Elizabeth Arden 5th Avenue

3.7

120 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/6/2015 5:05:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Soft, warm, and snuggly -- ageless and timeless. A fragrance like this never goes out of style. When I sniff it, I think, "Ahh, yes, this is why I prefer the classics." Comforting -- high-quality -- lasts well -- the bottle is simple and pretty. I simply can't find fault with it.

Launched in 1996, here are the notes, per parfumo.net:

Top Notes - Bergamot, Lilac, Linden blossom, Magnolia, Lily-of-the-valley, Mandarin
Heart Notes - Bulgarian rose, Violet, Ylang-ylang, Jasmine, Indian tuberose, Peach, Clove, Nutmeg
Base Notes - Amber, Iris, Tibetan musk, Sandalwood, Vanilla

This can be worn by any age, at any time, and it's still modern. It's soft, warm, and has a cuddly quality, to me -- its warmth melds well with natural skin's scent.

It's sad to not see this (and so many others from 80's-90's) on display at dept store perfume counters any more -- but it's still easily available online at great discounts.

I hope 5th Avenue never gets discontinued -- IMHO it deserves to live on. I personally have the giant-sized bottle, just in case. I always want 5th Avenue in my collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/28/2015 4:37:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I can't say enough wonderful things about this perfume. You'll find reviews that claim that 5th Avenue is generic, forgettable or even an "old lady scent", but nothing could be further from the truth. This perfume is actually a highly underrated gem. I was fortunate to be introduced to it by my mother - a serious collector - and despite the fact that I've owned and worn literally hundreds of perfumes, 5th Avenue remains without a doubt my signature fragrance

Fresh, floral, sophisticated but youthful (I completely disagree with the reviews stating that this isn't a scent for young women), classy and deceptively sexy - 5th avenue positively radiates femininity and style, without being too sweet or girly, nor too overwhelming and powdery. In fact, it strikes just the right balance and in my experience, it literally stops people dead in their tracks.

Its opening floral notes are never cloying thanks to its enduring freshness, with a lush and creamy dry down, and a soft sillage that's perfect for close quarters. Chic and alluring, 5th Avenue invites others to lean in to inhale its gorgeous scent. For me, wearing this perfume never fails to elicit compliments from men and women alike who are struck by its drop dead sexiness and uplifting fragrance.

Despite the fact that it was launched in 1996 and is widely available at a reasonable price, 5th Avenue remains a little-known jewel. Trust me when I say that this perfume will ensure that you always stand out in a crowd and never have to worry about smelling like the rest of the pack.

Finally, I've always appreciated the clean and classic design of the bottle, which was inspired by Manhattan skyscrapers (as is the name). I find its look is in keeping with the timeless appeal of its scent. Rest assured that this one's never going out of style.

I've given this product four lippies for packaging because the cap sometimes falls off. This is not enough to deter me, however. Highly, highly recommended.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/12/2015 5:20:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I LOVE this scent, it reminds me of a very special time in my life, when I was young and so full of energy. I think smelling this would transport me back in time, like a time machine. Because of the sentimental value of this, I gave it 5 points. The price was sooo low because I had actually stolen it from my mother, so it was free. The bottle was huge, I think a 4.2oz-although didn't last very long being how frequently I used it. Unfortunately, I would not repurchase this because I am out of work. With no money. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is pretty, and it is pleasant, but it is nothing special. I like it, I don't love it. It didn't last very long on me (3 hours, tops) and I had to respritz mid-day. Luckily, I only have a purse sized spray and it was inexpensive, so no big waste.

What I *do* get from this one is a nice, sweet, safe floral: The notes I can make out are a blend of lilac, magnolia, bergamot, LOTS OF PEACH and some amber in the drydown. That is it. Not much else, and it's fairly linear aside from an initial hairspray-like burst in the opening. Not a keeper for me, but if you're looking for a great work scent, this will do the trick. Very inoffensive.
(crosspost)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is a classic fragrance though it was made in the 90's ..Imagine a professional -but kind lady in an elegant suit about town , who still likes a feminine touch in her appearance ..This could be perfect 70's scent with aldehyde and white floral notes , though it doesn't have aldhydes in its pyramid ..Very easy to wear , specially to semi-formal occasions ( I wore it once to one of them ) I LOVED its dupe from Avon (Starring ) but sadly it was discontinued so fast in my country , so I have to buy this now which isn't either cheap or easy to get as the Avon one here .

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/31/2014 9:57:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This will be a permanent staple in my wardrobe. As many others have noted, it is clean, feminine, classy and perfect for everyday wear to the office, lending a subtle confidence. Suitable for the 20-90 age group, very few scents are as versatile as this. The price is also right. Fairly long lasting, never overpowering. Just perfect.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/8/2013 12:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

One of the few sweet scents I can wear. I think the only reason is the lily of the valley and carnation - almost all scents that work on me contain one or both of these components. Not my fave by any means, but classy and you can always pick this one up cheap!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I just love this fragrance. This was the first proper perfume my mum ever got me. She got it for me 4 years ago for my 15th birthday. I absolutely loved it and still do. It's perfect for any occasion! I don't believe it has an overly mature feel to it at all. At the same time, it's not a youthful scent. You need to own a certain style and attitude to wear it well. Ill never forget the smell of this perfume and all the memories I have attached to it. Absolutely beautiful!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 5/3/2013 9:20:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Wow. For this price I really was not expecting much...but this perfumed really surprised me. What a pretty, fresh, slightly soapy floral - not at all overwhelming, just a nice and wearable day fragrance all around. "Clean" but in a gentle, feminine way. I really like this.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 4/23/2013 4:11:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I got a gift box of EL fragrances (Sunflowers, Red Door, and 5th Ave) several months ago, and I gave away the others and only kept 5th Avenue. Wow--this is a truly gorgeous fragrance! To me, it's a classically elegant, creamy white floral. It's the fragrance equivalent of Pavlova in an ankle-length white dress dancing to Chopin. Now I'm more of an eclectic, bohemian type, so I don't wear 5th Avenue very often, but it's great for those times when I want to accentuate my prim and proper side. Unlike other reviewers, I wouldn't recommend this for anyone under about 20 years old. Youth should have an undone, impromptu element, and this scent doesn't have an unchoreographed note. Still, it's absolutely luscious!
Note: I took off 1 lippie because this can be a little cloying. Also, the pump on my small bottle looks fragile and cheap.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1375 Reviews
Chance
Chance
963 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1887 Reviews
Angel
Angel
1830 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews
Back to Top