DHC • Vitamin C Essence • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.9(38 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* domokun_nyc on 7/17/2014 8:10:00 AM more reviews by domokun_nyc

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

After sampling this a few times, I bought the full-size tube and used the entire thing before writing this. I can't say I noticed a huge difference, therefore just the 3 lippies. It didn't irritate or break me out, but the results weren't enough that I couldn't wait to order another tube. It is just like water and the tube is annoying. Like some other reviewers, I finally cut off the tip. The price is also a bit off-putting. I might try it again if it were on sale, but for now I'll get my vitamin C as included with other products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* One1Cherry on 4/7/2013 1:34:00 AM more reviews by One1Cherry

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this because the reviews here are pretty good.

I'm surprised that this product is just like water. And later i found out this is a water soluble vitamin C, instead of oil soluble, which absorbs better into skin (oops i did not check before purchasing). I did not have a problem with it being a water consistency. I hate the way the product is being dispensed... it comes in a super tiny tip, i have to squeeze the tube for 10 seconds before one drop is dispensed. Omg... for 5 drops i have to wait so long. This is ridiculous!!! I got so annoyed i cut the tip until it easily dispenses with a light squeeze. The most ridiculous and annoying packaging.

Update: two months later, don't see any improvement on my freckles, even developed one for two new ones. Totally useless.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 prettyparul on 3/24/2013 10:43:00 PM more reviews by prettyparul

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I've only been using this for a week now, so not making any claims just yet. It's horribly expensive here in Singapore (S$70 at Watsons for a tiny 25ml). I'm very curious if this can also be applied on the scalp. Will it do any good or harm or will I be simply wasting a very expensive product? I'd really appreciate your input :)
Update 12/04/2013
My skin looks brighter! My sun spots are still there :( but there is a glow about my face. I so want to believe it's because of this one. The dispensing is excruciatingly testing, but hey, anything for great skin right? ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 linhgaga on 12/19/2012 8:37:00 AM more reviews by linhgaga

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have only tested it out from the samples received from DHC. The first time using it I was truly in awe by how much brighter my face was! The second time the result was still the same! I have never seen anything work quite like that. My order is on its way and I'm very excited!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sunnybj on 7/10/2010 4:25:00 AM more reviews by sunnybj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was recommended by the DHC SA to brighten my skin tone and treat the dark spots around my eye area ( too much sun exposure without protection). I apply it only in the morning first before toning. It is quite mild. I only have occasional minor itchiness nothing else. The result is very gradual. After 6 weeks my sister commented the dark spots around my eyes got lighter. Still using it the tube can last 3 months. So far I am happy with this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eylemelif on 6/28/2010 10:50:00 AM more reviews by eylemelif

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using for only a week and I saw a difference. That's fast!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katmu1 on 4/23/2009 6:22:00 PM more reviews by katmu1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the 3rd Vitamin C product that I've tried. I've been using it for about 6 weeks now with no irritation to date. I previously tried both Skinmedica C and LRP Redermic but had to stop using both products due to irritation. The DHC comes in a tube with a pointed tip. The product is very watery but the package makes it easy to get the right amount. My skin tone is much clearer than it was before I started using this. I am keeping my fingers crossed that my skin continues to be ok with this one. I apply this first thing in the AM after cleansing my face. I will update if anything changes. For reference, dry, sensitive skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ca_sent_beau on 1/12/2009 5:27:00 PM more reviews by ca_sent_beau

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

EDIT: I still think that this is a good and reasonably priced Vitamin C product and worth auditioning if you are so inclined. I have since switched to Paula's Choice Resist C15 Super Booster which is more potent and easier to use. Also, the DHC packaging has the tendency to clog. It happened on multiple tubes lately and made me waste a lot of product. I had to remove the dropper like plastic at its opening. That left the product to gush out, and also increased air contact which might decrease its potency. I won't repurchase with the current packaging - though doubt that it will ever change.

ORIGINAL REVIEW: I've been using DHC's Vitamin C Essence for over 4 month now, and I am really impressed. I have picked up this product because it was the only reasonably priced vitamin C (Magnesium ascorbyl phosphate) serum with no offensive ingredients. Most of the other vitamin C serums were either absurdly expensive (three digit prices for an ounce or less) or contained formaldehyde-releasing preservatives. I have paid $30 for 25 ml/0.84 fl. oz. of Vitamin C Essence when it was on sale. The regular price is $38 for the same amount. The 25 ml's have lasted me for over four months with twice daily use and I have never experienced a clogging problem with the tube - see EDIT.
The product itself is a very watery liquid with no discernible smell. I love the really fluid consistency since it feels featherlight on the skin. I rarely wore it on its own, usually layered with AHA/BHA products, moisturizer and/or sunscreen. As for its effects, it really did lighten the patch of freckles and couple of sunspots I have. They did not disappear completely, but they are much less noticeable after four months. I am very happy with the results, I have repurchased and I will repurchase again.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 barbiH on 1/9/2009 9:42:00 AM more reviews by barbiH

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

LAST UPDATE (12/10/11): Finally got that light bulb moment as to why this serum does NOT work for me. It's the potassium chloride which ranks as a 5 for comedogencity and 0-3 for irritancy. :( UPDATE (11/11/11): Been revisiting this product for the past two weeks since I've decided to go back and test drive previous products that I dismissed due to pentylene glycol. I'm no longer convinced that this glycol is an issue for me. My previous update was during a time when I was using Differin gel, which, in hind sight, really compromised my results from other products in my routine.

UPDATE (02/10/09). I actually quit using this about 10 days ago. It eventually began to annoy my sensitive face. My guess is that it's the glycol - pentylene glycol but it could also be the preservative phenoxyethanol. I'm leaving the rating relatively high since I still think it's a worthwhile serum.

ORIGINAL REVIEW: Just started using this watery serum and it's LOVE so far. My SD-prone face seems to drink up this 8% MAP elixir. My two "freckles" on my right cheek already seem more faded after just two uses....how can that be when I've used SkinMedica or Skinceuticals for the past two years? I will update in a month or so.

INGREDIENTS: water, magnesium ascorbyl phosphate, pentylene glycol, sodium citrate, citric acid, potassium chloride, saccharide isomerate, sodium hydroxide, phenoxyethanol, magnesium sulfate

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lchoe on 3/11/2008 4:36:00 PM more reviews by lchoe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. My skin feels and looks luminous, and I feel it firms a bit as well. It has a very light texture w/ minimal fragrance. I can't tolerate products that feel heavy, sticky or clog my pores & past vit. C serums felt oily & smelled bad. The texture is great for layering other products on top. The DHC Advisor said to (after cleansing): 1) always use the C Essence first (including the eye area, firms nicely) 2) DHC Toner next 3) then layer other products on top. The price is very well priced for a good quality vitamin c serum (others are $99+). I have no problems with the dispenser. I just put 3 drops on the forehead, then 3 on each cheek, and smooth over the surface. I didn't take this with me on a 2 week trip to Europe and I actually looked forward to using this again after the trip. I would highly recommend this product to all, esp. at this price.


I am Korean, 42 yrs old but most think I'm 28-32. My skin products HAVE to be effective as all my life, I refuse to wear skin make-up (foundation). People tell me I have skin like porcelain but I have good/bad days like everyone else. I have combination skin but prone to plugged pores. I just started using DHC products since Feb. 2008 and before I only used top lines (Natura Bisse, Jurlique, MD Forte, Clarins).

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More DHC products

More Treatments (Face) products