all time favourite red lippy. Very pigmented, glides on smoothly, classic matte finish.
My only complaint about this product is that because it is a matte lipstick, it can be drying over time. I'm a flight attendant so under normal work conditions/hours, it will dry out my lips and make it look unattractrively flakey, so I tend to not wear this lipstick for work. But for a night out, it's definitely my one-and-only!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 UrsiG on 7/3/2014 8:02:00 AM more reviews by UrsiG

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not as crazy over this lipstick as I am over Ruby Woo. I'm still trying to figure out if its too bright for me or not but I will give it another chance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starla07 on 6/22/2014 5:27:00 PM more reviews by starla07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

The ULTIMATE bluish red. This was Madonna's go-to shade on the Blonde Ambition tour of 1990 (google image search for the Gaultier-amazingness of it all). This lippie ain't playing around - you'll need to moisturise your lips beforehand. It looks great on pale skin and makes teeth look whiter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kidlike101 on 6/13/2014 9:32:00 AM more reviews by Kidlike101

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I picked this up Two years back and since then it's my go to red. it's a vintage, old hollywood glamour TRUE RED that lasts on your lips for 6 hrs easy.

Now although the finish is "almost" matted this lipstick is on the cremer side so it applies nicely (for anyone that's tried ruby woo this one is nothing like it when applying!) and more forgiving of dry lips then the typical full on matte lipsticks. very pigmented too.

the one con I can think of is that because the formela is on the creamy side a bit you'll have to careful not to get it on your clothes when changing, things will get messy and because this is a bright red it'll show!

I'm an NC15 so both cool toned and very pale, sometimes this red feels like too much on me and more of an evening colour, still when I do wear it during the day even on it's own it's enough to turn heads :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products