Givenchy • Amarige de Givenchy • Fragrances

rated 3.8(215 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 flappergirl35 on 7/29/2014 5:49:00 PM more reviews by flappergirl35

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Amarige is my signature fragrance. I am in my forties, and love the way this smells on my skin. It is warm, sensual and just plain gorgeous. Every time I wear it, my husband can't stop smelling me :D

I wear this nearly every day, but I'm careful not to spray too much. It can be very strong initially, but calms down shortly after to a very warm, spicy floral.

This is elegance and timeless beauty in a bottle. I recommend it to anyone who is not afraid of standing out of the crowd, fragrance-wise. I will continue to use this over and over again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bethtenerife on 7/3/2014 5:17:00 PM more reviews by bethtenerife

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Grey   Eyes: Green    

I have tried very hard to like this perfume. A good friend of mine wore this constantly, she loved it and vowed she wouldn't buy anything else. Trouble was, to me she always smelled of soap. I've bought the perfume and tried it myself. Maybe it was just a chemistry thing...but no...all I get is soap. For me, it's a definite no..no.....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 debrsl on 1/23/2013 8:31:00 AM more reviews by debrsl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Given all the warnings of the strength of this, I only put on a dot of the perfume. It is gorgeous. Perhaps I didn't put on enough to pick up all the notes listed, because what I get is tuberose plus more tuberose, every bit as high quality as that from L'Artisan. However, the listed notes are: topnotes: peach, plum, orange, mandarin, with the sweetness of rose wood and neroli; heart of mimosa, neroli, tuberose, gardenia and acacia with a gourmand hint of black currant; base of musk, sandalwood, vanilla, amber, Tonka bean and cedar. I've had it on for 15 hours and only now can smell the basenote of cedar. Perhaps the other notes came and left as I slept.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hriz on 1/2/2013 6:53:00 PM more reviews by hriz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Quite nice and interesting fragrance. Reminds me of tropics... Not strong at all on me. Also smells a bit like a paper, books. Goes well on clean skin beneath a cream.
The main drawback to me is the low strength and longevity of this fragrance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maleajou on 12/30/2012 3:20:00 PM more reviews by maleajou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Amarige is a perfume, that I keep going back to. I absolutely fell in love with this perfume, when I first smelled it almost 20 years ago. By now I almost feel, that the smell is too young for me (I am 38 years now), but I do still love it, and I find it extremely sensual, even though it is in no way heavy or a headache-starter either.
Very unique scent. The bottle looks a bit cheep though, but who cares, when the inside is so gorgeus:-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deadonarrival on 9/6/2012 9:29:00 AM more reviews by deadonarrival

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a new fall/winter fragrance that will be nice to wear for day and night. I didn't want something so heavy like my usual winter scent, Dior Addict. Both Addict and Amarige are sexy full bodied scents. However, I see it as Addict being the passionate back shoved to the wall sex and Amarige to be the spooning and kissing after the sex. Amarige reminds me of a cashmere sweater that wraps you up in warmth and makes you feel luxurious and comfortable. Amarige is a rich scent however it doesn't suffocate you or overpower the room. A little goes a long way. On me, I get very little citrus and fruit. The foral, spice and wood notes really warm up to my chemistry. Amarige is a very warm and slightly intoxicating scent that is geared for a mature following.
Notes:Neroli, Rosewood, Violet Leaves, Citrus Notes, Gardenia, Mimosa, Melon, Peach, Plum, Cashmereon Wood, Tonka Bean, Vanilla.



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 coolfreshair on 8/25/2012 11:27:00 PM more reviews by coolfreshair

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This scent came from the era of power. Power ballads, power singers ... and powerhouse perfumes. Whilst I am not adverse to all powerful scents I found the lingering intensity of this one veered toward the unpleasant side.

Like a huge bowl of fruit can smell wonderfully delicious, that same bowl of fruit can also at times become slightly cloying, especially if some of those fruit are over-ripe. Whilst not exactly unpleasant you feel a need to distance yourself from that pungently fruity intensity.

I feel the same about this perfume. It's not completely unpleasant but there's something within the notes that reminds me of fruit that is so ripe that it's beginning to turn ... and for me it spoils the whole scent.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 andreadianca on 12/31/2011 4:15:00 AM more reviews by andreadianca

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My mom loves this perfume so much (btw,my mom is 38 years old)
The parfume it self is quite rare in indonesia,however i found it at singapore.
The scent of this perfume last long time and also give a heavy scent at first but it will give you nice scent after 10 minutes

but personaly i just didn't into it. Perfect for my mom,not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 treilis on 12/3/2011 10:18:00 PM more reviews by treilis

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have a Tokyo Milk edp, Song in D Minor, that a friend says reminds her of Amirage. Indeed, very similar. With one on each wrist Amirage seems to be the higher quality fragrance, but the other suits my body chemistry better. There's something vaguely bitter that I think is just how it reacts on me, rather than the perfume itself.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jeanbean7777 on 11/13/2011 11:14:00 PM more reviews by Jeanbean7777

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Amariage is beautiful in EXcEPTIONALLY tiny doses...by that I mean 1 spray. This stuff is heaven when applied to clean skin in the evening and very minuscule amount. It attracts men like crazy. This is super femininine. I know some young ladies can carry it but is say leave this to the 30-60 crowd. This is a mature scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Givenchy products

More Fragrances products