Trader Joe's • Honey Mango Shave • Shave Products

rated 4.6(83 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 domin007 on 4/18/2014 8:30:00 PM more reviews by domin007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I have sensitive and dry skin but I don't buy shave gels often because they're so expensive. Yes, I could use conditioner but those never have the right texture and tend to just fall off my skin. This stuff is 8 oz for about 4 dollars, so it passes my cheap test. I'd say it smells more like honey than mango, but it smells delicious nonetheless. But really, it's just a really nice shave cream for the pice. It gives my skin a bit of moisure, it helps my razor glide on the skin nicely and you only need a small amount so I'm expecting this bottle to last for ages. If you want to be part of the fancy people who buy fancy shave products group but don't like the price, this is a good product to try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 msdeezee on 11/23/2013 3:54:00 PM more reviews by msdeezee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Smells great, and it's nice and slippery as you want a shaving product to be. It's a bit thin, and not extremely moisturizing, but for the price you can't beat it. I like emollient shave products way more than lathery or foamy products, so this is great for me. If you wanted something even cheaper, you could just go with a v05 conditioner or something, but I like this a lot!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mlfpatrick7 on 10/27/2013 7:47:00 PM more reviews by mlfpatrick7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

LOVE THIS! Fantastic, affordable, and moisturizing shave cream. Have repurchased many, many times. Love that it's cruelty-free, too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lossea on 10/13/2013 8:53:00 PM more reviews by Lossea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have originally bought this product off Amazon, as a gift for my SO who used to shave with only water and, unsurprisingly, often had irritated skin. Thank you, Trader Joe's, for a small gesture of labeling this shave cream as "for men and women," so it doesn't make men uncomfortable to use a "girly" product. Although I bought it for him, I tried this cream too, and have been completely sold. This shave cream is the best ever! It is surprisingly creamy, but never leaves residue on a razor. I feel like it really penetrates the skin and moistens it. This cream smells lovely, and can appeal to both men and women. The price is amazing, and, as others have said, the product last a really long time. For anyone who doesn't have Trader Joe's nearby, check out Amazon for it. I hope they never stop making it! Highly recommend as a great gift to anyone who shaves. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nanamisan on 7/15/2013 9:42:00 PM more reviews by nanamisan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

this was my HG shaving product for a long long time but sadly no trader joe's around me carried it any more. sadness :( its so very gentle and lasts forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinknika on 7/3/2013 1:41:00 PM more reviews by pinknika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this on a whim, I was reading reviews and happened to go to my trader joes that day, I decided to pick this up. I honestly did not need this product and I'm still staying firm on that. I think it smells nice, it's smooth, I still need about a quarter size or so for my leg and it seems to get the job done. I don't think it preps your skin for a closer shave, the smell doesn't seem to linger and I don't think it does anything else a body wash or conditioner couldn't do. Because I have a huge bottle of olay body wash and also Nivea body wash, I can happily use those two washes to shave and get the same results. I actually like shaving with conditioner as well, it does the same thing. I would love this if they had a body lotion for it, it smells that good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shry on 7/1/2013 3:32:00 PM more reviews by shry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is THE best shave cream, nay, shave product ever!!

I've tried EOS, Skintimates, store brands and even conditioner (because it's cheap and at the price you pay for half of the shaving creams/gels out there, you get triple the product for a fraction of the price), searching for the best cream that doesn't stink, turn into water when you apply it to your skin so you end up getting razor burn, helps reduce the risk of ingrown hairs AND moisturizes amazingly. This shave cream is the greatest thing since sliced bread - you only need like a dime sized amount and it covers the ENTIRE LEG!!! With other creams/gels I've use - such as EOS - I've had to pump it 3x to get enough for *one area*. Not to mention you can't get all of the product out when it's low, which is a cheap way to get people to rush out and buy more. I honestly can't say enough good things about this. It's a little pricey ($3.50), but I'd gladly pay $10 for how wonderfully well this stuff works.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 popnote on 4/20/2013 10:42:00 PM more reviews by popnote

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is the best shave cream I've used period. I had previously been using eos, which was okay but not really any better than your regular shaving creams and gels in the cans.

First things first, a tube lasts AGES. You don't have to use much at all. I'm using about a nickel-sized dollop for one leg. It costs about the same as a bottle of eos but last MUCH, MUCH longer, so it's a much better value. Plus, unlike eos, you can get all of the product out of the bottle because it's a tube rather than a pump.

Second, it is very moisturizing and smells great. I typically don't need to use a moisturizer after shaving when I've used this. I have to use one on days I don't shave.

Third, it's not irritating to my skin like regular shaving creams and gels. To me, that alone is pretty much worth the switch.

Fourth and finally, in what may be one of the oddest things I've felt the need to write in a review, it isn't clear. It's white. You can definitely tell where you've shaved. I am adding that based on an earlier review that says it's not just so no one is confused. Besides, if you're concerned with clogging a razor while shaving, you should just be rinsing the blades more regularly anyway.

I can't tell any difference in the closeness of my shaves with this versus any other product, so I don't think there's any sacrifice of quality.

I'm soon moving from a town with a TJs to one without, and before I do, I plan on stocking up! It's THAT good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starnet on 4/7/2013 1:13:00 AM more reviews by starnet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had very low expectations, but I was very pleasantly surprised. I went out and bought three more tubes today.

I had always used shaving gels which lather up. Knowing that this one does not was the reason for my initial low expectations. I thought I needed that lathering in order to shave. I was proven wrong.

This shave lotion contains a number of moisturizing ingredients, and I don't even feel the need to use a moisturizer after shaving, whereas in the past I had to put something after the shower, otherwise I was itchy and uncomfortable after shaving.

Somehow in the mere seconds that I put it on, it makes the hairs perfectly prepared for shaving. My legs look as if I had gone for a waxing.

In the past I always saw hairs left over, but after this gel there's not a single hair left. I don't even see a single hair follicle on my legs after shaving, as if they've been airbrushed.

I'm able to shave hairs which I had never ever been able to shave off. It's the closest, the smoothest shave I've ever gotten.

And it feels good on, and smells so nice, too.

So, the gist is that it smells good, moisturizes, and gives the closest shave ever. And I believe that I can go longer between shaves, too.

So today I had three of these shaving lotions and also a bouquet of roses in my cart (for a birthday I was to attend later.... they are the only store that sells roses for only $5!; I'll be buying flowers there from now on), and the lady at the register looked at my products and got some wrong idea, because she exclaimed: "oooh, shaving lotions and roses, oh my!" She must have thought I was preparing for a weird romantic evening with so many shaving lotions and roses on the side. :)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tricyclesinskirts on 12/7/2012 2:27:00 AM more reviews by tricyclesinskirts

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

One of those, "if not for MUA..." gems, you know what I'm saying? Particularly in regard to the reviews explaining how to properly use this product--there's a definite learning curve with TJ's shaving cream, IME. I bought it, went through it quickly, was unimpressed. Bought it again, determined to impress myself, and figured it out: read reviews. Less is more! Emulsify! (In the palm of your hand, til it lathers up fully--you'll know when,) and make sure wherever you shave is wet! Not just damp. Wet! Do all your shower things first, then shave. Exfoliate (those scrubby gloves are rad as hell, and way better than any manual exfoliant, IMO.)

Finally, I like a Gillette Mach 5 fusion razor over anything marketed to women (they stay sharper longer,) but YMMV. I do not have any luck with the cheap ones mentioned by the top reviewer (I tried, I nicked, I failed.) TJ's beats kiss my face, and every single popular shaving cream on the market-my HG. I do revert to EVOO or baby oil now and again, but they are so messy, it's not really worth the hassle. Seriously HG material.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Trader Joe's products

More Shave Products products