Orly • Sec 'N Dry Multi-Layer Quick-Dry Topcoat • Top/Base Coats

rated 3.9(67 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Scadoodles on 3/25/2014 12:48:00 PM more reviews by Scadoodles

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

HG right here!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rdeerr on 2/6/2014 8:49:00 PM more reviews by rdeerr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I'm surprised by all the rave reviews for this product. I really wanted to like it since I'm not a huge fan of Seche Vite and I wanted something that would dry faster, but this topcoat has been really disappointing. It does dry fairly quickly but it chips my manicure within 24 hours. I'll be using SV from now on until I find something better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 saranov on 10/26/2013 4:45:00 PM more reviews by saranov

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I feel like Orly is highly underrated. I used to use Seche Vite as my go-to quick dry topcoat, but was really turned off at the fact that it has toluene in it. The smell of Seche was almost too strong for me to handle most of the time. So, I was on a quest to find a quick-dry topcoat that was Big 3-free, and lo and behold, I found Orly Sec 'n Dry! What a bargain!

You have to wait until your nails are nearly dry before putting this on, unlike Seche (which may be a con for some people). One of the best things about Sec 'n Dry is that it has a really thin and highly workable consistency. It doesn't get thick and goopy at all. It melts away most imperfections and has a really glossy finish. I also have found that it actually makes my polish last a lot longer than Seche as well. No complaints at all! I'm so glad I discovered it. Try it out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 9/29/2013 12:46:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I tend to do my nails at night and hate the fact that they take so long to dry. I bought this on a whim and have been very pleased. It does dry them very quickly and deeply. After an hour they are hard. I never experienced this with any other top coats.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TayGraham on 9/1/2013 11:23:00 PM more reviews by TayGraham

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Luckily for me I got this at a swamp meet for $3 so I don't know the real cost. However, I'm so glad I got two ! Dries so quickly and hardly chips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 meowmeow214 on 6/15/2013 2:16:00 AM more reviews by meowmeow214

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this after getting tired of my poshe top coat going thick and gloopy all the time. This orly sec n dry does what it says. It dries fast enough. May not be as fast as poshe or seche vite, but I don't mind waiting a few minutes longer. I give it about 20mins before it sets hard. I also like that when I use this I don't get the shrinkage I get from using poshe. The thinness of the formula actually helps even out the imperfections with the nail polish application.
However, I think for glitter or foil polishes, I will still stick to poshe. This product is not thick enough for the "top coat eaters" nail polish since the formula is really thin and runny. It's also prone to scratches within a day or two compared to zoya armor topcoat which can go on for days with very minimal scratches or chipping. To solve this problem, I use my zoya armor topcoat over painted nails first, and then use this for the quick drying. That way, i get the the zoya armor durability and the quick dry of orly sec n dry.
As for the shine, it is shiny enough. May not be as shiny as poshe or seche vite, but close enough.
Otherwise it is still an acceptable product, I think it works best with cream finish nail polishes. If you change your nail polish after 2-3 days of wear, then you shouldn't mind the tiny scratches you get after some time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ljadeke on 5/21/2013 9:53:00 AM more reviews by Ljadeke

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't like thick coats of nail polish so this works great for me. I never wait for my nails to dry hard before moving on to something else, and this stuff works like a charm. I use the rubberized base coat, 2 layers of color and than this on top, before the color is all the way dry. Never get hair or a dent in my nails, and my manicure lasts at least a week.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alanav09 on 5/2/2013 9:43:00 PM more reviews by alanav09

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

oyy.. the only was this is better than seche vite is the longevity of the manicure. but it leaves my nails dull and NOT HARDENED. its been an hour and i can still make dents......neverrr the case with seche. im applying a second coat because i really dont want to have to redo my nails.

it works fine with sheer, thin coats and polishes....just not for anything that you take your time to do.....i.e anything opaque

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DearOctober on 3/23/2013 6:15:00 PM more reviews by DearOctober

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I actually have been buying this for some time now, and maybe I didn't notice this flaw because I usually wear glitters or other busy polishes but it leaves very strange streaks in my polish. Like, very fine little dips in my polish that go all the way up to the tip of my nail, especially close to my cuticle. I don't have any ridges on my nail, and I don't usually have bumpy nail polish, so I wasn't quite sure what this was about, then I decided to use a different topcoat and the problem didn't happen so I just assume it was the topcoat? Anyway, that is basically my only complaint with this product! Very glossy finish, with only minor shrinkage which is amazing :) I also love the rubberized grip too! If you haven't experienced this ridge problem then don't let this dissuade you from buying this fantastic product! Maybe I just got a bad bottle haha ;) have a great day everyone!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Colorgirlme on 1/2/2013 5:55:00 PM more reviews by Colorgirlme

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Orly Sec'n Dry is the only top coat / quick dry polish I use. Have used it for years and they still haven't come out with anything that beats it. I climb in bed, do my entire manicure, apply Sec'n Dry, and fall asleep with my hands on top of my sheets. Has never failed me !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Orly products

More Top/Base Coats products