Mavala 002 Protective Base Coat

4.4

15 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Butyl Acetate, Ethyl Acetate, Alcohol Denat, Nitrocellulose, Tosylamide/Epoxy Resin, Polyvinyl Butyral, Isopropyl Alcohol, Trimethyl Pentanyl Diisobutyrate, Etocrylene, Green 6 (CI 61565)


on 1/25/2015 4:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is my first base coat and I bought this due to the great reviews on here and on Amazon. I always have my nails painted and get annoyed at the stains that are left behind, so I decided to try and do something about it. I've been using this for about 2 months (nail polish change is done weekly) and this makes a great, smooth base. Adding this as the first layer does not make my 2-3 layers of polish too thick, which was a concern. I was hoping this fade the stains that were already on my nails from years of using nail polish without a base coat, but if it's done so it's a very faint improvement. I don't smoke, so the stains are purely from dark polish but they aren't terrible stains either. Baking soda and lemon doesn't help. Maybe I need to give it more time for results, but the top to this nail polish is a pain to open. I can't even get it off with a rubber grippy pad so I always have to do my nails with my husband around to open the bottle for me. I will probably research and try another base coat next time around.



on 1/19/2015 8:02:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Great brush! Even better, it makes my polish look great. I have been wearing Chanel Ballerina (a very pale pink) by itself for a long time. I just do a single coat on Monday and it looks great. But I saw this in my drawer a couple weeks ago, and applied a thin coat before the Chanel. The polish looked a lot better, AND it lasted till Saturday. OK, maybe Friday... but since it's pale pink I didn't need to stress over it till Saturday.


on 8/17/2014 12:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have been using this base coat for 3 or 4 years (Mavala is the most widely available nail brand in Spain) just as an automatic step in my manicure, without thinking about it. Once, i did my manicure while away from home and didn't have this base with me. When i removed the red nail varnish all my nails were stained and a bit yellow! I didnt even know that could happen! Thats when i knew this product was a gem. I am sure there are other great base coats out there, but if you buy this you can be certain that not even black polish will stain your nails. Ps: i have ridges on my toes and it conceals them too


on 4/20/2013 8:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is my go-to base and have been using it for years. Applies evenly, dries fast, prevents nail staining, you get a good amount of product for a fair price, the brush and packaging are pretty good and it doesn't turn to glue consistency. My only complain is that I don't think it extends the wear time of nail color. I'd repurchase, though.


on 10/1/2011 1:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This little unhyped and often overlooked basecoat is one of my preferred bases. I bought it one day in a lunch break. I needed a new basecoat, and all my "normal" brands was sold out. I was in a hurry so I just bought this thinking that at least it was cheap. At first I was surprised at the high quality of the brush. Then I was surprised at the short drying time and how easy it made the following coat go on. When I removed my nail polish, I was happy to see that my nails weren't stained, and a few months later I was impressed that the basecoat still wasn't thick in the bottle. I often use a ridge filler and now and then a nail hardener, but if you don't have special needs, this one is truly great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/4/2011 1:37:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Well, color me impressed. I finally used this base coat along with their protective top coat for the first time 3 days ago, So far, it has survived countless hours of typing, ripping open cardboard boxes, zipping up impossibly tight boots, two showers a day, a lot of hand washing, a load of dirty dishes without wearing gloves and helping my friend deep clean her apartment last night (again, without gloves). I'm usually not quite this hard on my nails, but I still end up having to redo my nail polish every couple of days primarily due to tip wear, if not a small chip or two. Not after using this. I barely see any tip wear, let alone a chip. I've tried base and top coats from Chanel, Rescue Beauty Lounge, CND, Seche Vite, Poshe, Deborah Lippman, OPI, Essie, and some drugstore brands. I've also used the Mavala ridge filling base coat and their MavaDry top coat. I've even got the Zoya base/top coat on order and I wish I hadn't bothered. The Mavala 002, along with their ColorFix top coat, is by far, the best combination I've used. Will most definitely repurchase.

**Update: My polish didn't chip until I ripped open 3 Ikea Helmer drawer units boxes and assembled them the other night. And the chip was only on one finger and *barely* noticeable--just at the tip. I could have gotten easily another day or two out of it. The fact that this manicure lasted this long is a miracle for me. I'm going to try the Zoya base/top coat combination with the same exact nail polish and see how that fares in comparison. But otherwise, I'll be buying Mavala from here on out!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/16/2010 3:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Its quite a good basecoat. I like the fact that its sticky and makes the polish adhere more. I get good wear using this. I would buy this again but it is pricy especially for a 10 ml bottle.

EDIT: Stained my nails when used in 1 coat under a bright pink polish. Have to use to coats of base coat to avoid that - which is unusual for a base coat in my experience. Don't think will buy again...


on 3/27/2010 2:44:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I like this base coat. It tries quickly and protects my nail from turning yellow as I wears nail polish on my nails all the time.


on 2/18/2010 8:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I recently had the world's greatest manicure and the tech used this over Duri Rejuvacote - the tech says it was like putting a layer of velcro on the nail and that the actual polish would really stick and not chip. I am very doubtful of that usually. My nails are always a mess b/c they chip so quickly and easily. Lo & behold, it took 5-6 days before I saw my first official chip. That's a record for me. I am going this evening to the nail salon to purchase both of these products. Love them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/10/2009 4:01:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a good base coat for nails that are normal. It's not good for nails that are dry because denatured alcohol, a drying ingredient, is listed third on the ingredient list.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Mavala Products

image

Nail Hardener

83 reviews
image

Double-Lash

340 reviews
Back to Top