Stila Illuminating Tinted Moisturizer

3.5

209 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

active ingredients: octinoxate 7 avobenzone 3
inactive ingredients: water\aqua, diethylhexyl carbonate, ethylhexyl stearate, diisostearoyl polyglyceryl-3 dimer dilinoleate, prunus amygdalus dulcis (sweet almond) oil, cyclohexasiloxane, cyclopentasiloxane, alumina, magnesium sulfate, microcrystalline wax\cera microcristallina, cetyl dimethicone, glycerin, butylenes glycol, hydrogenated castor oil, tin oxide, sorbic acid, phenoxyethanol, chlorphenesin, benzoic acid, 2-amino-2-methyl-1-propanol, may contain ( /-) mica, titanium dioxide (ci 77891), iron oxides (ci 77491, ci 77492, ci 77499), bismuth oxychloride (ci 77163), chromium oxide greens (ci 77288)


on 10/3/2014 7:34:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Nice sheer light coverage. I mix this with my Peter Thomas Roth CC Cream. The PTR cream is dry so this makes it more moisturizing it and they work nice together. If you have a favorite foundation try mixing this with it, you might be surprised at how well it works. I am 51 and really like this product.



on 12/15/2013 12:16:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a bad one!

Gave me incredibly beautiful and glowing skin for two days, and then I broke out horribly. Really, really badly. I am still suffering.

If your skin is not sensitive, this gives an amazing finish.


on 11/22/2013 4:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Thank God I bought this in a test size. My beloved Tarte tinted moisturizer has been discountinued and replaced by some BB cream crap. Which I am not amused about at all, because that stuff was holy grail product.

So I was at thine local Sephora and saw a sampler of Stila's tinted moisturizers. Figured I would give it a shot.

I wore it once, and broke out. Thought maybe it was a fluke because I rarely break out.
Wore it again a few weeks later...and by the end of the day had another freaking zit.

Product fail. Plus it's expensive, and if a product is going to break you out, it shouldnt be this pricey.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/9/2013 12:25:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Used it once or twice when I couldn't be bothered applying foundation, this was given to me as a gift and overall, I like the consistency and the sparkles that make your skin glow, but I found that it was a bit greasy and too yellow-based, making my skin look orange.
If you have a darker skin tone, go for it as it is a good product!


Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have dry skin, and I'm approaching 40. I have always used powder foundation, which I now know is a big mistake if you have dry, mature-ish skin. I hate foundations that feel thick or cakey, so this stuff is pretty much perfect for me. It goes on so easily, doesn't feel thick or cakey, and adds a touch of illumination. Doesn't accentuate my wrinkles at all, and doesn't feel heavy. Not a ton of coverage, but I'm willing to sacrifice coverage for a more natural look. Great, easy stuff -- perfect for someone who's not a fan of elaborate make-up rituals. I put it on with my fingers.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2013 6:20:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Stila tinted moisturizer is a nice consistency. Wanted to like it but couldnt find a good color. Purchased Tone and it was too yellow based. (have fair-light skin tone) Also the illuminator effect looked rather fake-like theater makeup. My skin is dry so maybe that is why finish appeared a bit strange. Possible that normal/slightly oily skin would be more compatible to this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/21/2013 9:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love this product. It also breaks me out something awful. So, since it's so pretty on, I wear it for special occasions when it's worth it to me to battle the resulting zits on my chin. It feels heavy after you apply it, but gives the skin a unique, dewy glow. I wear it on its own or under foundation. This product prompts people to tell me what beautiful skin I have. I agree with them--it DOES make my skin look great. Sigh. It's a shame I have such a love/hate relationship with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/12/2013 11:48:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Only 2 days in, but dare I say HG?! At first I feared this would just be too illuminating. But a dusting of Makeup Forever HD powder & my skin looks like I've given up hope on! Coverage is light, but just enough for smoothing & evening out tone. My skin looks dewy & fresh & I feel beautiful. I'd say at least 5 years are gone. Happy happy happy!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/7/2012 1:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this a few years ago and was really pleased with it so decided to buy it again. i have found that this breaks me out a little bit as it contains oil. This is best used as a base as it does not provide much coverage but it does highlight the skin and gives a glow.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/15/2012 8:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Love this product as it is hands down the best illuminating moisturiser I have used. However, it is a bit oily. If you have oily skin STEER CLEAR!

I also found that the shimmer particles crept into the creases around my eyes. I am 25 so they are tiny, but with this moisturiser it made me look like they were much larger.

I now use this as a weekend moisturiser - a bit of this, tiny bit of powder and I look like I am wearing nothing more than a daily moisturiser.

I do sometimes use this is a primer, but have to stay clear of the eye area. Blergh - cannot believe how much the shimmer particles make me look like I have heaps of wrinkles.

Although I think this is the best illuminating moisturiser on the market, I won't buy it again because of the particles easily sinking in to fine lines and its oily factor - its as if the natural oil in the moisturiser doesn't sink into your face.

If you have super dry skin, I think this would be your dream illuminator.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top