Mavala • 002 Protective Base Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.3(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 4/20/2013 8:40:00 AM more reviews by stls

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my go-to base and have been using it for years. Applies evenly, dries fast, prevents nail staining, you get a good amount of product for a fair price, the brush and packaging are pretty good and it doesn't turn to glue consistency. My only complain is that I don't think it extends the wear time of nail color. I'd repurchase, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kat7inka on 10/1/2011 1:01:00 PM more reviews by kat7inka

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This little unhyped and often overlooked basecoat is one of my preferred bases. I bought it one day in a lunch break. I needed a new basecoat, and all my "normal" brands was sold out. I was in a hurry so I just bought this thinking that at least it was cheap. At first I was surprised at the high quality of the brush. Then I was surprised at the short drying time and how easy it made the following coat go on. When I removed my nail polish, I was happy to see that my nails weren't stained, and a few months later I was impressed that the basecoat still wasn't thick in the bottle. I often use a ridge filler and now and then a nail hardener, but if you don't have special needs, this one is truly great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mischa on 2/4/2011 1:37:00 PM more reviews by mischa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Well, color me impressed. I finally used this base coat along with their protective top coat for the first time 3 days ago, So far, it has survived countless hours of typing, ripping open cardboard boxes, zipping up impossibly tight boots, two showers a day, a lot of hand washing, a load of dirty dishes without wearing gloves and helping my friend deep clean her apartment last night (again, without gloves). I'm usually not quite this hard on my nails, but I still end up having to redo my nail polish every couple of days primarily due to tip wear, if not a small chip or two. Not after using this. I barely see any tip wear, let alone a chip. I've tried base and top coats from Chanel, Rescue Beauty Lounge, CND, Seche Vite, Poshe, Deborah Lippman, OPI, Essie, and some drugstore brands. I've also used the Mavala ridge filling base coat and their MavaDry top coat. I've even got the Zoya base/top coat on order and I wish I hadn't bothered. The Mavala 002, along with their ColorFix top coat, is by far, the best combination I've used. Will most definitely repurchase.

**Update: My polish didn't chip until I ripped open 3 Ikea Helmer drawer units boxes and assembled them the other night. And the chip was only on one finger and *barely* noticeable--just at the tip. I could have gotten easily another day or two out of it. The fact that this manicure lasted this long is a miracle for me. I'm going to try the Zoya base/top coat combination with the same exact nail polish and see how that fares in comparison. But otherwise, I'll be buying Mavala from here on out!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iramasson on 4/16/2010 3:34:00 AM more reviews by iramasson

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

Its quite a good basecoat. I like the fact that its sticky and makes the polish adhere more. I get good wear using this. I would buy this again but it is pricy especially for a 10 ml bottle.

EDIT: Stained my nails when used in 1 coat under a bright pink polish. Have to use to coats of base coat to avoid that - which is unusual for a base coat in my experience. Don't think will buy again...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marlin on 3/27/2010 2:44:00 AM more reviews by marlin

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I like this base coat. It tries quickly and protects my nail from turning yellow as I wears nail polish on my nails all the time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 anarpo on 2/18/2010 8:36:00 AM more reviews by anarpo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I recently had the world's greatest manicure and the tech used this over Duri Rejuvacote - the tech says it was like putting a layer of velcro on the nail and that the actual polish would really stick and not chip. I am very doubtful of that usually. My nails are always a mess b/c they chip so quickly and easily. Lo & behold, it took 5-6 days before I saw my first official chip. That's a record for me. I am going this evening to the nail salon to purchase both of these products. Love them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* georgia21 on 7/10/2009 4:01:00 PM more reviews by georgia21

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good base coat for nails that are normal. It's not good for nails that are dry because denatured alcohol, a drying ingredient, is listed third on the ingredient list.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lapome on 8/17/2008 11:34:00 PM more reviews by lapome

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

My nailpolish used to chip like mad... it was not until I switched to Mavala 002 Protective Base Coat that I discovered (as I suspected) that the Avon base coat I was using was the culprit. With Mavala 002 the chipping problems are gone (just normal tipwear). I mean no chipping at all, regardless of the nailpolish brand. No stained nails either. Applies easily and dries reasonably quickly. I am halfway through my first bottle, but I'll sure stay loyal to this product and repurchase. In case anyone is wondering, this is a standar 10 ml bottle, not the mini Mavala size.

My only objection: the product glues the cap to he bottle. Be sure to rub some vaseline around the bottle neck to prevent this problem. The cap is pretty good quality, though, because it resisted my rather aggresive methods to reopen the bottle.

Ingredient list: Butyl Acetate, Ethyl Acetate, Alcohol Denat, Nitrocellulose, Tosylamide/Epoxy Resin, Polyvinyl Butyral, Isopropyl Alcohol, Trimethyl Pentanyl Diisobutyrate, Etocrylene, Green 6 (CI 61565)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cosmokid on 4/17/2007 12:56:00 AM more reviews by cosmokid

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm loving the new dark shades of polish, but even with two layers of base coat my nails were staining. Until I discovered this little beauty. No more stained nails, and I could swear my manicures look twice as good!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SwedishGirl26 on 10/13/2005 8:05:00 PM more reviews by SwedishGirl26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This a super-great base! Really makes nailpolish Last & last & last! Makes my nails really superstrong! Packaging Quality is awful though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mavala products

More Top/Base Coats products