Unlisted Brand • Yu-Be Moisturizing Skin Cream • Lotions/ Creams

rated 3.9(80 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 rbkh on 12/20/2014 12:21:00 PM more reviews by rbkh

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Probably one of the best marketing moves this company made was to include a sample in beauty gifts/subscriptions for people to try, since this product is so unassuming otherwise. The packaging and smell did not lead me to expect much from this product-- the consistency was also thick, and reminded me more of asian tiger balm than a beauty product. But since it was from Japan (and Asian beauty really IS the best), I kept it even though I didn't try it for a looooong time. Then I kept seeing this product mentioned being mentioned in various venues and so my curiosity grew. As winter weather made my normal skin very dry, chapped, and flaky, I decided it was time to give this baby a try. First I put it right to my lips, since it is the only explicit use for the product (otherwise just "dry areas"). I had been through about a dozen different lip balms/chapsticks from high end to drugstore and nothing was relieving my dry, chapped lips...it had been several weeks of dry, flaky lips-- once any lip balm wore off, my lips would instantly dry and peel again. So this was my last hope, and since nothing else had worked, I didn't expect much...but omg, was I pleasantly surprised!!!

At first application, the cream is smooth, but the scent of camphor is overwhelming so i didn't like it right away. But literally just a few minutes later I felt my lips were healed (and the smell went away, as promised). After it was fully absorbed, I waited, drank, and ate, and even hours later my lips were supple and soft!! Even though I tested it with just a tiny amount of the stuff (and really this stuff is made to be used sparingly!), it worked wonders on first application! OMG, HG PRODUCT! Then I used it on my hands which have been so dry lately that even after applying hand lotion it would get dry again -- and yube did it again! it was a miracle worker and my hands felt soft and stayed that way!

This product doesn't have any big marketing campaigns to US consumers (that I've seen), and the packaging leaves much to be desired, but the fact that it continues to grow in popularity globally just goes to show that a good product is enough to stand on its own-- also, beauty insiders and subscription services definitely help!! I'm so impressed I plan to buy again and again, and spreading the good word on this beauty secret! Really glad I was given a sample, otherwise I never would have tried (well, at least not until I keep seeing this come up in more reviews/recommendations).

A beauty staple must!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Luna73 on 12/5/2014 10:16:00 AM more reviews by Luna73

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

It's very hydrating, I'll give it that much. But the smell. My god, the smell is atrocious. I'm not usually that picky about the fragrance of skin products, but this is unbearable. It's medicinal, it's strong, and it lingers for a long time.

The product also leaves a bit of a greasy residue. I've resorted to using this just on my feet at bedtime since that way I can't smell it as much and my socks absorb the residue.

This might be worth a try if you have a significant dry skin issue that you need to address -- it is indeed very emollient. But I can't imagine this being anyone's go-do skin lotion unless they want to smell like they're being prepped for surgery.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mcolumbia76 on 10/20/2014 7:57:00 PM more reviews by mcolumbia76

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Results. In the end, that's all that matters. I have been using this for the past 2 years and nothing has worked better for me. The rundown:

1) The packaging blows. It's not fancy, it doesn't look "classy". It comes in a white and orange plastic jar.

2) The cream is bright yellow. It also smells like medicine. It doesn't smell great like Creme de la Mer or Natura Bisse.

3) The price is high for how it looks. But it's actually really cheap considering how well it works for me. But it would be nice if the price went down, since I'm not one to say no to extra savings.

I've tried L'Occitane Shea Butter Face Moisturizer (Not moisturizing enough). Shiseido Bio Performance Revitalizing Cream (it's good, but my skin started developing redness for some reason). Creme de la Mer (too heavy for my face, just right for my under eye and laugh areas, but eventually replaced by Kiehl's Avocado Eye Cream). Natura Bisse Diamond Cream (nice scent but to strong and irritated my skin). I tried countless cheap brands from the drugstore too (Oil of Olay, Neutrogena, L'Oreal, Aveeno). Nothing kept my skin as moisturized with one application as Yu-be. Didn't irritate me, keeps me smooth, no breakouts. I'm 38, which shocks people when they see me because they think I am in my 20's.

Of course I would buy it again, because it works for me. I don't know if I recommend it. Recommendations can get you in trouble because in the end, we are individuals and what works for me may not work for you. I have very dry skin. It's somewhat sensitive from time to time. I stay away from face applications with fragarance most of the time. No alcohol ever applied to the facial skin. No acne, no laugh lines, but prone to being bitten by insects.

Though I think reviews are important (I read them all the time myself before deciding to try something), they only go so far. You can honestly rave about something that would be totally wrong for someone else. That said, I can say without a doubt that I will horde this product should the zombie apocalypse happen. And since I know it works for me, the only thing that concerns me is whether I can always get it again when my supply runs low.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 10/20/2014 3:23:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Could not stand this cream for its thick and greasy feeling and smell. I used it a few times and couldn't stand it. Thankfully it was a sample so I threw it out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lanihime on 10/14/2014 6:15:00 PM more reviews by lanihime

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

There has been a lot of hype over this product and got it as a present, so I was gung ho to use it. Ultimately, I didn't like this product because of the smell, combined with average performance as a hand cream.

I have very dry hands and while mositurizing, this cream felt like it was sitting on top of my skin more than sinking in. The fragrance is very medicinal/camphor like. It honestly felt like someone mixed glysomed with badger balm and the bad traits from those two shines in this product. I actually mixed the two that I had at home and it was eerily similar (although slightly different smell). Note: like some reviewers say, the smell dissipates in about 30 minutes.

The price is $26 CAD for 2.5oz and both Glysomed and Badger balm are under $10 which really makes it on the pricy end of hand creams. I do like jars though as they're easier to get all the product out of.

I think if you like glysomed, but find it a bit too thick, and you like herbal products, you mayyyyy like this. (But that feels like a stretch and I'm not convinced I would recommend this product.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Danielleox on 9/25/2014 7:08:00 AM more reviews by Danielleox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I recently recieved a sample of this in my Bellabox. This moisturiser is so good, you only need a tiny bit of product and it works wonders, I used it on my hands and it left them feeling soft and moisturised. It sinks into your skin, doesn't sit on the top and make them slippery. Not greasy at all, like most moisturisers. The scent is not a problem, it just smells like Vicks for a minute and it fades away. Would repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 9/19/2014 10:01:00 PM more reviews by alina08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The smell of camphor is really strong on this product. I was surprised at how strongly it smelled (perhaps because I used it on my nose?). It moisturizes quite well, but then again, so does petroleum jelly, and this has a similar texture. While I liked the result of this moisturizer, I do not think that the price adequately reflects the quality of the item and the scent is just too pungent. I could not repurchase this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* antolin1 on 9/17/2014 9:59:00 PM more reviews by antolin1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, this stuff is insanely over-hyped. I used it on my face - it applied strangely, was really sticky, and I was not wow'd in any way. I used it on my hands and it left them very soft and oddly enough wasn't sticky- it was nice, nothing to write home about though. Also, I could have added pure glycerin oil instead (which really is what this stuff is made of) and got the same if not better results.

Oh and the reviewers do not lie - this shiz stinks. It smells like camphor, it's nasty as hell. Does it fade? Sure, but it takes about half hr give or take. It also comes in a crappy jar. Its really expensive for what it is - like I said, it's mostly glycerin so I could mix that (which is like 5 oz for 3 bucks) with liquid from a vitamin E tab and prob get way more benefits. So yeah, I am not a fan at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shannon804 on 2/17/2014 8:40:00 PM more reviews by shannon804

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

In short: This is a man-repeller that will make everyone around you think Grandma just entered the room. The instructions say to apply a small dab, and that the camphor scent will fade quickly. Well I applied dabs on my hands and feet, but the camphor scent never faded. It worked well enough as a moisturizer, but I couldn't use it in public, and it isn't so much better than my regular night time lotions that I can justify repurchasing it when it finally (hopefully!) runs out. I will reach for cocoa butter, L'Occitane cream, coconut oil, even plain Vaseline or Aquaphor, before I consider repurchasing this sorry product.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 2/1/2014 3:46:00 PM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Really, who cares about the scent as long as it works! Of course some skin creams can smell like medicine, because that's what your skin needs at the time. Most companies add perfume to their creams, and that only makes it worse. If you have any skin conditions or chronic dry skin from the weather, then you really need to try this cream. There is nothing in the drugstore that instantly soothes red irritated skin and takes the sting out. If you live in a harsh climate or love winter sports, I think this can help protect your face and hands.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Lotions/ Creams products