Babor • Hyol • Cleansers

rated 4.4(29 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lollsazz on 1/31/2014 6:58:00 AM more reviews by lollsazz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

First off: this is one of the many makeup removers I've tried. I often (aka almost daily) wear waterproof makeup and always look for good cleansers that will take everything completely off. Others emulsifiable oil cleansers like this one have been, for example:
- Shu Uemura's Sublim8
- L'Oreals Sensational Oil Cleanser
These two are, I find, equally good, although the prices are very different. Babor's HyOl is maybe not much more effective at removing makeup, BUT it is much gentler and doesn't leave behind any residue, unlike the other two. I can use the Babor makeup remover even when I have dermatitis on my lips - everyone that have ever had dermatitis know that IT BURNS! The Babor cleanser is so gentle that it doesn't burn at all - neither when you have skin conditions like that, nor if it gets into your eyes.
.
I use the Babor Cleanser with the Sensitive Phytobase, because my skin is sensitive. I find that these two together take the makeup off well and don't dry my already dry skin drier (although I DO have to put on moisturizer right away - as said: my skin is dry). I would really recommend buying a Pytobase to use with the cleanser though - I feel the phytobase actually make this cleanser even better. I have noticed that HyOl + Phytobase calms my skin down and it looks more fresh and less irritated, which also involves less pimples :) It's not often a cleanser is so effective that it calms breakouts, but this one actually really helps my skin, and the result was visible in less than two weeks!
.
Do I recommend this? Yes, but only if you have some money to spend or if you have very sensitive skin that needs special care. Otherwise, there are other options. In any case: I will use up my Sublime8 and Sensational Cleansing Oil too, but buy Babor after, if I have the money, just because my skin really is sensitive, and this makeup remover does everything I need and more :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 q8a6y5 on 3/15/2013 2:29:00 AM more reviews by q8a6y5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Best make-up remover for sensitive skin! When you apply IT al the make-up comes off without leaving any off IT on your face. IT doesn t make my face red like other cleansers.
All my other make-up removers don t take away all of the make up and they burn because i need to use them in a larger amount.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lamaris on 11/22/2012 1:41:00 PM more reviews by lamaris

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I really love this product. My skin is very dry and most cleansers leave a dry feeling on my skin. I can't use any face wash either. But this stuff is the best. I use 2 pumps of the Ol and 1 pump of the base, that's enough for my face. Then I lather up with some wather and it rinses right off. I usually put it on my face and then wash it off in the shower.
It doesn't leave a greasy feeling at all. It also removes my waterproof mascara perfectly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 daisyeyes on 2/29/2012 8:21:00 PM more reviews by daisyeyes

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I received a generous sample of Babor Hy-ol and Phytoactive Base and it sat in my sample bag for months. I'm not going to lie, it scared me! I'd read the raves of oil cleansers. I'd even ordered a Shiseido oil cleanser one time, only to return it unused because I couldn't bring myself to smear oil all over my face. I kept thinking of the Babor sample but couldn't work up my nerve. Would it aggravate the cystic acne I'd worked so hard to keep at bay? Would it make me have whiteheads all under my eyes? Would it just feel like sludge was sitting on top of my skin? Or was it possible it really was the HG?


Finally, I took the plunge. I was scared to death. Surprisingly, it only felt like an oil slick for a minute, when I first applied the Hy-ol. When I added the Phytoactive Base, it was game on! As I massaged my face with my fingertips, I could feel the gunk in my pores working its way to freedom! I know that sounds like a crock, but I swear. I might have even heard angels singing. Okay, so maybe I made that last part up. But still, I could tell there was a party going on and my skin was on the VIP list.


I did the requisite steaming with a face cloth and wiped it off, repeating the process until I felt like I'd taken any excess oil away. My face felt smooth, looked like I'd just had a facial, and wasn't at all oily. I followed it with Kiehl's Dark Spot Correcting Solution, a few drops of Kiehl's Midnight Recovery Concentrate, a dab of Kiehl's Midnight Recovery Eye Cream, and a small pea of Tazorac. All of this is my usual routine, only the Tazorac is every other night.


And then I waited. What had I just done to myself? Was horrible cystic acne just around the corner? Would I be an oil slick in thr morning? Nope. If anything, My face felt a little tight after my morning Cetaphil and Clarisonic routine. Another round of Dark Spot Correcting Solution, followed by Skin by Ann Webb Pomegranite Moisturizer, Guerlain Meteorites Perles Primer, Givenchy Photo'perfexion, and MUFE HD powder.


Repeat for 7 days.


And the results? Fabulous, darlings! My skin is clear, I'm looking fine.....oh wait, this isn't a Liz Phair song. Oops, my bad.


I'm a convert! This oil cleanser is HG for me. I just hope the larger bottles I ordered get here before my sample runs out.


I read about some people using cooking oils to make their own oil cleansers. One night I was feeling particularly daring after starting the Babor regimen and tried a mixture of castor, olive, and grapeseed oils. Blech! Won't do that again! It was a sticky, stubborn mess. And the smell? P.U. Not for me. The next day my blotting papers were particularly transparent after use, too. I'll gladly pony up for the Babor instead.

UPDATE: A few weeks later and I'm still loving it. My skin has thrived despite airplane cabin dry air, change of climates, lots of sunscreen, and long hours of makeup wear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Passerine on 9/18/2011 8:17:00 AM more reviews by Passerine

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Many years ago, I had been a devoted Babor user and Hyol was part of my daily cleansing routine. Then we moved and I couldn't get it easily, so I moved onto other brands. While in Leipzig, Germany, last year, I walked past a Babor salon and immediately went in. I bought the Hyol and the sensitive cleanser. Unfortunately, the results were not as happy as in years past. My skin didn't like this product anymore. My pores were clogged and I had breakouts. After about six weeks, I threw it out.
One note: the salon manager said that in Germany, women don't mix the Hyol and cleanser together. It seems to be primarily an American practice. I tried it both ways - combining them as instructed by the American salon where I discovered Babor and on their own. Neither method was a success. I don't know whether the bad experience was due the product (a reformulation?) or changes in my skin. So, with a bit of regret, I have crossed Babor off my list.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mandarinchen on 1/7/2011 7:21:00 PM more reviews by mandarinchen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love the hy-oil! I have very dry and sensitive skin and since i use this, my skin has improoved so much! I am lucky to actually live in the city where the Babor's flagshipstore is at and they do have an outlett-store there, too. As it was incredibly cheep there (If you have the chance to get to germany, go there!! I purchased 100 ml Hy-oil and 100ml Phytoactive together for 28 $) I let the SA talk me into using this product and I have repurchased the Hy-oil and the Phytoactive for sensetive skin 3 times since then. I did not pay too much attention how long it lasts, but I use it twice daily, in the mornings and evenings, and would guess it lasted about 4 month. The SA also told me that you only need to take 1 pump of the hy-oil and 2 pumps of the phytoactive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mochibunny on 8/20/2010 9:07:00 PM more reviews by mochibunny

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for over six months now and so far it's the best cleanser I ever had. I use this with the Phytoactive for combination skin and after that the Rose Toning Lotion by Babor, too. Other cleansers which I tried before used to dry my skin out, leaving my t-zone oily (mainly the nose) with dry, flakey patches though! This was the reason why I stopped using any cleansers for 2 years, I just massaged my skin with water during the daily shower & used some vegetable oil (tsubaki, mostly) when I had to take off make-up occasionally (did not use make-up often). I wasn't happy with that routine either, I missed that 'absolutely clean feeling' and I felt like my skin would need more 'nuture' - it looked a bit dull and I was unhappy with my big pores. A friend who I always admired for her perfect skin (she says she has very dry and sensitive skin) raved about this brand so I gave it a try. I wasn't expecting much because I was a lot into green/ bio/ natural stuff at that time. Well, Babor healed me from that and left me amazed. I didn't know my skin could look like that. My pores looked smaller right after using it the first time, and my face felt clean but wasn't dry.
I have acne-prone skin but don't have to deal with serious breakouts since using this. My skin feels softer, purer and more even with less redness.


Cons: I think it is a bit difficult to wash off as it has an oily texture (you need more splashing than with other kind of cleansers), but that's no problem if you use a toner afterwards! Also, it's pricier compared to other cleansers, but I can compensate that because of the result and it lasts me long, too.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laurenmt on 1/19/2010 8:46:00 AM more reviews by laurenmt

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Tried this for a few days,and as much as I would love to love this, it didn't clean my skin thoroughly enough (makeup on)and I saw an increase of whiteheads.I also developed painful acne,which I haven't seen in 3 years. Plus, it's too much work to use.Thank God I only got samples...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 y0cool on 9/11/2009 1:02:00 AM more reviews by y0cool

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I don't generally like to review products I've used for less than 6 months, but I find this product so exceptional that I really want to share with everyone here! I've been using this oil-based cleanser along with hypoactive sensitive for 10 days. Yes, only 10 days! And this product has noticeably improved my skin! Don't get me wrong, I actually really had very decent skin to begin with, I get complements from strangers all the time, although lately it's been acting up since I'm trying a whole new set of skin care products. But this cleanser has changed it all, it's taken the redness away from my T-zone, reduced my blackheads (the greatest flaw of my skin imo), adding luminescence, providing moisture. I can't say enough great things about this cleanser. I never thought that an oil based cleanser would be the key to improving my skin, but it proved itself! I should really thank all the reviewers of this cleanser, I would have never bought it otherwise.

Now the CON. It's Very expensive. I mean it's not from an individual set point of view. The oil + the hypoactive is like $50, which is very reasonable for such great product IF it lasted me ~6 months like most other cleansers do! Like I said I used this cleanser for 10 days so far, day and night, I use 3 pumps and the recommendation says 4! Guess what, I've finished 1/6 of both bottles already! So basically a whole set will last me 60 days... 2 months. So it's like $300/yr on cleanser... No wonder so many reviewers here say they only use it once a day. Either way, I'll buy it because I think it's that exceptional. But definitely something to keep in mind if price is a consideration.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dandelion on 6/20/2009 12:40:00 AM more reviews by dandelion

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Love, love, love Hy-Ol! I use this with Phytoactive for sensitive skin and it is my favorite cleansing oil! I have repurchased three times and have stopped experimenting with finding a HG cleansing system because this is definitely it.

It is a bit pricey but I find that it lasts almost 5 months of using it every night. I began using this after starting RAM .1% and being very dry but also acne prone. This has helped with dryness and doesn't give me any breakouts. I really love this system!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Babor products

More Cleansers products