The Body Shop • Banana Nourishing Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.5(80 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 juliaday on 4/13/2014 5:48:00 PM more reviews by juliaday

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I have dry-ish, very curly hair with a very dry, sensitive, dermatitis-affected scalp. I was excited to try this shampoo because I usually like Body Shop products and I loved the scent and high banana content, as I'd heard banana is nice and hydrating for dry, irritated scalps. I had read the (mixed) reviews here and chose to ignore the ones that found it drying and listen to the rave reviews, bearing in mind it was a cult product brought back from the 90's...

Well it should stay in the 90's. I HATED it. It completely stripped my hair and turned me into a frizzy mess, and after about a week and a half (I don't wash my hair every day, only every other day so that's only a few washes) I had to stop using it because it flared up my dermatitis so badly that I was noticeably flaking, too. I had to put oil all over my scalp and hair (incidentally the Body Shop's coconut hair oil, which I really like) for an hour before shampooing for the next two or three washes just to calm it down and get my hair back to normal.

I can't answer for other hair types, but if you have in any way dry hair or a sensitive scalp, STAY AWAY from this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lilshaxter on 3/31/2014 2:40:00 PM more reviews by lilshaxter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The main reason I was attracted to this product was because of the scent. It smells like a bunch of bananas! It resembles what I think synthetic bananas would smell like, but I still thoroughly enjoyed it in my shower time.
Other than smelling great, the product itself was OK. It was a decent shampoo and didn't strip my hair. It conditioned my slightly damaged hair well. However, my biggest peeve with this shampoo was that I felt like it was a bit too moisturizing. My scalp would begin to look oily after the 2nd day. On the 3rd day, I definitely needed to wash my hair again. From my experience, if you're someone who has a moderately dry scalp then I would suggest you try this.
The price isn't too bad for this product. You can get it to work out to $4 when they have one of their usual sales - either 50% off or BOGO deals.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mariangelin on 11/11/2013 10:40:00 PM more reviews by mariangelin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It doen't offer any hydration or treatment to my hair. It's a normal shampoo with nothing special about it except a nice fruity scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 JennaferSmall on 9/17/2013 10:36:00 AM more reviews by JennaferSmall

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I HATE this product! It is cheap crap not worth a penny, so paying any price for it is too much. I have never had problems with my scalp, except from the odd manageable bout of product build up, but after using this my scalp erupted with flakes and scabs, and it's only now, after splashing out on Aveda shampoo that I've managed to sort it out. It made my hair soft, but so soft that it was wispy and was a nightmare to style. Horrid, horrid product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Annisty on 8/28/2013 7:58:00 PM more reviews by Annisty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This shampoo is great for leaving your hair squeaky clean, shiny, and soft. I love the fact that it's made from natural ingredients. I love the smell too; it's a strong banana smell but not over powering. This shampoo lathers easily and lasts me usually about a month or more. I prefer using it with the matching conditioner however, because it can sometimes leave your hair feeling a bit dry without. Also, without using the conditioner, wet hair can be difficult to comb through. It is a bit pricy for the amount of product but the body shop is is slightly more expensive. Overall though, I do like this product. I have repurchased it in the past and plan to again in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jessica24601 on 8/7/2013 8:17:00 PM more reviews by Jessica24601

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

It's one of my favs. I have wavy, rather thick black hair as I am Indian. I find it makes my hair look shiny, glossy and just as good as Frederick's Olive Oil which I cannot afford right now, so I really like it. I have stocked up on two bottles. I use it on my body as well sometimes. It's sooo yummy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thechain on 8/2/2013 10:41:00 AM more reviews by thechain

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Nom nom nom!
This shampoo smells delicious!
To me, the texture is pretty standard for shampoo- but creamier.

It hydrates and de-tangles hair beautifully.
Even my damaged hair looks glossy after using this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dilllll90 on 7/15/2013 8:52:00 PM more reviews by dilllll90

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The texture is the least thing that I like about it. It really runs like mashed banana smoothie, and smells like rotten banana too. However, it is not at all greasy when applying it to hair, and even without conditioner afterwards, it is still quite smoothing. I have used only half a bottle since this item is so popular it always is difficult to find in store. I kind like it, I usually use this type of shampoo for 3-4 times per week and the icy blue one for the rest of week, my hair is dandruff free, and smooth, shiny.
I overall like the idea of body shop shampoos for no SLS, silicons, so I shall keep purchasing TBS shampoos.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 papercrane97 on 6/17/2013 5:34:00 PM more reviews by papercrane97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The only plus of this is that it smelled really really good. It wasn't too fake-banana-y, just a nice, rich, fruity scent. However, this dried out my hair like nobody's business. Also, it's full of sulphates, and although it didn't say it wasn't, I was still disappointed. The bottle was really small too, and the price was a bit high for the quantity.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Nandana on 4/20/2013 7:18:00 AM more reviews by Nandana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

This smells soooooo goooood...I purchased it without even giving it any thought. This shampoo dint do anything for my hair. It made it so rough, unmanageable and gave me lots of tangles. The conditioner dint help much. At just one wash I lost so much hair that equals losing in 3 washes!!! The smell dint even last for an hour. It did give shine but what's the point? I lost so much hair and ended up having it dry and straw-like. I used rusk leave in after that, dint work! Next wash I tried TiGi leave in...dint work!! The last wash I tried Aussie leave in and still dint work... I have lost a LOT of hair now!! I ended up giving the shampoo to my friend who likes it a lot. I am never repurchasing it again. I use the conditioner to wash my cashmere sweaters once a while and they really smell great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Shampoo products