Elizabeth Arden • Smoky Eyes Powder Pencil • Eyeliner

rated 4.0(33 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blooiejagwa on 11/7/2013 3:23:00 PM more reviews by blooiejagwa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I love this. I agree that there are cheaper products like this, I used to use a random brand of eyeliner years ago like this, called Medora of London, very old school..my mom also used it in a deep teal colour...but nowadays I haven't been able to find anything similar. (It is not crisp and inky black like other pencils available- those can look very harsh- i still love that kind for some looks.) This goes on very well, is pigmented, but not dark. Am surprised by the reviewer who claims this gives the darkest waterline: anything but! It will show as soft black or grey but def not the darkest! It is not that melting type of creamy eyeliner which you can find in all brands from Prestige to Make Up For Ever. It is softer, the edge always has a slight haze and effortlessly smokes out, perfect amount of pigment. It looks so so nice on. I love Mac Smolder for smudgy/smokey looks but this gives a similar look but better because - kind of 'powdery' result (not greasy), lasts longer but easier to take off if you make a mistake, beautiful finish. You can 'build up' the colour which sounds like something ppl would avoid in eyeliner, but honestly I love it. It's not like Nyc liners or something cheap...where you need to go over a million times and poke your skin till you get a hint of colour...it is pigmented and smooth, yet buildable.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ladyc74 on 4/2/2013 7:07:00 AM more reviews by ladyc74

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the much-lauded pencil adored by makeup artists, but to my mind it's not the best. I think that's because I like to line the waterline of my eyes and prefer an intense, defined look to a soft, smoky one. For the latter, I'm sure this works fantastically. And don't get me wrong, it IS a great pencil - you get a good dark line that lasts well, even inside the eye, and fades nicely. But it's Bobbi Brown Longwear Eye Pencils all the way for this eyeliner fanatic. They give an amazingly intense line that doesn't budge, and they don't irritate my eyes either. They have a more pigmented, waxy texture, whereas these are soft and powdery, as the name implies, so I think the EA pencils are probably your go-to if you want to be able to smudge and smoke your pencil.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SarahLynn21 on 2/8/2013 5:20:00 AM more reviews by SarahLynn21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this for the first time about six years ago as part of a gift set I received for Christmas. I instantly loved it so much so that I haven't switched eyeliners once since then. I adore the sponge end which works great for blending but the real selling point is the amazing eyeliner formula itself. It blends wonderfully and doesn't smudge at all once it's on also it stays put when I'm at gym without fading or running and it also holds up very well when I'm at the lake swimming. I use the espresso color which accents my blue eyes perfectly and isn't too dark for my ivory colored skin but I've tried the black and it works just as well and I'm sure all the other color options are just as good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JadoreNelle on 1/16/2013 2:00:00 PM more reviews by JadoreNelle

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this liner! I am on my second pencil now. This gives you the darkest waterline! It melts on your waterline with no need tug or repeat application. This is better than the Urban Decay Zero liner, WAY better. Kinda mad at myself for cheating on Arden with UD. Hands down, I will use this pencil for the rest of my life. *FYI Marilyn Monroe's favorite eyeliner was Elizabeth Arden's Smoky Eyes Powder Pencil in Espresso.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Ginaisobel on 10/9/2012 4:01:00 AM more reviews by Ginaisobel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Normally I think Elizabeth Arden have great products, but I was disappointed with this eyeliner. The pigmentation is not deep and you have to apply significant pressure to get a dark line along your eyelid. It is difficult to get the colour to stay on the water line on the lower eyelid. The staying power of the colour during the day is also very poor. Unfortunately in the case of good quality eyeliners I think it is better to pay more for the higher end brands if you want a glamorous look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shamuball on 1/27/2012 11:02:00 PM more reviews by shamuball

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i'm surprised by the positive reviews. i have this in mulberry, which is a plummy color that looks great when i swatch it on the back of my hand, but somehow shows up a lot lighter on my lids. it's not creamy, so it feels scratchy on my eyelids and it doesn't define my eyes like a liner should b/c it's too light. also the smudger is useless + also doesn't feel good on my skin. boo.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 spykitty on 6/26/2011 10:38:00 AM more reviews by spykitty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

i'm pretty pleased with this pencil as i've bought it in black violet and that's exactly what it is -- a dark, blackish violet. no plummy colors, just straight blackish purple, very nice indeed. really interesting on the eye. it's got a built-in smudging tip that seems a bit useless until you try to smudge with your finger or something else. i have rather light brown eyes, and this really brings them out a lot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 5/12/2011 10:35:00 PM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like the colors but these all fade off me within an hour or two so I won't buy again.Mulberry 05 is a very sheer, pale smoky plum with soft bronze pink shimmer. Pine is a warm, dark green, almost black. Blue Sky is a light blue shimmer (LE 2011) and Black Violet is a blackish purple (LE2011).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BalsamandAmbrosia on 2/7/2011 8:23:00 AM more reviews by BalsamandAmbrosia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i've been wearing this liner since my early college days, i'm still in college, but this product has definitely stayed with me, and i have fond memories of wearing it. This was the eyeliner that I first used that I taught myself how to apply eyeliner with. The colors i've worn are smokey black, gunmetal, and midnight (my personal favorite). This e/l works very well with one of the exceptional or ceramide lipsticks from Arden. The formula is definitely not the creamiest i've tried, but the color is soft and blendable. It can be a little dificult to smooth on compared to Laura Mercier's khol pencil (which is very smooth by the way), but it lasts a long time and its easy to touch up.

It doesn't smear that much, but it does have the tendency to dissapear underneath the eyelid. Yes, it actually vanishes. The formula is a little lackluster. So if your looking for a long-wearing, creamy eyeliner, i would defintely recommend Estee Lauder's Double Wear pencil e/l over this one.


UPDATE (as of 11/12/11): Pine, smokey black, and midnight are my HG colors. Pine is my favorite.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roguefighter414 on 2/3/2011 8:17:00 PM more reviews by roguefighter414

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty expensive eyeliner to buy at normal price, and I personally do not think it is worth 16$, so I bought is for $10.50 at the Lisa's Cosmetics sale. I guess this product depends on how you want to use it, but I'm not a professional makeup artist or whatever and just want something simple. I love this eye liner. I hate makeup that lasts forever and I personally do like my makeup to fade along the way during the day, easier to take off at the end of the day. I love this yeliner! I have it in Gunmetal, and I use it every morning before school, and if I make a mistake, I love that I can just smudge it out right away with the other end. I will definetly buy this product again, but only if it's on sale.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Elizabeth Arden products

More Eyeliner products