Avene • Cleanance soapless gel cleanser for oily skin • Cleansers

rated 4.0(336 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Clare_au on 7/31/2014 2:54:00 AM more reviews by Clare_au

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for most of a year (alternating with another cleanser) and it hasn't caused any major issues, but I've never been highly impressed, and I think it's time to retire it. It is quite drying, making my skin feel tight after use, and it's fragranced, which I think could be contributing to skin irritation. I was surprised at this given that Avene is usually a fragrance-free brand marketed to people with super-sensitive skin. It also stings my eyes - I know most cleansers do, but I loved the Paula's Choice cleanser I used to have which didn't sting at all. It does have a nice texture when applied and I like that there's only a minimal amount of foam.

Overall, Cleanance gets the job done well enough, but at the high price I won't be repurchasing. I'm actually trying out a cheap drugstore brand cleanser now (Dermaveen) which is much better so far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lailahelal on 7/29/2014 3:35:00 AM more reviews by lailahelal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

My derm prescribed this to me when I was on accutane because its soap free and non irritant. Its the best face wash I've used so far! It cleans my skin without drying it out and controlled my breakouts alot! Thank you avene for making such a wonderful product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Kirbyness on 7/16/2014 5:30:00 AM more reviews by Kirbyness

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This used to be my HG cleanser..until they changed the ingredients. Now it is very harsh, strips my skin and although it does make my skin feel clean it also leaves it feeling tight. But the worst thing about the new formulation is how much it stings and irritates my eyes. No matter how careful I am it leaves the area around my eyes red and painful.
So this has went straight into the bin and now back to hunting for another gentle cleanser.
Why avene..why..:(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laumar27 on 7/8/2014 8:28:00 PM more reviews by laumar27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a bit torn about this product. On the one hand, it cleanses well, removes all traces of makeup and doesn't cause breakouts due at least in part to it's "soapless" gel consistency. It also smells very pleasant (not overly fragranced, just a clean smell). For these reasons, I've continued to purchase this cleanser for over SIX YEARS!! However......on the other hand, I feel that this product is too drying for my skin. It lathers well and leaves skin very fresh looking after washing, but I feel it is also sucking a lot of moisture from my skin in the process. I think I may need to re-evaluate my relationship with this cleanser! I see this product working much better for truly oily skin types, as your skin will probably tolerate it better (i.e. no moisture loss).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Banklive on 6/23/2014 7:34:00 AM more reviews by Banklive

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I would not recommend this cleanser to anyone. I have used it for 2-3 months but there are still 3/4 of the volume in the bottle. The product advertised that this is good for sensitive skin, but I disagree with it. The product is too strong for facial skin. After I used it, each time my face feels do tight. It rips off almost anything on your face, including essential oil for your facial skin. Fell so disappointed at this brand. The advertisement completely cannot do what it said. What a waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 eselle on 6/14/2014 12:54:00 AM more reviews by eselle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Used this for a few years alongside Cleanance K/Avene moisturiser stuff, and it only led to more oily and acne-filled skin. It did pretty much nothing to help when my acne became really bad, and I had to resort to antibiotic treatment. This only served as a pitifully poor investment and complete waste of money.

I am certainly pleased to no longer be using such overpriced and ineffective products when natural ingredients and oils provide a far better, gentler and cheaper solution for your skin. If you want less oily skin, try organic unrefined coconut oil - works wonders for me and I no longer have greasy skin. Products with synthetic ingredients such as this tend to strip off your natural oils, thus leading your body to produce an excessive amount of sebum which causes even more greasy skin - so you'd want something that will provide sufficient moisture. I am very glad to have learnt to read beyond marketing labels and promotional rhetoric.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lifeinfuschia on 6/6/2014 3:09:00 PM more reviews by lifeinfuschia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I thought that this was a decent cleanser, although I wouldn't repurchase. It stung my eyes and stripped my skin a little too much. It did improve my skin a little, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Shubbing on 3/11/2014 12:09:00 AM more reviews by Shubbing

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This cleanser cleared up my acne almost instantly! I usually have pretty okay-ish skin with pimples once in a blue moon until adult acne found me last year. Was in a pretty terrible state even after visiting the dermatologist and prescribed with differin and doxycycline. My usual cleanser was Simple, didn't help much but didn't do harm either so I didn't consider changing it. My friend, however, insisted that I got this and I reluctantly got it even though it was nearly twice the cost of my Simple one. However, after using this for just one day, I noticed that my acne cleared up tremendously! And it has helped to keep it clear since then. Will definitely repurchase!

On a downside, it doesn't do much in terms of oil control or moisturization. On the first couple of days after using this, I noticed that my face became super super oily and only managed to get rid of it with a oil control sleeping mask. Also, I don't recommend using this all the time. I alternate my cleaning routine with this and just plain oats as I'm afraid this cleanser might be too drying and strong as well. You'll need a good moisturiser with this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pratty01 on 3/9/2014 6:56:00 AM more reviews by pratty01

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Packaging: awesome. spill proof, hand bag friendly, clear bottle so you can see how much of it is left.

i have combination dehydrated skin prone to breakouts. which means the minute i put something meant for acne prone skin, my skin dies a little, seriously it dies into a dry, cracked, scaly, itchy mess. for the longest time i struggled with finding the right cleanser that will help with acne but not strip my face off all the moisture. i found the blue green bottle of joy!!!

Having said that, it is not going to leave your face plump and moist, honestly no foaming gel type cleanser ever has but it certainly doesnt cause my skin to "DIE'. obviously it does nothing to stop acne, but it shortens the life cycle of a pimple by half. it has a clean scent, not perfumy and does a good job of cleaning the skin of every bit of makeup there is, although i would recommend a balm or oil based pre cleanse to take makeup off before this gel cleanser, it has lactic acid which needs to work on the skin and not your foundation.

so if you've got similar skin type and not found success with any other cleanser, give this a shot, its not expensive and a no fuss product. i am on my second bottle and its taken me a really long time to finish up the first one (you get a lot of product). so unless if find a better cleanser or my skin quality/concern changes i will continue to use this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hannah2346 on 3/3/2014 10:53:00 AM more reviews by hannah2346

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

What the?? I don't have sensitive skin, my skin is pretty much normal. But when I used this my skin burned so much that I had to wash it off straight away and then I looked in the mirror and omg!! My whole face had red splotches everywhere.. They were bright red! And my face felt really hot, disgusting and this cleanser didn't even clean my skin just irritated it and made it feel and look terrible!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avene products

More Cleansers products