MAC • Pigment in Dark Soul • Eye Shadow

rated 3.7(126 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 hendenm on 10/14/2013 1:38:00 PM more reviews by hendenm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I love love this pigment. I bought it in 2009 as part of a summer collection. I love the smokey eye look and recently come across a you tube video by TheMusicMakeup. This lady puts the dark soul pigment in a whole new light! She uses a MUFE dark blue cream base and uses the dark soul pigment on top which gives the most gorgeous glittery blue/black smokey eye! She uses browns from the Lorac pro palette for the crease but there are plenty of Mac dupes for these other colours. I'm hooked! A very sexy smokey evening look although I do wear this is in the day. Check out her video!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bailokaye on 6/14/2013 12:45:00 AM more reviews by bailokaye

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Pretty black that can also be blended out to grey. Very versatile especially for smokey eye looks. Somewhat hard to use since it is so pigmented and can get everywhere and make a mess if you're not careful. But it's very pretty and sparkley. A little bit goes a LONG way, and by little bit I mean next to nothing on your brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vw1983 on 5/11/2012 7:35:00 AM more reviews by vw1983

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

works great over a base such as TFSI or UDPP. gorgeous sparkles in it that show up really well. easy to apply wet or dry, using a mac 239 brush. easy to remove using any of the mas removers or mac wipes. i use it as a liner mostly, but its great too for ahadow or crease or outer v area.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dyingforyou on 2/4/2012 10:15:00 PM more reviews by dyingforyou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

this is such a gorgeous color. i don't wear very many bright colors but opt to go for more blacks/greys so i decided to test out this pigment. i took a little bit on my finger to swatch it over my hand and just. wow. in the bottle it looks like a plain grey-ish black but it's so much more than that. it's a nice black with sparkle and it's just gorgeous. i've yet to actually use it but i plan on it soon. it definitely fits in nicely with my collection of blacks/greys.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rin13 on 12/29/2011 7:28:00 PM more reviews by Rin13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Update:
I can see now why some people don't care for this color. If you don't apply it right, it does NOT stay on!! Within no time, all you see is a light cast of black/grey. The color itself is GORGEOUS. Definitely, definitely use a sticky base of some sort for the best results. What I use it for is darkening the outer V and it works pretty well for that. Also BEWARE of fallout. Especially since the color is so dark.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kika824 on 12/28/2011 9:03:00 PM more reviews by kika824

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this pigment. As a professional MUA, I can't understand how some people can write a bad review on this, and say it's "too pigmented". They shouldn't be reviewing the item if they don't know how to use it properly...Doing your eye makeup first, will be time saving, which is something I always tell clients. Here are some tips for those who have a hard time with Dark Soul pigment, or pigments in general...One - It's a PIGMENT! Therefore, it's going to be a highly concentrated color. Two - Being multi-use, (wet or dry), makes it awesome to get different looks from one product. Yes, it's expensive, but it will definitely last a very long time! Three - Using it with a damp brush gives a great metallic look with the glitter flecks blending in to create a more foiled look. Using it dry, and with an eye shadow primer under it, gives more of a glittery look. Four - You should pick up a very small amount on your brush, tap off the access, pack it on the eyelid by using a patting technique instead of swiping back and fourth, it will have much less fall-out. Lastly - Build the color until you achieve the look you're satisfied with.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bsheth86 on 8/10/2011 11:30:00 PM more reviews by Bsheth86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

My friend and I split this pigment because I knew I would never be able to use it up. This is the black pigment with sparkles. It is a difficult pigment to work with because it is really pigmented, dark, and tends to have fall out. I like to start with the least amount first and then build it up in order to avoid any messy clean ups. I also like to use this pigment wet for a dramatic effect. You must use a lighter hand with this pigment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SakoSerberus on 4/4/2011 11:15:00 PM more reviews by SakoSerberus

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product is amazing. it blends nicely, thought I find on me it likes to fade or crease because i have very oily skin...

but i like this colour over all, i just need to figure a way so that it can be long lasting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cadabeijos on 1/6/2011 4:08:00 AM more reviews by cadabeijos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

VERY dark pigment, great if that's what you're looking for. To me, it seems like a very basic black, albeit very pigmented, so I'm not sure I'd repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alivyafree on 12/27/2010 10:18:00 AM more reviews by alivyafree

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I do like this pigment - recently I managed to get hold of an old MAC Dark Soul from when it was LE. So much nicer than the new reformulated version. The pigment I have is not quite black - it's actually more of a dark grey. For me, I would have liked it much more if it was actually completely black, but I haven't come across any MAC eyeshadow that is black when it's meant to be. So perhaps, the colour payoff isn't so fabulous... however thats just my humble opinion! I do like the like the little sparkles in this pigment, it's great for evening looks and anyone who wants to wear a dark colour but still wants some light and sparkle to their eyes. The texture isn't smooth and satiny like a lot of pigments I own, its more chalky - so if you would like to wear this and get the colour that you see in the pot then I would definately suggest using a primer on your eyelid. Another good thing about this pigment is that it really adheres to the skin well, so that you won't really have to worry about the colour becoming less intense as the day/evening progresses.
Overall not a bad pigment to work with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products