Noxzema Original Skin Cream


649 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $


Water , Stearic Acid , Linseed Oil , Soybean Oil , Fragrance , Ammonium Hydroxide , Camphor , Menthol , Eucalyptus Oil , Propylene Glycol , Gelatin , Calcium Hydroxide (end)///// (ORIGINAL DEEP CLEANSING CREAM INGREDIENTS: 4/9/15): Water, Stearic Acid, Linum Usitatissimum Seed Oil (Linseed), Glycine Soja Oil (Soybean), Propylene Glycol, Gelatin, Camphor, Phenol, Ammonium Hydroxide, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Oil, Calcium Hydroxide, Menthol, Sodium Bicarbonate, Calcium Chloride, Magnesium Sulfate, Potassium Chloride, Fragrance.

on 8/20/2015 9:16:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Other

Let us bow our heads for a moment of silence as the cool clean icy classic has died. What was a product well known and loved for over a hundred years has now been reduced to a chemical soup with the main four star natural oil ingredients , that have carried the cream so well and for so long, all but one being replaced (the eucalyptus). Some time in within the last year Unilever did some modification and took out the essential oils because , according to them, customers were complaining about some of the ingredients like the camphor. This sucks! It seems all the classics that our mothers and grandmothers, and even great grandmothers, used have been reduced to modified recipes, using cheaper ingredients, but are being touted by companies as being the same exact thing people have used for decades(I'm looking at you Pond's Classic Cold Cream!). Pay attention to the label and stock up if you are a die hard fan of the original recipe (or whatever it's been the past ten plus years). Look for camphor, menthol, phenol and eucalyptus on the label if you want the "old" formula. I use a jar of the old formula as a mask and let it sit on my skin for anywhere between 1-10 minutes to help reduce any acne I have. I had to do some online research and watch vintage TV ads to figure out how this used to be used back in the day. The old instructions were to let this sit on the face for a minute or so and then wipe off with a wet cloth. This works better IMO if the water is hot. My skin calms down and acne is reduced if I follow these directions. If I don't and just apply and wipe off I get a thick film left on my skin which leads to clogged pores. I've always been a fan of using this in the morning as a wake me up since it feels like I've washed my face in snow and the cool tingle from the eucalyptus on my eye lids wakes me up immediately.
Once this jar is used up and if I cannot find any more jars of the old formula I will not buy again because it's those plant oils that make this product so great at killing bacteria and treating and reducing acne.
Would like to point out that this product is NOT KOSHER OR HALAL!!! It contains gelatin and according to Unilever is sourced from pork fat.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 8/15/2015 10:59:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I got a tiny jar of this in the sample bins because I wanted to see if it would do amazing things for my skin. Unfortunately it did not. All those 80 year old grandmas who used only this all their lives and had youthful skin must have been using something else when their child was not looking. This irritated my skin big time. I got a red welt on the cheek like a burn. And yes I did use this for washing my face as a teen in the sixties. That was recommended and it worked fine, but teens have tougher skin that can withstand harsh ingredients. This is not good for paper-thin, aging skin so why did I try it? As an experiment. I get into belief systems about products and I thought this was all bad. I wanted to prove myself wrong if possible. Instead I saw my belief was correct: whatever is in it is not good for my skin and actually hurt my skin. It took several days to heal. Take any review with a grain of salt, because you don't know the full story behind the 80 year old's amazing skin. It could have been as simple as diet or climate or avoiding the sun. For sure it could not have been this. As the current owners changed the formula after buying it from the original manufacturer, I am sure it is worse now than it was originally.

on 8/3/2015 6:56:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I used this years ago and then, for some reason I didn't recall, I stopped. When I heard they were "reformulating" the original, I decided to try it again, for old times' sake, before it changed.

And now I remember why I stopped using it.

It feels great going on. It smells great - I love the menthol/camphor/eucalyptus scent. It's very cooling, easy to use, and does a good job of cleansing.

But here's the dealbreaker. After it's all rinsed off, a scent remains. And it's not a good scent - not menthol, not camphor, not eucalyptus. I can't put my finger on it, but it's not pleasant at all. So that's why I stopped using it years ago, and that's why I'm stopping now. I wanted to like this, as a nostalgia thing, but no.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 7/29/2015 4:15:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

My inlaws use this as eyemakeup remover but I used this as face cleanser.

Pro: Refreshing eucalyptus scent. Cooling effect. Does not cause breakout. Rather it calms acne.

Cons: bad packaging, hard to take out without spatula. When rinsed off, it leaves strange oily film on my face. This product does not remove makeup either.

I have mixed feeling about this product yet still going to purchase it to use when I am not wearing makeup nor sunscreen.

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Apparently Noxema will no longer include Camphor they have completely changed the formula so stock up on it where you see it at the stores that carry the older version still. It seems that Target and Wal-mart are already stocking the new formula. When I emailed them asking why the Noxema I purchased didn't contain camphore they said Noxzema products go under extensive testing before being introduced and that the older formula is no longer being manufactured. I guess I will have to buy a couple more jars of the older formula where i have seen it carried because the new formula does nothing for my skin and has a lot more ingredients than the older formula. But the original Noxzema is amazing for my skin. Cleared me up when I had seemingly tried everything to get rid of stubborn flesh colored bumps all over my face.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

on 5/17/2015 2:11:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Bought this a couple months ago after not using for a very long time. It's still a solid makeup remover. I've never mined the smell, it actually conjures up many great memories of my youth. It doesn't make my maturing skin feel dry and also doesn't make my oily T zone feel like an oil slick. My 13 year old daughter can use it and it won't break her out. Just still an all around good product.

on 4/23/2015 8:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was SO drying. My skin felt like it was cracking after using this. There are far better cleansers like this, and around the same price point too (cold creams!).

on 4/2/2015 9:42:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

wonderful product!! I used this when I was a little girl but stopped for a while, up until about a month ago. I don't have acne prone skin but I do get the occasional breakouts, unfortunately. So what I do to get rid of them is something I've recently found out many people do! Basically just use it as an overnight mask, but be sure to wash your face with another cleanser in the morning since noxzema is really heavy and thick, and leaving it on for too long might cause even more breakouts. My favorite cleanser!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 3/23/2015 2:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I tried this after reading a post about a girl trying the routine her grandmother used, which revolved around using this cleanser. The girl slathered it on at night and then only used water to rinse it off in the morning.

The comments about leaving noxzema on your face at night and then experiencing pimple shrinkage is true. It really happened for me and I was really excited. However, one thing I noticed is that washing it off with water in the morning was not enough to get rid of it. One thing about this cream is that it's very dense. It takes getting used to because it's a bit uncomfortable. Cleansing simply with water still left that heavy feeling on my skin all day, signifying to me that the noxzema was still there. To give you a reference, I have acne prone skin and have been primarily experiencing only hormonal acne (acne near my chin and jawline). I thought that the residual noxzema on my skin couldn't be too bad of a thing since it helped shrink my pimples... But after a few days of this I broke out on my cheeks and forehead, places I don't generally get acne anymore. So, for girls using this to get rid of acne, I fully endorse this cleanser as a night time mask, but would recommend using an additional cleanser to wash it off fully in the morning.

on 3/12/2015 5:11:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Hi girls....I am in my late 50's, and I remember my grandmother using this. Her skin was simply beautiful. She passed at the age of 80 and her skin looked like she was 50!. I use it everyday faithfully. I love the way it is smells, and the feel of it being creamy. I use it twice a day. In the morning before applying any creams or foundations, and at night to wash away the daily grime and makeup. For all you young girls out there, take care of your skin NOW. It will pay off in the end when you look in the mirror at 50! It is a product you can afford and you will just love it!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Back to Top