Rusk • Sensories Calm • Shampoo

rated 3.4(34 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 kgrip on 11/14/2013 4:02:00 PM more reviews by kgrip

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used this shampoo for about two weeks or three weeks. I will say it cleanses very well, has a great, light scent, and a good lather. But my hair started falling out in handfuls. Every time I ran my fingers through my hair, I would get at least 6 or 7 strands. In the shower it looked like there were tiny hamsters coming out of my head. And then my scalp got insanely itchy and red and super irritated. I stopped using it and it went away in about a week. My hair still fell out though for a few weeks. Might have just been something my scalp didn't agree with, but I absolutely hated this shampoo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* threecats on 10/21/2013 1:05:00 PM more reviews by threecats

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this shampoo over two years now, on my double-processed hair, have bought a few bottles. It does not strip my color and gets my scalp really clean. This was recommended to my by the staff at ULTA when I asked for a clarifying shampoo for fragile, bleached hair. I am happy they turned me on to this shampoo.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 agriphrin on 2/24/2013 5:56:00 PM more reviews by agriphrin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I usually like Rusk and what it does for my hair, however, this Shampoo does nothing! It doesn't lather, and it makes my hair very dry. I was very surprised, however, the smell is nice, and the conditioner is pretty nice as well. Overall not the best, but not the worst.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PureAmbrosia on 10/22/2012 8:55:00 PM more reviews by PureAmbrosia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love Rusk's Calm shampoo. It leaves my hair feeling fresh, soft, clean, and moisturized. My hair color looks gorgeous when I use this. My hair is wavy-straight, color-treated, fine, oily at roots, dry at ends, prone to frizz. For my hair type, I definitely experience above-average results when using this. And it smells amazing, as well.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eeeeelicia on 6/17/2012 10:59:00 PM more reviews by Eeeeelicia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For the love of all that is holy, do NOT get any of this shampoo in your eyes! The burning!

That being said, this works well as an everyday shampoo for normal hair. It contains sulfates but it doesn't have silicones (a combination that I look for in a shampoo). It cleans my hair, although it can have tendency to make it somewhat on the dry side, so I try to use a moisturizing conditioner afterwards. It's not the most exciting shampoo, since it doesn't really do anything special. But I personally don't need my shampoo to have lots of bells and whistles. I just want something to clean my hair effectively, which this seems to do.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 marylen00 on 1/1/2012 9:17:00 PM more reviews by marylen00

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This shampoo is nice, nothing extraordinary, but for someone like me, this is fine. My hair is medium in length and also medium in texture. It does a good job of cleaning my hair without stripping it. I have a natural wave to my hair and this shampoo seems not to weigh it down. The smell reminds me of summer which I love! All in all a fairly nice shampoo, plus I got it on sale so the price was right as well. I don't believe I would pay full price for this product, but if I ever happen across it on sale again, I will probably pick it up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jdeyron on 9/10/2011 12:47:00 PM more reviews by jdeyron

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really don't like this shampoo. No matter how much I use, my hair doesn't feel 'clean.' It also seems to dry my hair out. I would not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sexylovie84 on 8/25/2011 7:19:00 AM more reviews by sexylovie84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this so far! it feels like a deep clean, but not drying. I think the smell is just ok, nothing to write home about :) but still nice! (other reviewers rave about the scent) I am writing this review based solely on the shampoo- I don't like conditioners unless they are leave in sprays. I like that you only have to use a little bit and it lathers up really well. I think I prefer the ammonium, to the sodium L sulfate in some 'poos and doesn't irritate my scalp (so far) I bought this because it said CALM.. and my previous 'sls free' infusium23 was making me itchy. I will update more after I use about half the bottle. I would definitely repurchase, although I have my first attempt at L'anza brand of shampoo coming in the mail very soon!-- this gets good reviews on this site :) This Rusk feels like an elegant shampoo lol!! I paid like 11.99 for it.. I don't know how some people only paid like 2$!!!!! how and where?? :) **** EDIT**** ok so today I showered and left the shampoo on for like 10 seconds like usual.. and it BURNED.. so I researched the Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate and it says that it's synonymous with SULPHURIC ACID!!! WTF!!!! no wonder it burned my eyes wayyyy more than normal omg. here;s the website

http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/ingredient.php?ingred06=700374

this is now my new dish soap/house cleaning product because I do like the smell. LOLOL!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lrich4066 on 6/1/2011 8:22:00 PM more reviews by lrich4066

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

After running out of Aussie Moist shampoo and conditioner, I decided to switch products because I don't like using a specific product for too long. First I tried Organix Acai Berry Avocado shampoo and conditioner, but I didn't like the way my hair felt when using those. So, I decided to try Rusk's Calm shampoo and conditioner, and I do not like this product either! For about the first 7-9 hours after I wash my hair with them, my hair is smooth and silky and overall just nice feeling. But around 10 hours after I wash my hair, my hair is greasy in the roots! And I don't have supremely oily hair either, typically it will get greasy about a day after I wash it. I'm really sad that it makes my hair greasy because other than that, I didn't have problems with it and it made my waves/curls look really pretty. I'll probably end up giving this product to someone else because I do not want to use it on my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ayngemac on 10/15/2010 1:56:00 PM more reviews by ayngemac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was $1.29 for 33 oz. at CVS, so I had to try it. Overall it's a decent shampoo, but not particularly special. It cleanses well without stripping and smells like Japanese candy. I definitely would buy it again if it was this cheap but I wouldn't pay full price. I prefer Pantene.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rusk products

More Shampoo products