Chanel • Rouge Noir • Polishes

rated 4.4(124 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 misscocktail on 6/22/2014 5:58:00 AM more reviews by misscocktail

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I own quite a few chanel make-up items, but didn't get one of their polishes yet. I splurged on this beautiful colour and did not regret it at all! It is a quality polish, and stayed extremely well on the nails. I got a bit of tipwear during the 3 days that I wore it. I don't mind that. Surprisingly the tipwear was only on my middle finger, and my thumbs stayed impeccable, usually my thumbs chip first! So yes, love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ElectricEmma on 5/22/2014 6:07:00 AM more reviews by ElectricEmma

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've always loved this colour but never had the guts to splash out on such an expensive nail varnish. I always opted for lookalikes! However, last year I treated myself and I have to say I was less that impressed with the results.

The colour is stunning, perfect for when you want a near-black polish but don't have the guts to go full on. Aesthetically it's perfect, including the bottle.

The huge downside is the durability, though. It started chipping after a couple of hours, even after using a base and quality top coat and by the end of the first day of wear I'd lost 70% on both hands. It's such a shame and not what you'd expect from such a quality brand. I also found the brush too thin, which made application hard.

My advice would be to go for lookalike colours (there are loads about) and save the massive bashing your wallet will get. It really isn't worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Livinginhope on 2/24/2014 3:19:00 PM more reviews by Livinginhope

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

You definitely need a base coat and a good top coat for Chanel nail varnish. I'm quite surprised how easily the varnish chips. I treated myself to this colour, my daughter bought a vibrant red Chanel polish which also chipped after wearing for only a day. With Chanel being an expensive nail polish, I thought it would be longer lasting than the cheaper varnishes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 maxmommy2 on 1/22/2014 10:46:00 AM more reviews by maxmommy2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My only previous Chanel nail polish was Dragon, which was an absolutely beautiful red but didn't wear particularly well. I figured I was done with Chanel polishes - however, I'm currently going through some kind of delayed goth phase and I just couldn't find a colour similar to Rouge Noir. It looks so beautiful in the bottle, and in fact it is just as beautiful on my hands (I'm extremely pale, NC15). Finally I plonked down the £18 at Selfridges during my lunch break and hoped for the best. As with Dragon, it doesn't have amazing staying power and chips within a day or two. However, it will look pretty damn good for that first and second day.

I've heard that using the Chanel topcoat is the best thing for keeping Chanel polishes in their place, but I don't have the $$$$ to find out. To sum up: short lived but perfect for the vampire babe within.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 laetacara on 1/22/2014 10:19:00 AM more reviews by laetacara

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am very, very disappointed by this polish. ok the color is beautiful, but it started chipping after one day. the brush is too thin, it seems that Chanel wants to save money on the bristles! another thing that I noticed and that I do not like is the label sticker. I'm sorry but for what it costs, I think they should take more care about details. I will never buy it anymore, Essie nail polishes are of better quality and half the cost.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 demrepic on 10/13/2013 1:16:00 AM more reviews by demrepic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I first bought Rouge Noir in the mid Nineties when it was called Vamp - it was the worst polish that I have ever purchased. I swear it started to chip before it even fully dried. I have been purchasing countless bottles of Revlon's Vixen since then. Last fall I purchased Chanel's Frenzy and the formula was flawless. This was certainly not the same formula I had last tried! Fast forward to this fall, and when my current bottle of Vixen was depleted I decided to try Rouge Noir. It is perfect! A better formula and better lasting power than Vixen, this polish lives up to its pedigree and its price tag.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 narkiz on 2/11/2013 4:04:00 PM more reviews by narkiz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Looking for dupe? Flormar 323 is the answer. Chanel is sold for 50 lira where Flormar is sold for 2,50 lira in my country. I really don't think Rouge Noir deserves this price tag.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beauty4Ashes on 2/11/2013 3:42:00 PM more reviews by Beauty4Ashes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

If you only own one Chanel nail polish, it needs to be Rouge Noir. It's such a deep, classically sexy color. It's a color that men have complimented me on and it's rare that I get a man's compliment on nail polish. The quality of the polish is outstanding. It's opaque in one coat but I use two to deepen the color. The application is even and the finish is a glossy shine. It wears well and I recommend using a base and top coat to prevent nail staining and to prolong wear time. If I had to wear one nail polish for the rest of my life it would be Chanel Rouge Noir. I highly recommend.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wtfiholly on 11/5/2012 9:28:00 PM more reviews by wtfiholly

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I had to search for this......that being said I have now come to the understanding as to why this polish is so sought after. I adore DL polishes, they last forever and have the most interesting colors. My first from DL was "JWAR" and that is a true blood red. My second DL polish was "BB". It is a mulberry red and gorgeous as well. This Rouge Noir by Chanel is the perfect blackened blood red! I didn't think that Chanel could do what my HG polish could do.
This color is a good color in one coat, but two look so much better. It's darker than that "vamp" color they put out and Rouge Noir carries much more black to it, it has no shimmer or sparkle, just a bold creme that carries the color perfectly! It is my new favorite red that I'll wear on my fingers anytime of the year!
The brush is ok. It does the job without a lot of streaking. The formula is good. It dries fast and is exceptionally shiney! I was amazed after 5 days that the shine was still strong. I used a great top coat, but It does not matter what top coat you use if the polish is crap the polish will chip and wear away in minutes. It is like any polish, if you use brillo pads to clean anything, the polish will be destroyed. If I can wash a sink of dishes (with a sponge) and the color stays for the most part on the nail bed itself and I have a bit of wear on the edges, then the polish is worth it, this polish did that and survived! The shine did not dull either.
I had to search out this shade since they don't sell it at the counters anymore. I found it and bought it and I've worn it well. I had so many compliments I'm not sure I want to wear any other color this winter. I don't want to run out of this shade, so I'll save it for special occasions and use it then. No, my best friend may not use it on her toes, I know she will want to and this is not a color to hide! LOL

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MyNameIsHoney on 10/8/2012 10:29:00 AM more reviews by MyNameIsHoney

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Wow, well, I have to say that just putting this on my toenails made me feel sexier (despite it being fall and so my toenails are almost always concealed). Let me start by saying that I did try to find a dupe for this but it's surprisingly hard. However, the formula convinced me that I made the right choice in going for the original. The formula is self-leveling, the consistency is good, and the shine is beyond belief. Seriously, you don't need a topcoat for shine (but as with reds/purples it will streak surfaces without one). The colour is blackish brown-based red so I won't be wearing this too often, but when I do, it'll be a sophisticated treat. Gave this a 4 for packaging bc of the floppy long brush and the brush handle could be longer. Will repurchase but hopefully not too quickly, it's too pricey!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Polishes products