MAC Hue

4.2

433 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Trioctyldodecyl Citrate, Glyceryl Triacetyl Hydroxystearate, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Octyldodecanol, Silica, Simmondsia Chinesis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Beeswax (Cera Alba), Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Ozokerite, Copernica Cerifera (Carnauba Wax), Cetyl Ricinoleate, Microcrystalline Wax (Cera Microcristallina), Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Vanillin.


on 3/20/2015 8:19:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am not a fan of this lipstick even though I've used it a lot.

Firstly, it is very sheer, and that automatically means the pigmentation is not great. I don't find this a very buildable lipstick as well. Too many swaps may look you washed out (it's somehow white-ish) plus it doesn't apply well.

Okay, let's say application and colour payoff is something subjective. However, I do not suggest to give that amount of money for a lipstick that doesn't have lasting power. You can find much better in drugstore brands. Even some chapsticks will do the same thing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am on my fourth tube of Hue. This is my "go to" lipstick, keep one in my purse and car. It's one of the few colors that I grab on a regular basis. It offers more coverage than you would expect from a glaze, I think it seems more like a frost. But the formula is moisturizing.

This is the most I have ever repurchased a lipstick/gloss/etc. I'm NW15-20 depending on the season, but as others often say, I really think this is one of those (nearly) universally flattering products.

Love, love, love this lipstick! It's a gorgeous pinky peach light neutral and I consider it an essential for any makeup junkie :)


on 1/24/2015 4:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really wanted to love Mac Hue, but I just couldn't. Now that isn't all at the fault of this lipstick!!! Firstly, I am not the biggest fan of nudes in the first place. I think on me they make me look wrong, my colouring (quite yellowy toned) with a nude lip just makes me look sallow (even the "noobs" nude lip that some had dubbed Hue). Also because this is a Lustre finish it just settles into fine lines and gathers at the corners of my mouth. It also goes patchy and just disappears after less than an hour. Not a favourite and definitely would not repurchase, wish I had bought something like Velvet Teddy or Shy Girl :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/18/2015 1:28:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I like this a lot, it is a very light nude, but it works well with my colors. Love the texture and I don't have anything bad to say about it.


on 1/16/2015 9:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I really like this lipstick. It's my go to night time nude. It doesn't wash out the face and has a really nice texture.

I would recommend this!


on 1/11/2015 10:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I really like this lipstick. I use the word Like instead of Love because there are some cons to it, but over all I like it. Let's start with all the goods:

This lipstick has a beautiful color, I love the very nude leaning pink shade. On my NC20 skin it doesn't wash me out even if I wear only mascara on my eyes. But it's still very nude. And like all MAC lipsticks it has a wonderful smell and the packaging is sleek and feels high quality.

Now the formula is not as great. It's not awful, but this is the only lipstick in a Glaze finish that I own from MAC, and it's also the lipstick I like the least formula-wise. It's a no go for dry and flakey lips, even if you thought your lips were fine this lipstick might tell you otherwise. The lastingpower is also not the best.

I will definitly keep using this lipstick, but if I find a similar shade where the formula is better from MAC I won't be repurchasing this exact one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2014 5:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my everyday lipstick! I'm NC20 and I think it really flatters my skin. You do need to have smoot lips because the lipstick tends to get in the little creases. Anyways, I'm really glad I purchased it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2014 8:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Love this soft pink cremesheen. The color and texture is fantastic, as expected. The product itself lasts forever. Perfect for my autumn/winter skin tone.

CONS:
Dries out my lips terribly.
Cannot be applied over lip moisturizer - must be applied to a dry lip.
Accentuates any flaking, dry spots or lip lines. Even on my freshly exfoliated lips.

Bummer because I really love it otherwise. But it looks like crap 20-30 mins after I put it on. Won't repurchase after tube #2.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

Beautiful light pink color! I would liken it to creme cup but it's less blue based and a bit peachier. It's very comfortable to wear. :) it wears off easily but that's okay, it doesn't leave any tackiness on the lips like some lipsticks do and it's really comfortable to reapply. I rarely will give anything 5 stars but this lippie really deserves it.


on 6/30/2014 11:30:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I dare to say that Hue is my favourite from MAC. It's a really great all round lipstick that can be worn with natural and more dramatic makeup looks. Everyone needs a good nude lipstick and I would totally recommend this one because it is not concealery looking and doesn't block out the natural colour of the lips. Hue is a very sheer colour because of its glaze finish and has a very nice glossy shine. Only negative thing I can say about this is lipstick is how quickly it wears off the lips, has to be touched up quite a few times throughout the day.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
186 Reviews
Provocalips
60 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top