NYX • Slim Lip Pencil - Mauve 831 • Lip Liners

rated 4.5(34 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 eelinvictoria on 1/12/2015 10:00:00 AM more reviews by eelinvictoria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Nice color, sleek design and a good product for the price you pay.

Compared to the lip pencils I've tried from MAC this one goes on creamier, but doesn't last as long. I tried wearing it with just a lipbalm on top, bit the lip pencil faded away in an instant. Due to it being quite creamy I feel like I have to sharpen it very often, and it's not a very long pencil to start with.

It's a great option if you're looking for a drugstore lip pencil. However I will try Whirl from MAC if I miss the color once I've run out, I feel like it's better value for money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 greenkirby28 on 1/9/2015 6:58:00 PM more reviews by greenkirby28

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm quite impressed with the overall quality of NYX's lipliners. I love this shade, Mauve, as it works nicely alone or when paired under most of my lipsticks! It's creamy, smooth and the color just complements my skintone nicely which I was not expecting. I love it worn under Velvet Teddy by MAC or just by on it's own with a little lip balm on top. The ONLY thing I dislike is that it's not an automatic pencil, I just hate sharpening pencils because I always feel like I'm wasting product and I go through these pretty fast. If you can't find these in stock at your local Ulta, I definitely recommend buying these through Ebay because it's become so popular lately that I can never find them in stock.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jtbeautyx3 on 12/26/2014 12:44:00 PM more reviews by jtbeautyx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Next to MAC lipliners, NYX has my heart. I cannot stress how beautiful the colors these lip liners come in are and for less than $5 but catch those Ulta 40% off deals, and you can get them for less than $2. STEAL! Mauve is one of my favorites in addition to Mahogany. It's affordable, long lasting, creamy (not as creamy as MAC though), and pigmented. It's funny how the 90s lip trend came about this year yet these lip liners have been there all along. Love!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 norahgold on 12/26/2014 7:55:00 AM more reviews by norahgold

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love all of the NYX lip liners, but mauve has to be one of my favorites. I'm very fair skinned and it comes off quite dark on me, but not too dark. I always pair it with MAC Velvet Teddy lipstick and it's a perfect match. The lasting power isn't amazing, maybe 4-5 hours if you aren't eating or drinking anything. These lip liners do transfer a bit as well.
Supposedly a dupe for MAC Whirl lip liner at a fraction of the cost.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chayaNY on 11/3/2014 7:04:00 PM more reviews by chayaNY

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It's lovely and rare a lip liner isn't darker than my lips. Love the color, it's also very smooth so no tugging should you want to apply it as an all over lip color. But it's a little too creamy for me so I find with glosses, I don't usually wear lipstick, it's gone too quickly. If not for that I'd repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kayleikinz on 11/3/2014 6:47:00 PM more reviews by kayleikinz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE this liner. I apply it as an all over lip color. The color is super pretty and its a pretty great price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stimwink1 on 8/18/2014 10:09:00 AM more reviews by stimwink1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

First yes I own a couple of MAC liners in Burree and Whirl and I love them. That said I also do like the NYX liners. They are not quite a smooth as MAC but the color dupes are pretty darn close and for someone on a budget they can get a similar look for much less cost.

I am a neutral tone but I lean cooler than warm and I like mauvey tones on my lips. I have several of the NYX neutral liners this is one of my favorites. You do need to use a balm under these liners if you are going to use to fill in your lips they are a little dry and if you have dry flaky lips this is gonna be a hot mess. I will use blistex deep renewal or EOS which is hydrating but not shinny blott it slightly before I fill in and the color will last several hours even eatting and drinking. If my lips get a little dry I'll dab the balm over the top. I don't find I need to re apply the color often.

I line my lips with this as well with some of my more concealer looking nudes and this will make them look much less "dead" looking. Another awesome pairing I have is with the Bite beauty color Cava. It makes the color pop so subtle but not change the gorgeous color of this nude lippy.

I like all the NYX pencils I've used so far. If you don't want to pay $15 for a liner try these I think you will be pleasantly surprised.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 8/2/2014 6:09:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For reference: nc25-30, warm & yellow

I am a huge fan of nyx slim lip liners. They are inexpensive and come in a bunch of different shades. I picked this liner up from my local walgreens for about $3.

This shade is MLBB for me! My lips are pretty pigmented already. This liner looks like a dusty pinky mauve color on my lips. I love pairing this with matte, pinky lipsticks like revlon's mauve it over.

Definitely would repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ElizBehrrr on 1/15/2014 2:30:00 PM more reviews by ElizBehrrr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

Mauve 831 is the best lip liner investment you will ever make, and this is why.

It goes well with ANY nude. If you have lighter lips, it creates a nice dark (but not too dark outline) to make your lips look plump, and if you have darker lips, its the perfect liner to help keep your lipstick in place, while looking sharp and neat

It has small hints of reds and purples, so if you have a pinkish or purple tinted gloss or lipstick, it will pair very well with many different shades.

It's a great base for darker lipsticks, because of the many tones in this lip liner, you can draw this all over your lips to really amp up any lipstick you want!

The smooth texture and color payoff is no different than high end brands, (even BETTER than some in my opinion)

Best of all, it's like, 4 freakin bucks. You just can't beat that!!

It's the most universal liner I have ever seen, or owned. I have gone through about 10 of these in the past couple of years. It's my go to for neutral or color lipsticks/glosses. I encourage EVERYONE to at least give this a shot! And if you don't like it, hey. It was only 4 bucks ;)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MonicaTerese on 11/24/2013 7:34:00 PM more reviews by MonicaTerese

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A great dark nude for those of us who can't wear flesh colored lip liners. Its a little bit darker than my natural lip color but it does give a natural look. I wear this liner with most of my lip products, whether it be darker berry colors, or even light pinks which are usually too pale to wear on their own. The wear was good, even though its a bit drying when you first put it on so make sure your lips are moisturized! This is an awesome product and something I constantly am reaching for!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lip Liners products