The Body Shop • HEMP Body Butter • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.1(51 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 harmonyten on 2/2/2015 9:56:00 AM more reviews by harmonyten

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

One of my all time favorites!! its super thick and heavy great for putting on right before bed ! a little to heavy for the day time my only issue with this is probably the smell its kinda horrible but my friends love it because its such a hippie sent ! would most definitely purchase again excellent for night use super thick creamy and blend able

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 moody on 1/17/2015 5:32:00 AM more reviews by moody

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love this. It is very moisturizing, leaves a nice sheen to the skin, and I looooove the smell. It keeps my skin soft without feeling heavy and it is so easy to spread on the skin. It is a pleasure to use and I will purchase again and again. For me it is HG for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shoesize7 on 10/9/2014 10:14:00 PM more reviews by shoesize7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not particularly fond of the smell. But it does help bring moisture to my skin very well! Unfortunately, due to the smell, I probably will not buy it again. And because I don't use a lot of the product (except on the back of my hands and at the elbows), it has taken me a really long time to finish all the product in the container. I don't really like using it on other parts of my body (especially my legs,even though they can get quite dry because of my hot showers) because it kind of leaves a thick moisture coating that doesn't really feel nice against clothing.

I would recommend the Hemp Hand Protector if you have some really chapped hands. Works a lot better than this product. I know, this is BODY BUTTER, so my recommendation might not be fitting, but just in case there are others out there (like me) who are using a body butter as hand lotion... that would be my recommendation to you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 foxylesley29 on 2/17/2014 3:20:00 PM more reviews by foxylesley29

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this since it first came out and I have always loved it. Yes, I even love the smell! It moisturizes very well. I just opened a new tub last week and noticed they seemed to have changed the formula. It's noticeably thicker and the color is now a blue-green minty color instead of the darker, more olive green color it used to be. I am not happy at all with this formula change. Hopefully it's just a weird batch.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 picklegirl on 10/2/2013 11:02:00 PM more reviews by picklegirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The smell is intolerable. Unfortunately, the moisturizing properties are not spectacular enough to override the stench of this cream. It does work very well, but it is super greasy and takes forever to sink into my skin, so my pajamas and sheets smell like my medicine cabinet. I woke my partner up the first time I tried to creep into bed with this stuff slathered on me because the smell was so potent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 5/3/2013 12:40:00 PM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I like the body shop butters, and this one is adequately creamy and moisturizing. However, I've found that the hemp oil in it sits on the skin for hours after the butter has been rubbed in and makes skin feel oily and gross. Not a big fan of the scent, either. It is pretty awful - like earthen clay and dirt. I would not buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StarsnRocketsES on 12/31/2012 10:09:00 PM more reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This body butter does moisturize really well, but the smell is just awful- like nature (trees, fresh cut grass, and leaves). I do wear it to work daily because my skin is super dry in the winter and this helps keep it moisturized. I would not repurchase this due to the scent. I hope this product is re released with an improved scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* monicaandree on 12/10/2012 4:46:00 PM more reviews by monicaandree

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a great moisturizer - if you can tolerate the scent! It definitely has that "hippie" smell - like hemp and patchouli and incense all wrapped in dreadlocks and macrame. I prefer clean or fruity/floral scents, so if you are the same, steer clear of this. I was using it on my feet with socks overnight until I noticed the smell in my bedsheets and it took 2 washings to remove it completely. If you like that kind of smell, you will love this. If you prefer clean and/or lightly scented products, avoid it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 zahpphire on 12/10/2012 4:20:00 PM more reviews by zahpphire

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

This product was just not for me. The smell was very very annoying in my opinion, because it got all over my clothes and it was just too strong for me, and I didn't really like it in the first place. I guess it has good moisturizing properties but it took way too long to sink into my skin. My skin felt greasy and I just thought this was too heavy

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 itskattack on 2/10/2012 9:55:00 PM more reviews by itskattack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Possibly the best lotion I have ever used. I put this on all over my body the first night that I got it, and the next day my skin was silky smooth, where as the night before my skin was so dry and flaky.
I'm not sure if I like the smell or not, but it's not a horrible smell, it's just super earthy, after awhile it just starts to smell like lotion. I also have the body wash and the two together work wonderfully.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Lotions/ Creams products