MAC Hue

4.2

436 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Trioctyldodecyl Citrate, Glyceryl Triacetyl Hydroxystearate, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Octyldodecanol, Silica, Simmondsia Chinesis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Beeswax (Cera Alba), Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Ozokerite, Copernica Cerifera (Carnauba Wax), Cetyl Ricinoleate, Microcrystalline Wax (Cera Microcristallina), Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Vanillin.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This nude shade is great for all those people with natural light lips. But for people with red (and very pigmented) lips I don't see how this is supposed to work. Even if I swipe it over my lips several times I just leaves a weird and way too light color on my lips.
Unfortunately I have learned way too late, that MAC lipsticks all have very different pigmentations and from now on I only purchased Matte and Amplified finishes.



on 6/4/2015 11:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

At first I hated this lipstick..I was so disappointed having paid 15 for a lipstick that I had done extensive research on that just didn't look the way I expected it to on me (bad thing about beauty blogs..products..especially lipsticks..never look the same on two people..). Anyway, I hated how pink it was and how it did nothing to compliment my fair skin tone after having read so many times that it was great for those with paler skin. It was far too 'Barbieish' and so not what I wanted from a lipstick.

However, having recently started an office job after finishing uni I reached for this in a hurry the other day and just dabbed it lightly on my lips instead of dragging it across my lips. Wow. What a difference it makes. When you gently dab this on your lips it becomes a beautiful light pinky colour with a slight gloss that gives the appearance of fuller lips and a healthy colour.

I have really pigmented lips so I like lipsticks that can tone that down a bit and this one is ideal for that..as well as for wearing to work to still look smart and professional.
Give this one a go and play about with different forms of application and you'll love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/29/2015 7:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is by far my all time FAVORITE nude lipstick. It is the pretties light shade of nude/pink, not to mention the fact that I love the smell of MAC lipstick. Just a recommendation, I love to pair this with the MAC "In Synch" lipliner and "Fashion Scoop" lipgloss. If your looking for that pretty pink color to wear for summer this combo is amazing :).;


on 3/20/2015 8:19:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am not a fan of this lipstick even though I've used it a lot.

Firstly, it is very sheer, and that automatically means the pigmentation is not great. I don't find this a very buildable lipstick as well. Too many swaps may look you washed out (it's somehow white-ish) plus it doesn't apply well.

Okay, let's say application and colour payoff is something subjective. However, I do not suggest to give that amount of money for a lipstick that doesn't have lasting power. You can find much better in drugstore brands. Even some chapsticks will do the same thing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am on my fourth tube of Hue. This is my "go to" lipstick, keep one in my purse and car. It's one of the few colors that I grab on a regular basis. It offers more coverage than you would expect from a glaze, I think it seems more like a frost. But the formula is moisturizing.

This is the most I have ever repurchased a lipstick/gloss/etc. I'm NW15-20 depending on the season, but as others often say, I really think this is one of those (nearly) universally flattering products.

Love, love, love this lipstick! It's a gorgeous pinky peach light neutral and I consider it an essential for any makeup junkie :)


on 1/24/2015 4:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really wanted to love Mac Hue, but I just couldn't. Now that isn't all at the fault of this lipstick!!! Firstly, I am not the biggest fan of nudes in the first place. I think on me they make me look wrong, my colouring (quite yellowy toned) with a nude lip just makes me look sallow (even the "noobs" nude lip that some had dubbed Hue). Also because this is a Lustre finish it just settles into fine lines and gathers at the corners of my mouth. It also goes patchy and just disappears after less than an hour. Not a favourite and definitely would not repurchase, wish I had bought something like Velvet Teddy or Shy Girl :(

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/18/2015 1:28:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I like this a lot, it is a very light nude, but it works well with my colors. Love the texture and I don't have anything bad to say about it.


on 1/16/2015 9:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I really like this lipstick. It's my go to night time nude. It doesn't wash out the face and has a really nice texture.

I would recommend this!


on 1/11/2015 10:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I really like this lipstick. I use the word Like instead of Love because there are some cons to it, but over all I like it. Let's start with all the goods:

This lipstick has a beautiful color, I love the very nude leaning pink shade. On my NC20 skin it doesn't wash me out even if I wear only mascara on my eyes. But it's still very nude. And like all MAC lipsticks it has a wonderful smell and the packaging is sleek and feels high quality.

Now the formula is not as great. It's not awful, but this is the only lipstick in a Glaze finish that I own from MAC, and it's also the lipstick I like the least formula-wise. It's a no go for dry and flakey lips, even if you thought your lips were fine this lipstick might tell you otherwise. The lastingpower is also not the best.

I will definitly keep using this lipstick, but if I find a similar shade where the formula is better from MAC I won't be repurchasing this exact one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2014 5:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my everyday lipstick! I'm NC20 and I think it really flatters my skin. You do need to have smoot lips because the lipstick tends to get in the little creases. Anyways, I'm really glad I purchased it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
Velvet Teddy
215 Reviews
Liquid Lipstick
Liquid Lipstick
26 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top