John Frieda • Brilliant Brunette Light Reflecting Conditioner • Conditioner

rated 3.8(365 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 LeahBBB on 11/12/2014 10:11:00 AM more reviews by LeahBBB

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

hmm, this stuff does seem to work decently well, not amazing but pretty good. the thing that bothers me is the smell, when I smelt it in the shop (as you do) I though mmm this smells really nice and chocolatey so I bought some , but after a while the smell started to make me feel nauseous and I could smell it on my hair all day, it is very sweet and sickly. I found that my hair smelt dirty even a few hours after washing even though it was clean.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kaitlyn1991 on 7/13/2014 8:33:00 PM more reviews by kaitlyn1991

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

When I was a brunette, ranging in shades from Black to lightest golden brown, I always found that inbetween colorings it kind of got matte after a week or so, esp due to the fact that my hair was damaged and constantly exposed to heat via the flat iron.

I found this product at walmart for relatively cheap and decided to get it. I bought it mostly because I felt like part of some brunette club and I'm always buying new hair products to try because I'm obsessed with my hair.

PROS:
it smells brunetteish...like a very appropriate smell for one with dark hair (i.e. like coconuts and richness)
its beige in color so it feels even more specific towards brunettes (more of an observation than a pro, actually)
it leaves hair soft

CONS:
it's non color depositing so it can't enhance color thus making it a decent conditioner for ANY color hair
it didn't amplify 'multi-dimensional tones' nor add a shocking amount of shine
could and was easily replaced with another conditioner of lesser or equal $ value

all in all, I guess buy it for the scent and inexpensive price but nothing else

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jordankennedy33 on 10/30/2013 1:32:00 PM more reviews by jordankennedy33

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this product!

I used to dye my hair a lot whenever I was bored, after something big in my life has happened, or if I just wanted to spice things up every so often. It was VERY damaging, of course, so lately I've just been going au natural so that my hair can heal and become strengthened again. That being said, I've become very restless by just keeping it the same for several months at a time, something I'm not used to, especially because I've noticed that it looks rather dull as of late.

I'm so happy that I've come across this conditioner. It brings out my high and low lights and gives my hair a little extra shine and bounce. I'll admit, it is a bit drying, but I find that if I mix it with another conditioner (i.e. Organix Moroccan oil conditioner, another one of my loves) and use a nice leave-in conditioner, then it's not a problem anymore!

Bottom line, I'll definitely keep buying this product. Totally worth the price, in my opinion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sweetdream707 on 8/21/2013 9:00:00 AM more reviews by sweetdream707

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is a really nice conditioner for dull brunette hair. I first tried this out when I saw that my hair had no brilliance to it. It was just a dark brown. This really helped my natural hair color shine! It's not all that hydrating, but not bad either, but for the purpose of brightening up your hair color, it's perfect!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Princesa7 on 5/21/2013 8:49:00 PM more reviews by Princesa7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When I used this I used it in conjunction with the shampoo from this line and loved them!!


The conditioner made my hair feel soft and it smelled so nice!!

Both products combined really brought out the highlights in my medium brown hair.

100% repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stephanievx on 5/2/2013 6:34:00 AM more reviews by stephanievx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely love this product. I've used all kinds of shampoos and conditioners and this beats them all. It has crushed pearls and sweet almond oil which is so great for your hair.

I think the scent is lovely, not overpowering but a sweet, subtle scent. The conditioner doesn't lather up, but that's a good thing because research shows that lathering up too much product in your hair can strip it of natural oils that you NEED to have healthy hair. The conditioner is really creamy and it stays that way when you use it.

I just got out of the shower and used this conditioner and my hair feels baby soft. I've bleached and dyed my hair so many times, and after using this I can't even tell that I've done so much damage to my hair. It feels like my natural hair at it's best. So soft, shiny, and smells great.

I recommended this product to a coworker and she absolutely loves it as well. Definitely going to only use this all of the time!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 zanderae on 11/26/2012 6:14:00 PM more reviews by zanderae

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE the Brilliant Brunette shampoo, but as for the conditioner, well....let's just say I couldn't get a comb through my hair after using it. And it seems to me that's one of the things a conditioner is FOR - especially one that costs as much as this. On the plus side, the scent is pleasant (although not as good as the shampoo's, for whatever reason). Some of the V05 conditioners work light-years better than this, and they're a fraction of the cost. Would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeup2000 on 11/9/2012 2:07:00 PM more reviews by makeup2000

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My husband has been commenting how much nicer my hair looks since I've been using this conditioner. The fact that my HUSBAND noticed my hair and complimented it was shocking. I've tried all types of conditioners (Suave to salon brands), and none of them has really helped my long brunette hair (which sadly is the baby-fine, sparse, and fly-away type). A lot of other conditioners have made my hair scraggly and frizzy (seemingly the opposite of what a conditioner should do), so I was happy that this conditioned my hair and actually improved its appearance.

Everybody's hair situation is different, but this one worked for me when many others did not.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sandynd143 on 11/6/2012 4:43:00 PM more reviews by sandynd143

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Prior to trying this conditioner and matching shampoo combo, I was using Redken and before that I was using Matrix. And I have to say, I prefer the John Frieda line to both of those. I have a lot of hair, it's long (about halfway down my back), dark, wavy hair that tends to get dry. I found this conditioner/shampoo combo to work great, my hair feels glossy and soft and it's manageable. I do think my styling products help (I use Super Skinny by Paul Mitchell), also I only wash my hair about two or three times a week. All in all this combo has been my HG for some time now, I don't think I'll be switching to another product any time soon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Glumbumble on 10/23/2011 2:25:00 PM more reviews by Glumbumble

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't know what BlueWings is talking about with not putting the conditioner above your ears, women have short hair too you know! But personally I don't find that it leaves my hair oily, but at the same time I really have to rinse it out. It definitely doesn't wash out easily.

I have the same problem with this bottle as I do with the Liquid Shine Shampoo I bought on sale, the caps collect water when they're left in the shower and once you open the cap water pours out. A little annoyance, but I've never had a bottle do that before.

I like the smell, but that's about it. I have naturally dark auburn hair and it doesn't enhance my natural shine at all. My hair is a bit softer since using this, but I'm thinking that's more from using a conditioner than this product in particular.

I won't be buying this line of products again. I'm very glad I got them on sale so I could finally try them out and realize that it's all hype and does not work for my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Conditioner products