Hermes • Eau des Merveilles • Fragrances

rated 3.8(160 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thiebautrenata on 7/30/2014 9:48:00 AM more reviews by thiebautrenata

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a Hermes perfume for the summer only because it's a Hermes. I went to a Sephora in Shanghai and could try on few perfumes, 4 of them from Hermes.
I find eau de marveilles was good, not too sweet, not too citric nor too orangy. A good combination and pretty refreshing in general.
However, the staying power is very poor, after few hours I cannot smell anything.
The price is also ridiculous, but I'm glad I had 50% off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NorthernLight1918 on 5/12/2014 3:59:00 PM more reviews by NorthernLight1918

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Smells woody and spicy on me. A lots of pink peppers too. Looks like honey and smells like Norwegian wood. Not a flowery or fruity scent at all but this makes it unique and different. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maysundstrom on 3/15/2014 1:09:00 PM more reviews by maysundstrom

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love love this scent! Woody and spicy with a splash of orange. And the scent lingers all day long.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kysyona on 5/1/2013 8:37:00 AM more reviews by Kysyona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Ooooh, this went totally men's aftershave on me. I had really high hopes for this, since I admire so much almost all other HERMES perfumes, but here is my chemistry in all its glory, turning milk sour, again... :-( Somewhere halfway through the drydown I could get a hint of how great this could be on someone with the right skin type. Mine absorbs any sugar and all the light florals almost entirely, and in this case it is orange zest and alcohol that are left of the original composition. Maybe a bit of fresh grass rubbed in warm hands, but the amount of alcohol post-drydown is simply overwhelming. Voyage works on me, so does Jardin Mediterranee ( my forever love!! ), faubourg 24 is also not bad (although it's not as deep as on other people I suspect ). Ah well. The Jardin series is more than enough for me to keep coming back to the HERMES counter for a shot of an olfactory delight.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 drdoodles on 11/10/2012 1:45:00 PM more reviews by drdoodles

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It is interesting to read all the comments about this perfume. Some people smell oranges, the ocean, wood, musk etc. I don't smell any off those things. I got a generous sample of this from Sephora. I really wanted a perfume that would make me smell like I was living in a orange orchard, just a mature layered scent of oranges. I would think the house of Hermes would deliver on such a product, but no this does not. I barely smell any oranges, my best description of this scent is baby powder with spicy notes. I could see how this could work for other people, but it does not work with my chemistry. There is nothing sexy about this scent, it just "exists". I will say the lasting power for me is pretty high though. So in conclusion, I am highly disappointed, I expect something better from a high end brand like Hermes.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KGirl24 on 10/15/2012 5:02:00 PM more reviews by KGirl24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love, love, love this perfume. It has woody and amber undertones which I love. It is expensive but it does last a while so I feel the cost is worth it. Be aware of the bottom of the bottle. It is slanted and if not put down properly it could fall over.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beauty4Ashes on 9/20/2012 4:50:00 PM more reviews by Beauty4Ashes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

While I was sampling Hermes Jardin fragrances in Sephora a few weeks ago, the SA recommended I try Eau des Merveilles. So I sprayed EdM on my arm and was not a fan. It came off as a very "loud" orange zest scent. The SA ended up giving me a sample of Mediterranee and EdM to take home even though I already made up in my mind I wasn't a fan of EdM. I'm SO glad the SA went ahead and gave me a sample of EdM because about 10 mins after I left Sephora to drive home, it began to get less orange and developed into an exquisitely blended woody, warm-spice scent. Then, once it fully dried down, it became very fresh (the ambergris, I believe, gives it its freshness) while not losing its warm woody-ness. I left the sample vial on my kitchen counter overnight and in the morning while packing my lunch I kept getting this beautiful waft of scent. It was so lovely, fresh woody at the same time. At that point, I was on a mission to get a full bottle ASAP...and I did! Just got my FB in the mail today and I'm so thrilled! I'm very pleased with this purchase and really can't rave about it enough. What I most love about it is that it's such a unique scent, but isn't super expensive. It's also not too common so I don't worry about wearing something that would be in many others' fragrance wardrobe. EdM is also a perfect transition scent from Summer to Autumn. It reminds me of being on a driftwood-filled secluded beach in cooler weather while being wrapped up in a light cashmere sweater. It's definitely unisex do to the lack of any floral notes. This is a great choice for women who want a classy, refined scent that could be worn daily, during the day or night time. It's such a refreshing alternative to the fruity-florals thatsaturate the fragrance market today. EdM is going to be used in heavy rotation by me this season. Even though it's long lasting, I plan to get the EdM body cream to layer. I highly recommend.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Camchichi on 9/7/2012 5:01:00 PM more reviews by Camchichi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I am literally BLOWN AWAY by this perfume. Years ago I had an orange-scented shampoo, conditioner, and body wash set from Hermes and decided to revisit the delightful scent by purchasing Eau des Merveilles Elixir. It is a warm, comforting, sexy, yet tasteful scent, reminiscent of curling up in a freshly laundered warm blanket with your attractive significant other. Truly a wonderful perfume. Only con is that the bottle is very strange - rather than a flat bottom, it is like the tip of an obtuse triangle - so it lays flat on either the right or left side. I am cautious every time I set it down. Best part is, it stays ALL DAY LONG. I have never in my life said this for any perfume (Lolita Lempicka perfumes have the longest lasting power that I know of, but not all day). I can put it on in the morning and when I'm showering in the evening after a long day, I can still smell the last of the lingering scent. Worth every. single. penny.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 metje on 6/6/2012 12:59:00 PM more reviews by metje

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

To some people, if you have nothing nice to say, don't write a review!
I'm getting a little sick off all that "old-lady" and "cleaner" stuff. I don't know were you're noses have been, but this does not smell like "old-lady" (whatever that might smell like!) or "cleaner". If you don't like it, ok that's a person's taste, but leave the nasty comments. Now on to the smell. At first i wasn't blown away by it, it was just nice. But after a few samples, i really love it!! It's soft and warm, it reminds me a little of Molecule 01. Just a lighter and softer smell with a hint of orange. I wear M01 in the winter, this is more summery. On me EdM has decent lasting power, it get's close to the skin, but i can smell it on myself hours later.This is a perfume that i wear for ME. It feels like a soft, clean blanket that comes just out of the dryer. After a long day at the beach, you wrap yourself in it, and mmmmmmm.

13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 achtungbaby80 on 3/26/2012 11:26:00 PM more reviews by achtungbaby80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I want to like this fragrance. I'm *still* trying to like it. The bottle, the ads, the name...but the actual smell just doesn't match! I imagined that it would smell more intriguing, more complex, more...just more, sort of like Lolita Lempicka's wide-eyed bohemian cousin who drinks champagne in the shower and has a sentimental attachment to "Le Petit Prince.". But preconceived ideas aside, I think I would have liked Eau des Merveilles if it smelled like anything--anything!-- but what it does, which to me smells just like the stuff my grandmother used to clean her carpets. The old-lady artificial chemical scent is guaranteed to burn my nose hairs from the first spray, and although I did manage to wear it long enough for it to dry down into an almost pleasant-smelling...something, that part was POOF! gone in a flash. I'm trying, folks. I'm looking for this beachy, summery, sparkly scent everybody keeps talking about...but all I get is the smell of recently shampooed shag carpets circa 1984.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hermes products

More Fragrances products