MAC • 109 Small Contour Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.2(336 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 carmelitta on 6/21/2014 5:15:00 AM more reviews by carmelitta

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I kinda thought I'm outta my mind for splashing so much cash on a brush... but it's soo worth it! Def the best brush I own! I use this for blush, bronzer, and even highlighter.
It's the only brush I can get the kind of contour I want, and it makes applying everything so easy, products look super-blended, professionally done and it's just effortless to use, because it does everything for you! Everyone needs it in their lives, but especially if you ave no time in the morning to perfect your contouring/bronzing regime or you can never get it right and end up muddy, this will totally save you! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hendenm on 6/9/2014 1:11:00 PM more reviews by hendenm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only brush I can contour with and well. I used to use the Mac 168 but I stopped using it because the bristles were not dense enough and it was just too flimsy. The Mac 109 brush is a real workhorse and collects product well. I contour my cheekbones, forehead and sides and looks super. Each time I used the 168 my face looked muddy because the application was not good, so all in all, I feel the Mac 109 brush does the better job. It washes up well, although I will agree with a few reviews that occasionally it does shed but not much, so I can put up with this. My biggest gripe with mac brushes is the packaging, which comes in flimsy sellophane.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Susie0205 on 6/5/2014 1:57:00 AM more reviews by Susie0205

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Contour, blush, highlight, can be done with only this brush, which I like! The hair is very denseable, can make strong pigments you want, only cons is it sheds sometimes

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettygirlmo on 1/14/2014 2:45:00 PM more reviews by prettygirlmo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this brush, I've had it for about six years now. I use it to contour my cheeks, and it fits perfectly in that area. I also use it to put bronzer on other areas of the face like the forehead. I've also used it to apply blush, and powder foundation. It has natural hairs, and I haven't had any hairs shed from this brush. I clean it with baby shampoo, and rinse it with a tiny bit of conditioner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zeyneperkal on 12/23/2013 7:58:00 AM more reviews by zeyneperkal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

There is nothing to say about this brush it my favourite. Yes it sheds, it doesn't bother me. For appyling blush it is great even if you are not a make up artist!! It is great for contouring too of course. It is a must have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* youwillneverfindme on 10/22/2013 10:42:00 AM more reviews by youwillneverfindme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have *HATED* this brush for years. I originally bought it for contouring, but the 168 blows it out of the water (IMO the 168 is the *best* contour brush out there). So the only other option I could possibly use it for was foundation and of course it shed little black hairs all over my face, as if the bristles were breaking and leaving the ends on my face. It has sat, unused, in my train case for who knows how many years.

So lately I was going through my things and decided to try it out with foundation. It shed all over and I remembered why I hated it. Since I was washing the rest of my brushes, I decided just to deal with this one too, so I washed it roughly and carelessly with Dr. Bronner's peppermint bar soap, practically beating the hell out of it because I didn't care about it anyway.

And you know what?
Now it's genius at applying my foundation (Estee Lauder DoubleWear light). I can't believe it. Not only does it not shed anymore, but the smaller amount of foundation that's needed to cover is amazing and the traceless application beats anything I could do with my fingers.

I can't say I'd rebuy, although I'd consider it since I'm so happy to have it now.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xoCarmina on 10/9/2013 9:05:00 PM more reviews by xoCarmina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I love this brush it it my go to highlighting and contouring brush. It blends everything out like a dream. The only gripe I have with it is that it sheds. I'm on the hunt for a brush like this that doesn't shed that still performs as well. I haven't found one yet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 eleanorch on 9/25/2013 9:56:00 AM more reviews by eleanorch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm am NOT impressed with this at all. This sheds a lot! I read that this was normal and the shedding should stop after washing. So, I washed it. It still shed. I took it to the Mac counter in Harvey Nicks in Edinburgh and they refused to exchange it saying that I needed to wash it with Mac brush cleaner. So, I washed it with Mac brush cleaner. It still shed. The SA said I might need to wash it a few times. So, I washed it some more and it shed. I am quite fed up of picking loose bits of brush off my face as I paid a ridiculous $38 for this on a trip to the US. Try the COSTCO brushes instead. They are great at about $20 for a set of brushes that come before Christmas time. AND they don’t shed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Meladamilky on 8/16/2013 3:12:00 PM more reviews by Meladamilky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like this brush. It's not the softest brush in the world, but it does its job. It can be used pretty much everything. It DOESN'T SHED THAT MUCH when you use it to APPLY POWDER PRODUCTS. I love it for contouring because of the size. Before I purchased this brush, I compared it with MAC 168 which is the angle brush. When I tried MAC 168, it's too big for contouring and made everything looks muddy. So I decided to get 109 instead. And I don't regret buying it. I rated it 4 out of 5 because I expected it to be more softer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bcvshygirl on 7/11/2013 11:51:00 PM more reviews by bcvshygirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best brush for contouring and less pigmented blushes because it's super dense. It's like a mini kabuki on a stick:) the only con is that it sheds.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Makeup Brushes products