SUN Laboratories • Ultra Dark Lotion • Self Tanners

rated 4.2(126 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* itsiliii on 4/30/2014 3:31:00 AM more reviews by itsiliii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this tanner for a while now and I absolutely adore it!

APPLICATION
A bit more tricky than mousse/spray obviously, but nothing you can't handle. However, I do use this with a mitt so that might also explain why im having an easy time applying it. Since it is a lotion you will have a bit more time to rub it in before it goes streaky, however the lotion can have a tendency to stick to some areas, but just rub the tanner in quickly and you should have no problem!

COLOR
The color on this tanner is gorgeous! Although this stuff stains my mitt green, i find the undertones on it, once you wash it off your body, are a true brown or even a reddish brown. It looks very natural, however it is a bit browner than other tans. But in my opinion it makes it look very natural. The lotion does have a guide color that is SUPER brown, but dont be afraid, once you wash it off the effect is not as intense!

After one application, the tan left behind isn't super dark, however i like to do bi weekly applications and this takes me from an NC25 to a NC42. YMMV obviously :) My NC42 shade loses its intenity after about 2 showers, and for the rest of week i become around an NC30/35. It fades rather evenly, but some areas do get a bit funny looking. Nothing too obvious though!

FORMULA
This stuff has one of the best self tanner smells ever, it reminds me of cherries mixed with almonds. SMELLS SO GOOD. After the coverup smells disappears even then it doesnt smell too weird, so awesome! That being said though it takes FOREVER to dry once you apply it like 1 hour to 1 hour and a half. It feels really gross, and you cant sit on anything because it sticks to you :( Also one con is that the formula does break me out, i dont apply this to my face, but my back (which is a bit acne prone) does break out when i use this.



Overall, this is fantastic self tanner and one of the best smelling around! I will definitely repurchase but perhaps in the darker color. Although it might be a bit trickier to apply for beginners, i still think its one of the best formulas around and very affordable (around 20 bucks on ebay for an 8oz bottle!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Mhoelzer2988 on 4/25/2014 1:48:00 PM more reviews by Mhoelzer2988

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know how this got good reviews. If this is considered a good sunless tanner I would hate to use a "bad" one! This left me streaky and peeled as I was putting it on! It didn't even make me that much darker. I even exfoliated before using and blended it we'll. I hate how dark it makes the palm of my hands when applying it (and yes I washed them and washed after I was through applying) but they were still stained dark. I also applied this outside in the sunlight so I wouldn't miss any spots. I don't know what good it does to look at reviews of products before buying them if the reviews aren't accurate.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 organicmakeupjunkie on 3/26/2014 1:53:00 AM more reviews by organicmakeupjunkie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best self tanner I have ever used. I can't stress enough that you need to exfoliate and shave (if needed) before applying ANY self tanner. I apply mine after a shower because it quite simply yields the best results. I also use latex gloves, but if you are allergic to latex there are latex free gloves also. I do this to keep from staining the palms of my hands, and my finished result comes oit great. if you are streaking while using this, you just aren't doing it correctly. The color is a natural olive brown and its beautiful and the smell is fantastic. I get mine off amazon for around $12-$22 and it's worth every penny!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nikkifontana on 3/11/2014 1:02:00 PM more reviews by nikkifontana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I AM OBSESSED AND IN LOVE! I have refused to use any other self tanner in my life after my first experience with sunlabatories. Let me first start with the beautiful deep tan color. I have used every self tanner known to man but this product gives you as close to achieving a perfect brown glowing tan to what you would experience as if you spent a summer in the bahamas!
I have tried this product in only “dark” because I am naturally light to medium and this level accomplished a more naturally deep tan look. The spray tanner is my favorite because after exfoliating my body in the shower, I dry off, spray myself and INSTANTLY develop a perfect and non-streaky tan. The best thing about the spray is that it dries very fast and I start getting dressed soon after I apply it! The lotion is amazing because it is more gradual tan but achieves that back from the beach glow. I personally apply the lotion the days in-between using the spray and on my face!
With Sunlabs you can get the most natural, dark, straight from Hawaii brown tan without the harsh chemical smell that most self tanners have. I feel so much more confident and have that radiant back from the beach glow (even though I am stuck in New Jersey) thanks to Sunlabs. My coworkers, friends and even boyfriend have asked me how I am so perfectly tan all year round! Try this product and you will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lashandbrow on 12/5/2013 12:07:00 AM more reviews by lashandbrow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

SCAM ALERT:




    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mina112 on 7/23/2013 7:52:00 AM more reviews by mina112

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have purchased the Sun labs Ultra dark lotion. I have applied it with and without gloves and it was very streaky and left my hands also colored (eventhough after few washes it went of). The best solution was to use a tanning mitt and it worked well.

However, the biggest problem I have with this tanning lotion is that it does not last !
I apply it in the evening with my tanning mitt and it looks really nice after one layer. I leave it overnight and when I shower the next morning, it all washes off ! .
I don't know why this product does not stick to my skin :( One time I have applied a super thick layer and left it overnight and this gave more color. But it also stained my sheets ..

Soo Im disappointed in this product.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hye on 5/20/2013 7:35:00 AM more reviews by hye

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is really fantastic. You just need to know how to apply it. Exfoliate well before use and like ALL tanning products use a tanning mitt!! Tanning mitts will prevent streaking and will buff the product into your skin evenly! There is no point spending $$$ if you don't apply it properly so definitely worth investing in a mitt (which is usually cheap and reusable) Anyway the product itself is not as easy to apply than a mousse and definitely takes longer to dry. I apply this before i go to bed, sleep and shower in the morning. The colour itself is lovely and natural on my asian nc30. I really adore this colour. Lovely brown. It beats fake bake for sure! Also the scent isnt so strong either.

**update: for nc25-30 girls this is not a super dark tan. Its brown and natural. If you want something darker than try the shade up or build this one up.

Also i tried this mixed in with a light weight body lotion and it works great as a tan maintainer/ gradual light tanner. It is winter here in australia so if youre after just a little colour but not a full on bronze colour, try this technique. Works great :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leoisillon on 5/18/2013 9:13:00 AM more reviews by leoisillon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

This product was great, don't get me wrong. I would not repurchase for economical reasons. It's bit pricey. I paid almost $30 dollars for mine. If I can find it for less online, then I'd consider re-buying. This did make my skin nice and dark instantly! You must use a tanning mitten or else you will have a dark stain on your hands that's difficult to wash off. I found if I got some on my hands I would have to wash right away or else they would be stained. I like how fast this product works. Almost instantly my legs got darker. The product smells like cherries to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rkaybee on 5/7/2013 4:55:00 PM more reviews by rkaybee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

This product is SO awful. I took a shower last night, exfoliated like CRAZY, didn't use any lotions or anything after and then applied this.
For one, the color guard, or lack there of, blows. It didn't show up AT ALL and I had no idea where I was putting it. That would have been a bigger problem had I gotten ANY color from this product, but I didn't. I woke up this morning with absolutely NO change in my skin color, I smelled disgusting, and even after rinsing the "color guard" off, I still felt greasy and disgusting. Returning this because it is so terrible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Myoung19 on 4/12/2013 5:54:00 PM more reviews by Myoung19

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Just fyi you can get this on Amazon for $24 free shipping (free 2 day if you have Prime like I do).
I have bought at least 4 bottles of this and it's my HG self tanner. It dries very fast, smells like cherry almond and looks 100% natural! I put it on before bed and by the time I wake up I'm tan, the self guide bronze will wash off. Any dark spots it may leave washes off. I use Eucerine/Aquaphore lotion (yes, is thick and greasy) on my feet/ankles, elbows and knees. It still tans through it but will not leave those spots dry and dark.
For my face I mix it 1/2 & 1/2 with my normal face lotion so I don't get my face to dark. To do my hands I use a foundation brush to get it on them perfectly- buff, buff, .
You can use any exfoliater you have (non greasy just plain) and I moisturize my body 2xs a day to extend the life of the tan.
The green you see in the tan self guide is what counteracts any orange that a lot of self tanners leave you with.
I just don't see how you can go wrong with this! Like any self tanner practice with aplication makes perfect.
I am naturally fair skinned, this Ultra Dark is not too dark at all. It's buildable, so the more you put on either at once (wouldn't recommend for fair skin) or daily it can build up to be very dark!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More SUN Laboratories products

More Self Tanners products