Christian Dior • Hypnotic Poison • Fragrances

rated 4.0(643 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GPD on 9/17/2014 10:06:00 PM more reviews by GPD

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

**This is a review for the gold cap/dark purple and red version***

I am obsessed with this perfume. I am going to be so sad if I ever run out because this is the harder to find version. So long story short, I had this a loooong time ago but thought it smelled horrid, but by chance i was in Sephora a while back and thought to try it out again for whatever reason. Annoyingly enough, the Sephora by me had the older formula out as their tester...very misleading. Thus, much to my dismay the purchased item was the newer version (silver cap and it's red/darker red packaging) and it was just HORRID on me. I HATE IT!! It's opens with this strange sharp chemical tone that smells somewhat like burning rubber that just burns my olfactory senses like the fire of a thousand suns. I really hoped it would go away, but it just kept going and going several scrubs later. Also, it's just a loud, obnoxious perfume with quite some sillage unlike the older formula which is much softer, more understated feminine but still sexy and not as loud or obnoxious. I feel that I can wear the older version in public and know that I'm not polluting other people's noses with my perfume. Needless to say I returned this and immediately went on the hunt to find the older formulation (gold cap with red/purple packaging). Thankfully those random perfume kiosks/perfume discount store had one 3.4 fl. oz bottle.

Anyhow, onto my perfume tastes --> The perfumes I normally tend to gravitate towards are gourmands that aren't overly sweet, woodsy and clean. My all time favorite perfumes are 10 corso como and SL feminite du bois. Normally vanilla perfumes are not for me as they tend to be very fake smelling on me, as do coconut perfumes. At any rate this is amazing. It does start out a powdery licorice with a hint of play doh on me, but the play doh and licorice disappears within 30 mins on me and develops into this amazing cozy, warm, vanilla, powdery but not headache inducing powdery scent on me. I think there is a hint of muskiness to this as well but I'm not sure if I'm identifying it correctly?? I didn't get any of the "root beer" note that other reviewers mentioned, which is a shame because i love root beer! :) Anyhow I love this perfume and it's my perfect go to perfume when I want to have that extra pep in my step, my feel sexy perfume. I think the bottle is just so cute and chic. It just looks kinda vintage sitting in my perfume cabinet compared to my other perfumes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lyswa on 7/22/2014 9:03:00 PM more reviews by lyswa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely love this scent on me. It's got more of a winter/nighttime quality to it but I wear it all the time. Its name is incredibly accurate as the smell is truly mesmerizing. I'm so in love with the sandalwood base notes mixed with oriental vanilla. Smells much more expensive than the actual cost (about &80 at Sephora). I will DEFINITELY be buying this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ljanelle on 7/9/2014 10:51:00 PM more reviews by ljanelle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Wore this today and oooooh it's such an exotic, beautiful smell! Probably better for the colder months, but I got a bit dressed up today and wanted an exquisite smell to go with my new outfit! I have a decant, will definitely be picking up a full bottle this fall! My daughter will definitely be borrowing this. =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mariacristinatoca on 7/9/2014 10:32:00 PM more reviews by mariacristinatoca

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

OMG... Divine!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 x0hannahp66 on 5/19/2014 5:43:00 AM more reviews by x0hannahp66

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Obsessed! I was on the hunt for a new perfume that would attract 'males'.. for me, if im going to smell good I want to appeal to everyone and particularly, men. I am the kind of girl who does her research before buying anything.. so, I googled scents that men like, and after heaps of research there were about 15 perfumes or so that stood out to me and were frequently repeated in questionaires that males/guys had answered. I then researched all these perfumes on fragrantica.com and even made an excel document of all the results so that I could compare them. (yes I am THAT cray) long story short, I shortened the list down to 3 pefumes which I then went and bought and I found that when I wore this scent (Dior- Hypnotic poison) not only did i LOVE the scent but I also recieved ridiculous amounts of compliments from males and females. Research paid off and I can happily say this is my signature and all time favourite scent! Do yourself a favour and ATLEAST go to the shops and spritz some on yourself :) you won't be dissapointed! X

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BeaP on 5/17/2014 12:46:00 PM more reviews by BeaP

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I felt this fragrance everywhere when I was in Italy two years ago. I'm sure it is one of the most popular perfumes there. For my nose it's all about vanilla, almond and coconut, has enormous sillage ad longevity. It's a bit one-dimensional, as everything is sweet in it. I think it suits the stereotypical Italian perfectly, because it's loud, sensual, but rather a family-lover than a party-goer. Although I like this scent, I can only appreciate it on others, because it's too strong for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweet_like_honey on 5/15/2014 5:38:00 PM more reviews by sweet_like_honey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is my latest HG everyday fragrance. I work at a medical office, so wearing a powerful, overbearing scent is a no-no. Hypnotic Poison is very soft, warm, and friendly.

When I first sprayed this, I smelled root beer. I like root beer but I don't necessarily want to smell like it. But then, after the dry down, I couldn't get enough of that enticing vanilla scent. Vanilla fragrances are my go-to because they just work the best with my chemistry. This one is a grown-up vanilla, though- a sexier vanilla.

I agree with the other reviewers that this is a boyfriend-friendly fragrance. It won't give you that headache that some other scents will when you get too close to it. It's a good scent to wear when snuggling :)

Hypnotic Poison is very easy to wear, so I'd recommend it to anyone who likes vanilla notes in their perfume. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because it doesn't last all day, so I have to re-spray.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mizmoneypenny on 5/15/2014 11:59:00 AM more reviews by Mizmoneypenny

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

A close friend started wearing this and one day I gave her a hug and smelt the most cozy, yummy and warm scent I had ever smelt. I crossed that " not wearing your friends fragrance line" and went out and got myself a bottle ( I asked her first haha)

I have worn many fragrances over the years but never have I felt so comfortable and snugly as I do in this one. I feel like it invites people to lean in closer to you and have found that men love it ( its foody/ gourmand for sure)

It has far more class than Angel, it's mature but not " old" it's day and night in the right weather and I use only 2 sprays one on the back of my neck and one on one forearm. It's a true skin scent after a couple of hours it just radiates off you gently and warmly.

When people say they get a Barbie doll plastic hint I know what they mean but I find that scent nice.

Please try it for yourself. Words can't really do this scent justice although I have tried.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lareesa3000 on 5/14/2014 2:05:00 PM more reviews by Lareesa3000

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love this! I've been using it since 2010, it's absolutely timeless. I used to mix this with normal vanilla perfume/spray, it compliments it beautifully.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JillyBalboa on 4/6/2014 6:02:00 PM more reviews by JillyBalboa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this fragrance! I have been using it for years! It smells absolutely amazing - and smells completely different on everyone. I smell vanilla, spice and black liquorish. The staying power is very good. No need to reapply. I ran out a few months before Christmas this year but was instructed not to buy it for myself.. So I had to wait. It was a loooong few months. I missed my 'signature scent' so much I didn't feel like myself. I wear this everyday and get a lot of complements! People always comment that I smell amazing but not overwhelming. Just right. Love love love.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Christian Dior products

More Fragrances products