The Body Shop Banana Nourishing Shampoo

3.5

86 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

Water (Solvent/Diluent), Sodium Laureth Sulfate (Surfactant), Musa Paradisica (Banana) Fruit (Emollient/Lubricant), Glyceryl Hydroxystearate (Emollient), Lauramide DEA (Surfactant), Cocamidopropyl Betaine (Surfactant), Phenoxyethanol (Preservative), Benzyl Alcohol (Preservative), Sodium Benzoate (Preservative), Panthenol (Skin/Hair Conditioning Agent), Polyquaternium-7 (Hair Conditioner), Stearic Acid (Emulsifier), Sodium Chloride (Viscosity Modifier), Methylparaben (Preservative), Fragrance (Fragrance), Citric Acid (pH Adjuster), Disodium EDTA (Chelating Agent), Butylparaben (Preservative), Ethylparaben (Preservative), Isobutylparaben (Preservative), Propylparaben (Preservative), Ascorbic Acid (Antioxidant), Yellow 5 (Colour), Red 4 (Colour) [January 19, 2010]


on 7/6/2015 11:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Okay first off, the smell is incredible. Something about the smell seems to promise that it will make your hair incredibly soft and silky. I wish it made my hair feel as nice as it smelled. Nothing too special.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think the number one reason that I (and others) bought this is because of the smell. It's divine and very soothing and I wish it was edible! I was pleasantly surprised that it did more than just smell good. I have thin hair and this added some volume, probably because the formula is so thick. The conditioner also softens my hair and helps smooth down any split ends. I've used other shampoos that have boosted shine more than this one though.

The only problem is that Body Shop seems to have taken it off the shelves for Christmas. I hope they bring it back!


on 12/24/2014 11:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This product does what it says it will do.
it makes my hair soooo shiny and somewhat soft.
I mean EXTREMELY SHINY.
my hair is pretty damaged and this makes it look very healthy.
I enjoy the banana scent, but I can see how some people would not like the fake-banana-smell. It is strong and fills the shower when you use the product, and even lingers on your hair which I LOVE. the scent did not bother me or irritate my scalp
the price was great, definitely wait to buy it on sale.

However, it does nothing more than add shine, some softness, and smell good. it does NOT claim to add moisture, protein, nourishment, color protection, fullness, etc. none of that.
My hair is damaged, color treated, and fine so it needs more than just shine.
When I use this I end up using more leave in conditioner because this shampoo did not provide extra nourishment. It also didn't control oil

I wish it did more for my hair than just extra shine and some softness.
I'll finish the bottles, but since it does not give me any real long term benefits I won't purchase it again. (why would I use something that gives the appearance of healthy hair when I can use something that will actually make my hair healthier and more moisturized)
Great product, does what it says it will, I just wish it did more
I feel the exact same way about the conditioner


on 9/26/2014 10:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I just recently discovered this. It's been about 2 weeks. I have normal, but color treated hair. It's super fine and a semi sensitive scalp. This has caused no irritation or itchiness. It has the nicest mild scent and it really does do a fantastic job. I alternate between this and Jason Tea Tree shampoo. I honestly don't need to use the Jason shampoo because my scalp feels really good after switching. I just need to use it up :)

I have very red hair, I find that is hasn't faded it any more than my other color safe shampoos. It also doesn't leave a coating or greasy feeling on the hair but still provides silky shine. I enjoy it. I don't use conditioner. I know, I know for PH balancing purposes I should. I do use a spray in conditioner and that's better than nothing. I don't like to use cream rinse conditioners on my super fine hair because it leaves it flat.

I just love how clean and nice this makes my hair. I paid under $5 for my bottle on sale. I am going to buy it again for sure!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2014 6:57:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I remember this from the 90s, and was in the mood for the lovely banana scent. It smells so good! Unfortunately the shampoo is hard to spread through the hair and doesn't lather very well, and the conditioner gives very little slip or moisture. I ignored the bad reviews, hoping that since my hair is fine with oiler roots, it would work for me. But after it's dry, my hair feels very dry and matted, and a bit tangled. This might be good for oiler hair types who are avoiding silicones or heavy ingredients. I do prefer some light silicones for the slip. Overall, a great smelling shampoo & conditioner combo, but expensive & drying on my hair. The shampoo is, however, better on my hair than the conditioner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Not a fan of the results this shampoo and conditioner gave me. I feel like it did nothing to my hair to give it body or life - didn't even make my hair feel softer. I enjoy the smell but it doesn't seem to work with my body chemistry. Meh...


on 4/13/2014 5:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I have dry-ish, very curly hair with a very dry, sensitive, dermatitis-affected scalp. I was excited to try this shampoo because I usually like Body Shop products and I loved the scent and high banana content, as I'd heard banana is nice and hydrating for dry, irritated scalps. I had read the (mixed) reviews here and chose to ignore the ones that found it drying and listen to the rave reviews, bearing in mind it was a cult product brought back from the 90's...

Well it should stay in the 90's. I HATED it. It completely stripped my hair and turned me into a frizzy mess, and after about a week and a half (I don't wash my hair every day, only every other day so that's only a few washes) I had to stop using it because it flared up my dermatitis so badly that I was noticeably flaking, too. I had to put oil all over my scalp and hair (incidentally the Body Shop's coconut hair oil, which I really like) for an hour before shampooing for the next two or three washes just to calm it down and get my hair back to normal.

I can't answer for other hair types, but if you have in any way dry hair or a sensitive scalp, STAY AWAY from this.


on 3/31/2014 2:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The main reason I was attracted to this product was because of the scent. It smells like a bunch of bananas! It resembles what I think synthetic bananas would smell like, but I still thoroughly enjoyed it in my shower time.
Other than smelling great, the product itself was OK. It was a decent shampoo and didn't strip my hair. It conditioned my slightly damaged hair well. However, my biggest peeve with this shampoo was that I felt like it was a bit too moisturizing. My scalp would begin to look oily after the 2nd day. On the 3rd day, I definitely needed to wash my hair again. From my experience, if you're someone who has a moderately dry scalp then I would suggest you try this.
The price isn't too bad for this product. You can get it to work out to $4 when they have one of their usual sales - either 50% off or BOGO deals.


on 11/11/2013 10:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It doen't offer any hydration or treatment to my hair. It's a normal shampoo with nothing special about it except a nice fruity scent.


on 9/17/2013 10:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I HATE this product! It is cheap crap not worth a penny, so paying any price for it is too much. I have never had problems with my scalp, except from the odd manageable bout of product build up, but after using this my scalp erupted with flakes and scabs, and it's only now, after splashing out on Aveda shampoo that I've managed to sort it out. It made my hair soft, but so soft that it was wispy and was a nightmare to style. Horrid, horrid product.


Back to Top