Donna Karan • Cashmere Mist • Fragrances

rated 3.8(334 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 redeverlasting on 7/5/2014 2:55:00 PM more reviews by redeverlasting

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i received a sample of this with the purchase of another perfume. it was my favorite from the sample collection box of over 8 scents. whenever i switch up and try something new, i spray a few sprays of this sample and my husband always says i smell great and asks what im wearing.
now, here's why i dont rate it higher. even though its a nice light scent, it reminds me of hair grease. really nice smelling hair grease. in fact, it is because i have braids this summer and was oiling my scalp this morning that i finally could place the scent. hair grease. nice, but not something i would pay big money for when i could just put the same hair grease i used on my head this morning on my elbows and knees and smell like it all over.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* delectante on 4/3/2014 6:35:00 PM more reviews by delectante

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Unlike some of the more recent offerings at the Nordstrums fragrance counters, Cashmere Mist has a compelling name. However, the olfactory experience leaves something to be desired. With a name like “Cashmere Mist,” I expect, nay demand, a scent that is soft, cuddly, powdery, and sweetly charming. On my skin, to my nose, there is only dust, plastic, and old soap. I do perceive an airy baby powder, but my guess is that the suede note interferes with the essence. I try to reach out to the lily of the valley, then the jasmine only to have the musky, almost sweaty, suede rear its dusty head. I call out to vanilla and amber only to find the bitter bergamot is dancing a sinister minuet with the cashmere wood, the unwashed suede conducting the orchestra. The overall sensation is stale. I am reminded of an old decrepit mansion whose library must have seen some long past affair unfold amidst all those books, with Her soap and His spicy cologne clinging to the pages. I offer Cashmere Mist to the altar of skin chemistry. This fume is not for me. A pity. I do so love the great powder bombs of Kenzo Flower and VS Heavenly. To its credit, this mist has a very respectable longevity, (some 7-8 hours), though only passable sillage. Do try it. Maybe you will have something warm and familiar bloom on your wrist. Notes: bergamot, lily of the valley, jasmine, suede, musk, sandalwood, amber, cashmere wood, vanilla.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeupandcupcakes on 2/15/2014 10:37:00 AM more reviews by makeupandcupcakes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this fragrance! It has a powdery smell with some floral notes in there. Maybe gardenia or dry rose? Be aware that it does have a powdery scent which I'm fine of but some people hate it so just be aware because it's very noticeable! The scent usually last from 4-6 hours which is really nice. The bottle design is a bit weird and the cap broke kind of easily so you really need to be careful about that too. Overall I recommend this product a lot but just to those who actually like powdery scents because once again, it is VERY noticeable since it's quite strong! I never repurchase perfume because I always want to try new ones but don't get me wrong there! I REALLY LIKE THIS PERFUME!!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 McSwimmer on 2/13/2014 9:23:00 PM more reviews by McSwimmer

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Ho-hum scent but way too powdery for me. Anything that smells this strong of powder automatically reminds me of baby powder--something I didn't like with Sensual Nude. But more importantly, Cashmere Mist didn't last on my skin longer than 1 hour. Not interested.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 12/18/2013 3:52:00 PM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For me, Cashmere Mist is just a boring blah baby powder scent -- with nothing else added. Sorry to its legions of fans -- I know this is hugely popular -- and yes, I own a bottle, I have for years -- but I almost never use it. On the rare occasion that I use it, I'm generally *bored stiff* with it and restless by 9am -- wishing I had packed a more interesting and flavorful scent in my purse that I could spray overtop.

In my humble opinion, this is a tremendously conservative fragrance, for those who really don't like perfume very much. To me, choosing Cashmere Mist is like going to Baskin-Robbins 31 Flavors and ordering a single scoop of plain vanilla -- in a cup. I mean that metaphorically, in terms of being ultraconservative -- not scent-wise.

It has good strength and longevity. It's soft, yet the EDP is still quite strong, and it's possible to overspray. Inoffensive and safe for church, hospital, or office wear -- seems more like a bath product than a spray perfume.

I'd put all of the following in the same broad general category with Cashmere Mist -- Chanel #5, Victoria's Secret Heavenly, Emporio Armani Elle, DKNY Pure, Estee Lauder Pure White Linen, Bath & Body Works Sea Island Cotton, Love's Baby Soft.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Smithcat on 7/30/2013 3:59:00 AM more reviews by Smithcat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this perfume, but it's difficult to find in the UK (except online). I wear it day or night and it always fits - whatever the occasion. It lasts for most of the day and smells light, flowery and feminine. It is quite a subtle fragrance & doesn't have the awful heaviness or musky notes of so many perfumes. Does that make it for old people? I think it's for people who are comfortable with themselves & don't need to prove a point - whatever their age!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 funnygirlup on 6/3/2013 7:12:00 PM more reviews by funnygirlup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

i personally feel this is a very mature smelling scent and one thats not suitable for summer as it is more of a cozy scent for wintertime. its powdery and stays close to the skin but what turns me off is the jasmine-i find it to be very predominant and dont like it as i find it sharp smelling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lovelyswan on 5/9/2013 2:04:00 PM more reviews by lovelyswan

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

There is nothing "old lady" about this scent at all. On some women this a soft, refined, fresh powdery floral. But on me? This is straight up - freshly powdered baby girl. Definitely test before you buy.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maquin22 on 3/21/2013 6:19:00 AM more reviews by maquin22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

There is a reason this has been around for so many years. The scent is subtle, powdery and slightly musky.. Body chemistry will make this scent vary from person to person to a degree i have not seen with other perfumes. altho i enjoy the scent on me - clean, soft, warm and powdery, the scent was very sour and sharp on a friend of mine..
This was my everyday winter/fall perfume when it was first released back in the 90s. I have worn it on and off throughout the years. I purchased a bottle a few months ago out of nostalgia and my df made a comment that i smell like me again and he finds it comforting. Will def keep this around for the cooler months

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Emily0816 on 3/20/2013 7:34:00 PM more reviews by Emily0816

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This smells too much like "perfume," specifically like hair spray, and there's an unpleasant ashtray note mixed with a cheap car freshener. Maybe I need to let it develop more, but those are my early impressions.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Donna Karan products

More Fragrances products